new hack driver Hello from da islands

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by OLDHIPPIE, Jan 2, 2013.

1. OLDHIPPIE

OLDHIPPIE Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hi im new to sidecars. Ive ridden about everything else lol from kaw 90 to 102" strokers w nos to 1200 lb bulls ( yea i was a dumb kid) any way i have a Royal Enfield w a cozy coming , i know a lot r down on this combo, but for my location it should be fine . Im on the island of Molokai Hawaii 40 miles long 10 miles wide, yep look it up . any way max speedlimit is 45 and no traffic lights here at all so. I think the Enfield should be a blast on island.
    I do have a few questions about a utility hack for my primary transport a 1981 honda xl 185s. id like to hook up a hack for fishing and hunting. the question is are there some DOT reg to follow ? dose the hack have to pass any inspection etc U see where im headed with this any feedback???
    Mahalo
    Tom
  2. davet2

davet2 Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    There is an interesting collection of videos on youtube by "hawaiisidecar". He has a Harley with a Champion sidecar. You might look him up and ask your questions. I think the Enfield rig would be perfect for an island too, especially with a 45 mph speed limit. Good luck, Dave
  3. DavePave

DavePave Been here awhile

Oddometer:

http://hawaii.gov/dot/highways/admin-rules/PMVI Manual for Inspectors of Motorcycles Aug 2005.pdf

The above link takes you to the Hawaii DOT inspection rules for motorcycles. I did a quick read through it. It appears that you must meet all existing motorcycle inspection criteria, plus have a working parking brake on a sidecar. Other than that nothing special.
  4. OLDHIPPIE

OLDHIPPIE Adventurer

Oddometer:
    mahalo for the info
  5. OLDHIPPIE

OLDHIPPIE Adventurer

Oddometer:
    thanks again
    the main use of the enfield will be tooling around island. to the brach or fishing n camping, heck i can only go 20+ miles east or west any further and on gettin salt water on my feet lmaooo.