Noob to Trials. Which should I look for in a first bike?

Discussion in 'Trials' started by More CowBell, Dec 11, 2011.

1. More CowBell

More CowBell gotahave moreCowbell

Oddometer:
    I want to buy a used trials bike and I’m just not sure what to look for. I started riding dirt bikes on a Honda 50 when I was 5 years old. I’m now 46. I ride street, dirt & dual sport, and I was even into Fast50s racing for a few years (some of the most fun I’ve ever had on a bike). My question is this: what kind of trials bike do I look for? From some of the research I have done, I think I want a year 2000 to 2005 and to spend around $1800 to $3000. I’m not too sure what size engine to look for. Should I look for 2- stroke or 4-stroke? It looks like 4-strokes cost more money. Is it worth it to go with a 4-stroke as a first trials bike? Let me know what you think.
  2. BikePilot

BikePilot Long timer

Oddometer:
    They are all really similar so it doesn't much matter. That said, 2 strokes are by far the most common and most popular. A few folks like four strokes better, but the large majority of people I've met like 2 strokes best.

Engine size doesn't much matter I think, most adults use something 250-300cc.

As a general rule of thumb in for 2000-2005 bikes, the Montesa Cota is oft regarded as the most durable and perhaps most nicely built. Its power is fairly soft (a good thing generally) and its a touch heavy (not a great thing, but also not really a disadvantage at least until you are good enough to hop all over I'd guess). I have one, I like it a lot. The montesa also has exceptionally good suspension.