Gracie's Hack... DR650 sidewalk chalk build

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by CAVEboy, Sep 20, 2011.

1. CAVEboy

CAVEboy Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    **Edited** to include new upper subframe. I decided to leave pics of the old one for reference. New pictures in post below

I've never built a sidecar before and am going to need some advice and info. I got most of the subframe mocked up and thought I'd start a thread to get some feedback/criticism. The blue tape is where further bracing will be added. The real questions I have are in regards to the strength of my mounting points. I'm confident I can build a nice frame and car, but if my mounts aren't strong enough and in a decent location for geometry it will all be wasted. Please tell me if you think my frame mounts (specifically my uppers) are going to last in the long run and not ruin my bikes frame.

This is Gracie and she is moping while she thinks about the wind in her face and the freedom of the moto...

[​IMG]

I use sidewalk chalk for fabrication all the time. This is my idea of the car frame (will likely change/refine). I was originally thinking 2'x4' for the frame, but am worried it may be too narrow. I want narrow for offroad riding, but not too narrow negating the utility. It will also be built from 1.75" .120 wall tubing and will basically be a flatbed that a car body can be bolted to for Gracie. Construction of the frame seems easy to me, I'm just trying to hash out the size before bending the tube. I'm thinking I may keep it 2x4' and just space it away from the bike a little to leave room for my upper control arms without compromising car space.

[​IMG]