Fuel type and mixture noob question

Discussion in 'Trials' started by ejtv, Dec 28, 2012.

1. ejtv

ejtv Per ipsum

Oddometer:
    So Santa delivered a Beta Evo 250 this am. I am new to this.

1) I heard from folks who introduced me to trials last month that they use high octane gas, like aviation fuel. I don't have easy access to aviation fuel. a- Will super unleaded no ethanol be OK? b- What if it has ethanol?

2) Manual calls for 4% mineral, 1.5% synthetic for the fuel mix. a- I assume this is "either or" rather than "both and." b- which of the two is better?

Thank you for the advice.

[​IMG]
  2. DerViking

DerViking Shred

Oddometer:
    I run something like 80:1 fuel to oil. What I actually run is 2 oz per gallon, this is handy as I use a 2 gallon can, and a 4 oz nalgene bottle to measure. I run yamalube 2-s by choice, but any of the 2 stroke oils will work.

Some run race gas, some don't. I have run 91 octane through mine for 5 years, with no issues. Ours does have Ethanol, doesn't seem to make much difference.

Welcome to Trials!
  3. jakbrand

jakbrand trialatarian

Oddometer:
    Did you have someone play a drum roll (see photo background) when you opened the box?

Beta trials bike...very cool :clap
  4. nwcycle

nwcycle Long timer

Oddometer:
    2 Ounces per gallon nets you a 64:1 Ratio,
    Use Only Full synthetic mix, as you will clog up the exhaust with any blended premix.
    You will get all sorts of who does what, so make your best decision with all the info.
    We have been running Shercos at 80:1 with Amsoil Saber, It goes a long long way ,
    Since you will be plunking around at low speed, the higher oil ratio is not needed,
    We use usually a shell or top name brand gas 91octane plus, and I also add Octane booster just for kicks, only 1 Ounce per gallon, Not sure if its any benefit, but the crap we are buying top dollar at the pump, could all still be junk