Using MotoX helmet and neck brace on trials bike

Discussion in 'Trials' started by sweenrace, Apr 30, 2012.

1. sweenrace

sweenrace Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Folks,

I hurt my neck a while back and I need to be very careful not to hyper-extend my neck (again!). Is there any reason it wouldnt work or be a good idea to wear a MotoX style helmet and neck brace on a trials bike. As I mentioned on another post I'm new to trials (and bikes if I'm honest!) and my goal would be to get to the point of competing in a novice trial.

This is the type of neck brace im referring to:
    [​IMG]

Ian
  2. lineaway

lineaway Long timer

Oddometer:
    Yes if you are going to wear your mx helmet. But you are protecting yourself from having the wrong gear. A nice light trials helmet would probably help the neck rather than hurt it. I can understand the concerns. (I injured my neck hopping on a damn bicycle and people wonder why I hate them!) I had problems for years. The problem riding trials is you have to look up! Just the weight was enough to make riding not fun. I would try the right helmet.
    We are talking about different types of crashing. Fast uncontrolable crunch. To a slow arms out stop, and roll at the worst. And yes I`ve had my rear tire pass my front in a desert race while flat out and completely destroy a trials helmet in first gear!:wink:
  3. ThrottleJock

ThrottleJock Shaved Ape

Oddometer:
    I wear a motocross helmet (Shoei VFX-R) or did, I should say until I left it at the trail head this past weekend... it's no problem at all. Just hot as compared to an open-face, and you do give up some peripheral vision. I think the neck brace would drive you crazy though. Unless you've got a really long neck. :D
  4. broncobowsher

broncobowsher Long timer

Oddometer:
    Having had various helmets for different activitys...