Should there be pull on a leaner?

Discussion in 'Hacks' started by BuiltnotBought, Jul 27, 2012.

1. BuiltnotBought

BuiltnotBought Perpetual Project

Oddometer:
    Having no experience opperating sidecars yet, I'm wondering if any amount of pull is normal on a leaner (Kalich style) when adjusted properly? It makes sense to me that a properly setup rig should fly straight, but don't want to assume.

I'm working a leaner right now and hope to take it for a test spin by next week. I'm excited for the first ride, but dreading the setup. I'm hoping I have the toe-in and wheel lead at suitable settings now so that only minor adjustments will be needed. But hey, its my first time down this road, so I expect at least a couple setbacks.
  2. leejosepho

leejosepho Sure, I can do that!

Oddometer:
    When the drive and braking are not centered within the overall mass, the drive will always try to pass the offset mass and the offset mass will always try to continue on during deceleration or braking.
  3. BuiltnotBought

Oddometer:
    Right, but the toe-in is to correct that problem right? My question is, with correct adjustment can you completly eliminate this effect while cruising, or will you always have to be pushing on the RH bar?
  4. Mechanista

Mechanista Board Certified

Oddometer:

Wellllll...
    In theory, yes, if it is adjusted correctly, and the rig design is stiff enough, the pull shouldn't be very discernable in a straight cruise. But wind drag and friction will cause it to pull at higher speeds, no matter what you do.
    This effect can also be used to steer the rig to a small degree as well, without turning the bars on medium to small sweepers. Throttle on to go right, and throttle back to go left. (Assuming you are in N.A.)
  5. BuiltnotBought

Oddometer:
    Ok, good to know, thanks.:thumb
  6. BuiltnotBought

Oddometer:
    Well a bit of success tonight, I got enough finished to brave a bit of a test spin up and down the street.