Cheap xr650l usd conversion

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by FMJoker, Mar 26, 2013.

1. FMJoker

FMJoker n00b

Oddometer:
    Hey guys. I just bought a 94' xr650l and have been rebuilding it. Was wondering what would be the cheapest usd conversion route i can take?! Any input would be appreciated. Im a poor college kid so id like to save as much money as i can in this rebuild! I have a rebuild thread over at thumper talk detailing everything ive done so far.
  2. Ben99r1

Ben99r1 Long timer

Oddometer:
    If your that broke or a starving student. I would just go with new springs for your weight, new fork oil and a fork brace. That should be around 300-400 max. I have been running that set up for about 3 years now. Its a totally different bike on and off road.
  3. East Coast Rider

East Coast Rider Just Me...

Oddometer:
    Springs will run 100.00ish. Fork brace 150.00ish I'd geuss. Buy a shop manual and do all the owrk yourself.
  4. FMJoker

FMJoker n00b

Oddometer:
    Ya ive been doing all the work myself. Its quite the learning experience. Honestly i just love the look of the fork conversions. I could live without it though :(
  5. JensEskildsen

JensEskildsen Long timer

Oddometer:
    On the cheap? Make spaccers from pvc-pipe to stiffen up the front fork.

If youre going to spend 3-400$, you might aswell go all the way, imo. :norton
  6. crypto666

crypto666 Long timer

Oddometer:

If you are doing it for looks, don't. Do some research and make a decision based on something else. From what I have read, the usd are not a better fork for desert/enduro type riding. From what I have experienced, this is true.

I don't like the feel of the CRF forks, lots of stiction and it doesn't seem to be as sensitive as my xrr's conventional forks. When the USD first came out lots of work went in to making them feel like the forks they were intended to replace.