Install steering stem on different Triple Tree? Need advice!

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by WhicheverAnyWayCan, Oct 20, 2014.

1. WhicheverAnyWayCan

WhicheverAnyWayCan Deaf Biker

Oddometer:
    Hi,

I have a KTM triple tree that I want to mount on my HD Sportster.. unfortunately it is tiny tad longer than I'd like to. Maybe 1/8" or something like that. Not sure it will fly for me.. so I was pondering whether I can get OEM Sportster steering stem and replace the one that is on KTM triple tree? I have little experience working on bike so that's why I am asking on here.. And if it can be done then I assume that I must first find out whether the bottom part of stem will match the hole in lower Triple Tree?

Unless there is a way to work around this 1/8" space without dealing with changing steering stem??

Thank in advance for answering..
  2. larryboy

larryboy Just obey!

Oddometer:
    1/8"? Make a spacer.
  3. WhicheverAnyWayCan

Oddometer:
    Using washer as a space? And put it before bearing sealer?

And it would not harm to use OEM HD bearing with KTM triple tree?

Just wanted to confirm before I place order and all..

Thanks!
  4. larryboy

larryboy Just obey!

Oddometer:
    Yeah, I've used a longer stem and used a die grinder on a thick washer until it fit the stem. Installed between the spanner nut and seal.

The bearings should be the same, check for fit and use them.
  5. WhicheverAnyWayCan

Oddometer:
    Larryboy, many thanks!! Appreciate it! Save me headache! :thumb
  6. larryboy

larryboy Just obey!

Oddometer:
    Pressing out stems is a hassle. A coworker is using Suzuki stuff on his Sportster conversion, RM250 twin tube conventional forks.
  7. sailah

sailah Lampin' it

Oddometer:
    I've done this a bunch of times. My recommendation is to utilize the stock HD bearings. Yes they do make conversion bearings but guessing that will be tough from HD to the weird ass KTM half size.