ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Shiny things (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   Too old to skateboard (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=195454)

land_shark 01-10-2007 01:37 PM

Too old to skateboard

I'm 31. I'm married. I'm a programmer. I'm 20 lbs. overweight. I ordered a complete board last night on the web. I've never really skated before, but dammit, I'm going to give it a shot. As ridiculous as it sounds, I've been searching around for stuff on the web along the lines of: "too old" "skateboard" "new"... you get the idea. Being confined to a cubicle day in and day out is driving me to find new ways to taste freedom. I'm starting to get this urge to (re)discover all those things I never did when I was younger.

I'm excited to push my boundaries, regain some balance, and quite possibly break my arm (never done that before, either!). 30 is the new 20, right? Wish me luck...
Jason

Askel 01-10-2007 01:39 PM

Anybody over 30 on a skateboard is just as sad as somebody under 30 on a golf course.

PS What'd ya get? :ear

Lencho 01-10-2007 01:41 PM

Don't forget to the Van's - AGATT

land_shark 01-10-2007 01:43 PM

:roflha! I like that. I picked out a black 'Moose' blank (no logo, etc) from an ebay retailer. $25 for the complete set, $21 to ship.

SuperSlug 01-10-2007 01:46 PM

Good luck. Last year I skated for the first time in 13 years. It was fun until I got in an argument with a curb... :huh

Haven't touched it since.

Groinular 01-10-2007 01:47 PM

I used to skateboard. then i tried mountainboarding a few years back (when i was in my 30s). check out mongoose site, or google atb (all terrain boards). they are bigger out west apparently, kind of like snowboarding w/o snow, bigger board, wheels. not fun for just riding straight (need a hill).
cool tho.
now i get my thrills on me bike. arrgh.
let me know if you want any more info (others on this site probably have more experience w/ these)
dan