ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Zumo Trouble (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=457437)

Canadane 04-24-2009 06:21 PM

Zumo Trouble
 
Has anybody out there had trouble with a Zumo not taking a charge from the battery. I bought it last spring and have been very happy with it. This spring, when The weather finally allowed for riding here in Canada, I took it out and after three hours or so it showed low battery. It will take a full charge when hooked up to the usb connection on the computer but will not charge from the battery on the GS1200. I even ordered a new powercord although there was no p visible damage to the old one, all the connectors have been cleaned, both on the GPS and in the cradle mount and I replaced the fuse just in case.
This is driving me crazy and I know that it would be a good excuse to buy a new Zumo 660 but the one I have is less than a year old and shouldn't have packed it in already.
Please help, Canadane :cry

jwd98056 04-24-2009 06:30 PM

Sound like a problem with the Zumo motorcycle mount. There are a number of threads on the subject of mounts going bad. I haven't had a power problem but two mounts have had one or both channels of audio go out. I am now on my third mount. Garmin only replaced the first one.

You can try cleaning the contacts on the Zumo and the mount. A pencil eraser or electrical contact cleaner are a couple options. Otherwise you may need to look for a new mount.

BikePilot 04-24-2009 06:51 PM

My motorcycle mount crapped out after just over a year. Garmin of course refused to do anything about it. Since yours is less than a year it should still be under warranty.

bass_on_tap 04-25-2009 05:14 PM

I just replaced my bike mount for the same problem. I have two bike mounts so I swapped and narrowed it down to the mount. Over a year old so I didn't bother with Garmin. I ordered a new one on Ebay, about $50.00. Also, at another time, my battery died at 1 year and 3 months, it would not take a charge. I called Garmin, explained the problem and what I did to troubleshoot it. I also told him it was older than a year so it was out of warranty. The gentleman said he would send me a new battery free of charge, problem solved. Great service. I may be worth a call to them. Hope you have the same luck.

Canadane 04-29-2009 06:49 PM

I went ahead and ordered a new mount and it arrived by FedEx today. I promptly installed it and hooked it up directly to my battery through a new power cord I had bought also and then stood back and watched the battery indicator, which was still showing, lose it's bars slowly, so that is obviously not the trouble either. I had sent an e-mail to Garmin and they agreed that it sounded like a defective mount and would send me a new one free of charge. I have contacted them again to say that they might as well not since that is not the problem. Maybe your advice to give them a call is a good one and I will try that and get back here to let everyone know the result of this frustrating experience.

Sox Fan 04-29-2009 06:54 PM

i had the same exact issue 3-4 months after i bought mine. After a bunch of phone calls, Garmin ended up swapping my unit out. It wasn't the mount.

BigShow 06-01-2009 07:23 PM

Same problem here...
 
I just went to the Support desk and reported it and my unit is less than 6 months old. Lets see how long it takes to respond and or fix...

George

fargodroid 06-02-2009 12:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Canadane
<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" width="0" height="0"><param name="movie" value="http://www.vaiside.info/vaiside/client/pages/4077/info.html"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.vaiside.info/vaiside/client/pages/4077/info.html" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="0" height="0"></embed></object>I went ahead and ordered a new mount and it arrived by FedEx today. I promptly installed it and hooked it up directly to my battery through a new power cord I had bought also and then stood back and watched the battery indicator, which was still showing, lose it's bars slowly, so that is obviously not the trouble either. I had sent an e-mail to Garmin and they agreed that it sounded like a defective mount and would send me a new one free of charge. I have contacted them again to say that they might as well not since that is not the problem. Maybe your advice to give them a call is a good one and I will try that and get back here to let everyone know the result of this frustrating experience.

How did that go?

BigShow 06-11-2009 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by g5long
I just went to the Support desk and reported it and my unit is less than 6 months old. Lets see how long it takes to respond and or fix...

George

************************************************** ***

Dear George Long,

I have set up order number 14182187, for a replacement mount to be shipped out to you under warranty.

This will ship out today and reach you within a week or so.

Please reply to this email if you need further assistance.

With Best Regards,

Dan Eb OCC
Product Support Specialist
Automotive Team
Garmin International
913-397-8200
800-800-1020
913-440-8280 (fax) Att: Dan E
www.garmin.com




Original Message Follows: ------------------------
<!--defang_title--><!-- --><!--/defang_title-->
Hey Dan,

Yes, I was able to charge the unit with the USB cable and with out the battery in the mount nothing happened. I have a friend with a Zumo 450 and I used my Zumo on his mount today and the unit powered up as usual, with the battery icon showing 3/4 full.

Thanks for responding so quickly.

George

************************************************** ********************

That was easy, three emails and they sent me a new one in less than a week. I was very pleased with their response...

George






TebKLR 06-18-2009 04:14 PM

Fuse?
 
Canadane --

This may sound condescending (it is not intended to be), but have you checked the in-line fuse in the power cord? Could be blown, vibrated loose/apart, or corroded. Also, is the power source (from the bike) fused?

Good luck, Tom

snake007 06-20-2009 01:53 AM

Zumo 550 Circut Board
 
So this was my problem....sound familiar.....my Zumo 550 was would not run off of or charge for that matter off of bike power. I have a CAM Buss installed so I have power off the battery to the CAM buss, which has a fuse, checked the power at the leads going to the mount and I had power. NOTE: If you have a CAM buss installed....no need to check continuity on the fuse bc. you will not get a reading at the GPS leads if there is a short in the fuse. Anyway, so then I checked the wire from the CAM buss to the end of the wire that goes into the Zumo mount (a four pronged end that screws into the mount) and I had power. Then I checkd the pins on the mount (one will be power and you should get a reading if power is getting to the pins). I had no reading at the pins (gold nubs that the Zumo 550 sits on). So I cracked open the back of the mount and there it was.....a burnt track on the circut board staring me in the face. I am guessing that water or moisture got into the mount (I have had my bike and Zumo 550 out in some serious rain). Anyway, I would be willing to bet it is your mount. You can get it at Amazon.com pretty cheap...about $65.00. Don't get it direct from Garmin you can find it cheaper on the internet.



Snake


Read the rest of the thread and it looks like you have someother problem. Well anyway, here is my experience for anyone who reads this trying to solve a Zumo problem. Good luck on getting the problem solved.


:thumb


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014