ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Trials (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   A whole year without competing in trials.. the effects (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=507120)

jjustj 09-16-2009 08:38 PM

A whole year without competing in trials.. the effects

are now clear to me.
I have been competing in trials since about 1990.
I moved up through the classes to reach advanced class at one time. Then went back to intermediate class in one form or another IE:
SR. Intermediate etc. I have competed in only one national, but have competed in New Mexico, Colorado, Wyoming, Wisconsin and Italy twice.
I am proud to boast that I have been beaten on TWO continents!!!
several years ago i got a KTM 450 exc, great bike and great to explore with.
Here are my observations from Not Competing in trials. ( It was never about winning but trying to just to try to avoid having any 5s) for me. And the great people I got to hang with.

1. Not in the shape that I am used to.
2. general sense of balance has been reduced greatly
3. Flexibility is reduced
4. MIss trials buddys
5. Not picking the best "lines" for riding using my strengths
6. getting the self satisfaction of cleaning a section that seems almost
impossible the first two laps.
7. Picking an unseen line by others to try in a section, (hopefully sucessfully) .

In conclusion, I may try to rejoin the RMTA next year and compete even if only in the Sr. Amateur class. It doesn't help if the guy ya went to events with moved away so you have to drive solo to the events.

brewtus 09-17-2009 07:56 AM