ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   tranferring google maps route into garmin? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=670410)

sonic578 03-21-2011 05:24 AM

tranferring google maps route into garmin?
 
I'm turning to the experts here since my attempts to figure this out have fallen short (more than once). How can I transfer a ROUTE in Google Maps into my Garmin 2610, or any model for that matter?

Let's assume that autorouting in GM may not yield the same route as Garmin Mapsource (or Road Trip, which is what I use on a Mac), so it is more complicated than just using the same endpoints. Let's also assume that the GM route was created by a series of drag/edit steps.

I suppose bi-directional transfers are of interest also, but mostly it comes down to having a route in Google Maps and wanting to ride it.

Many thanks in advance!

TRZ Charlie 03-21-2011 07:04 AM

Here is a short video on how to transfer Google Maps to a Garmin Gps. Linked because it auto plays.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_p1x-fL2zc

Also see: http://my.garmin.com/locate/google-sendtoGPSHelp.htm

The following tutorial is easy. Just save the file as a .gpx file. If you for some reason want in .gdb format open the converted file in MapSource and do a "save as" .gdb file.

  • Create a new Map in Google Maps. For this, click on My Maps: http://indiangeek.com/blog/wp-conten...05/my_maps.jpg
  • Then click on “Create new map”. Put a suitable name to your map: http://indiangeek.com/blog/wp-conten...05/new_map.jpg
  • Now you can add placemarks, either by searching for them, or by right clicking and selecting “Add a placemark” anywhere in the map. The added placemarks for the map will show up on the left side:http://indiangeek.com/blog/wp-conten..._placemark.jpg
  • After all the placemarks/waypointshave been added, get the link for your saved map. You can get the link from the top right corner:http://indiangeek.com/blog/wp-conten...ink_to_map.jpg
  • Then go to http://www.takitwithme.com/ and insert the Google Map link into the textbox. Click “Load MyMap” and TakeItWithMe will load all the placemarks from your Google Map.
  • Click on the Download GPX button, and you should be able to save all the Google Placemarks as a .gpx file. This .gpx file can be converted into different GPS formats. In our case, we need to convert it to a .gpx format.
  • For Windows users, you can use the POI Loader directly to load the GPX file into your Garmin GPS. Or, you can save the file to your desktop and drag it into the right pane of MapSource.
  • For Linux users, the GPX file needs to be converted into GPI format, and manually loaded. For this, use gpsbabel.

Advdave 03-21-2011 07:15 AM

That will transfer an address, but can you transfer a ROUTE from Google Maps to the GPS? Trying what's on the video link, only the destination address is moved to the GPS.

craftycoder 03-21-2011 07:20 AM

If you use dualsportmaps.com to draw your map, then it will turn it into a GPX file for you. That makes doing the transfer easy enough I think. If you make updates in mapsource, you can upload the GPX file back into dualsportmaps. I designed the drawing tools to suit the way I like to draw maps on google though. It takes a little getting used to. For example, it you want to draw a track that follows a road, you draw a line from the start point to the end point, then you add all the points you think are needed and then tell it to snap the line to the road. I found that the constant snapping caused a lot of unnecessary sluggishness. Plus for long maps with a lot of edits google would just cut me off which was annoying as well.

Instruction video

TRZ Charlie 03-21-2011 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Advdave (Post 15470682)
That will transfer an address, but can you transfer a ROUTE from Google Maps to the GPS? Trying what's on the video link, only the destination address is moved to the GPS.

Yes,it will do that. Try the tutorial. Or as CRAFTYCODER said use his website it works beautifully. I have 6 or 7 maps stored for sharing there.

Jamie Z 03-21-2011 11:15 AM

This question gets brought up so often it should be a sticky.

http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/

If you post a link to your route, I can show you how it works.

Jamie

sonic578 03-21-2011 07:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamie Z (Post 15472437)
This question gets brought up so often it should be a sticky.

http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/

If you post a link to your route, I can show you how it works.

Jamie

It's a deal... link to route here

Is it ok that i 'borrowed' that route from here?

tbirdsp 03-21-2011 07:04 PM

Is there a way to get a .gpx file into Google Maps? Other than "GPSvisualizer"?

I use Mapsource exclusively to generate routes. Would like to share them with my GPS-challenged friends.

Jamie Z 03-22-2011 10:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonic578 (Post 15476169)
It's a deal...

I may have to eat crow. I'm not sure.

Instructions:

Go here to install GMaptoGPX in your browser. It's easiest with Firefox. You simply drag a bookmark to your favorites. http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/

I opened up your route in my browser. Note my favorites bar at the top and "GMaptoGPX."

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY...k/s800/map.jpg

Click on the GMaptoGPX favorite brings up this screen:

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY.../gmaptogpx.jpg

Copy the text in the field:

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY...ptogpxcopy.jpg

Open up Notepad and paste the text.

http://lh3.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY...tepadpaste.jpg

Save the file.

http://lh4.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY...epadsaveas.jpg

Change the Encoding to UTF-8 and the file type to "All Files". Also, you need to manually add the ".gpx" to the end of your filename.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY...800/saveas.jpg

Open it up in Mapsource.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/_GK7sNNy-4NY/TY.../mapsource.jpg

Here's where I had a problem. You can see in MapSource your route is a little wonky. I've never had that happen. I did a bit of investigating to figure out why, and I don't know what it is. I thought it might be because it's a loop and your starting and ending points are the same, so I tried deleting your endpoint without any success. It might be because you have a combination of destination points as well as drag-and-drop points, though I've done that in the past without trouble.

The truth is, I'm not sure why your Google Maps route didn't work as expected. I've used this program numerous times and it has worked as it should every time.

Sorry man. Don't know why it came out like that, but my instructions are still valid.

Jamie

sonic578 03-22-2011 10:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamie Z (Post 15480375)
I may have to eat crow. I'm not sure.

......

Here's where I had a problem. You can see in MapSource your route is a little wonky. I've never had that happen. I did a bit of investigating to figure out why, and I don't know what it is. I thought it might be because it's a loop and your starting and ending points are the same, so I tried deleting your endpoint without any success. It might be because you have a combination of destination points as well as drag-and-drop points, though I've done that in the past without trouble.

The truth is, I'm not sure why your Google Maps route didn't work as expected. I've used this program numerous times and it has worked as it should every time.

Sorry man. Don't know why it came out like that, but my instructions are still valid.

Jamie

Hey Jamie,
Thanks for doing that. I did the same last night (on a Mac, so using Road Trip instead of Mapsource), and got the same results. You saved me the time of trying it out on a PC.

Anyway, what i saw imported were about 5 separate routes, just as you are showing. They seem to just be waypoints connected with straight lines... no recalulating yet. Just take ALL of the routes and bring them into a single NEW route, then tell it to "recalculate route". It all then snaps to the roads!

Those extra steps are a bit tedious if you're doing a lot of this, so it would be nice if it just worked, but at least I now have a path to get there.

Thanks again!!

Jamie Z 03-22-2011 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonic578 (Post 15480549)
They seem to just be waypoints connected with straight lines... no recalulating yet. Just take ALL of the routes and bring them into a single NEW route, then tell it to "recalculate route". It all then snaps to the roads!

I actually prefer to leave the straight lines and let the GPS calculate the route. If you calculate the route in MapSource and then send it to the GPS, you lose the option to reverse the route. At least on my 478.

Jamie

sonic578 03-22-2011 10:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamie Z (Post 15480606)
I actually prefer to leave the straight lines and let the GPS calculate the route. If you calculate the route in MapSource and then send it to the GPS, you lose the option to reverse the route. At least on my 478.

Jamie

Good point, but in this case you at least need to group the disconnected routes together... but avoiding recalc should be possible at that point.

I wonder if any of the other methods mentioned above solve this issue of multiple routes?

Bob Tosi 04-01-2011 11:17 AM

will this same approach work for a Garmin Quest? I made a track in Google Maps and cant seem to figure out how to get it into my quest.

GPS noob

TRZ Charlie 04-01-2011 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob Tosi (Post 15561793)
will this same approach work for a Garmin Quest? I made a track in Google Maps and cant seem to figure out how to get it into my quest.

GPS noob

Does the Quest have a base map installed? Do you have Mapsource on your computer?

aschendel 09-07-2011 08:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Thread revival time, hope that's ok.

I did Google Maps to KML (saved your linked map to my maps then gmaps gives a link to the KML), downloaded that then ran that file through GPS Visualizer to get to a GPX file, then opened that in Mapsource, seems to have perfect tracks. I did delete the end point to start with, although if the duplicated point causes trouble you should be able to make an end-point right next to your start point that was just a tiny bit different. Anyhow, once you get to GPX tracks you should be able to use GPS Babel or the WinGDB tool to move from tracks to routes, right?

Hope this helps,

Andy


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014