ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Vendors (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Waterproof Digital Voltmeter by ADvmonster (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692098)

sanjoh 05-28-2011 07:29 AM

Waterproof Digital Voltmeter by ADvmonster
 
Now available for $25 on our website

http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u...s/15adc3b2.jpg

http://i171.photobucket.com/albums/u...s/a1ddf925.jpg

DC 8-28 volts

Three wire connection: Red power, Blue voltage signal, Black ground

22mm high X 40mm wide X 19mm deep leads are 30cm long

7/8" high X 1.5" wide X 3/4" deep leads are 1 ft. long

mbabc 05-28-2011 02:20 PM

Just ordered one. We'll see how it goes.

sanjoh 05-31-2011 04:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbabc (Post 16027986)
Just ordered one. We'll see how it goes.

Thanks for your business. Looking forward to seeing your installation.

mchasal 06-01-2011 07:47 AM

Looks great. Is it really "LCD"? It looks like a typical LED 7 segment display. Not that there's anything bad about that.

Budo675 06-01-2011 06:37 PM

Subscribed with a plan to buy when I'm stateside again. Got a triumph with a knack for burning up R/Rs and not charging the battery.

Shunka 06-02-2011 03:29 PM

Sweet! Just ordered as well. Can't wait to add it!! Thx!

EdGear 06-03-2011 06:51 AM

I received mine, has anyone found a bezel that fits?

sanjoh 06-08-2011 03:43 AM

Thanks for all the purchases so far.


:eek1Free gift offer for the first inmate to post an install (yep we need pictures) and review.


Just to clear up some things that were posted in the light thread.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMWzenrider (Post 16084855)
The signal wire allows the display to shut down when the ignition is turned off, therefore eliminating any battery drain when the bike is not running.
It is basically like having a built-in relay circuit for the display to shut the unit down when the bike is turned off.
Yes, the drain will be minimal if you just wire it to stay on all the time, but it IS a nice feature to have added in. :clap

Signal wire (blue) is not a built in relay. In almost all applications, the power and the signal wire are connected as one.

The signal source and power source must have the same ground.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMWzenrider (Post 16084855)
Not having lights/digits glowing on your bike will also make it stand out less when it is parked at night; which can have its own advantages at times... :deal

The VM should be attached to a switched power source or it will stay on. The headlight wires are recommended.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BMWzenrider (Post 16084855)
I didn't realize how short the wires were going to be on the V/M.
Personally, it would be very nice if the unit could be supplied with 3-foot wires so that it could be connected to the battery terminals without having to splice extra wire in.

Every splice is another potential place for failure in the future...

How much extra would it cost to have the manufacturer add an extra 2-3 feet of wire to the units???
The incremental cost couldn't be all that much.


As it is, I will probably run the included wire into the headlight shell so that the splices are protected from the elements, and then run the connecting wires to the battery and a switched circuit from there.

The VM was designed to be connected to the headlight wiring, no need to run separate power. If you want to measure the voltage at the battery, you can run a single wire for the signal. The length of the wire is clearly stated as being 1 ft long, use your favorite connector for additional wire length.


Quote:

Originally Posted by BMWzenrider (Post 16084855)
I have yet to see how viewable the digits will be in direct sunlight, but my initial impression is that it is a nice compact unit and not too bright for wrecking night vision.

Still have not decided between velcro or permanent adhesive mounting.
The ability to add a zip tie or two would be a nice feature as well.
Hint, hint... :deal

Silicone is your friend:deal

majordomo490 06-09-2011 04:46 PM

What is the signal wire for? Can you ignore it or just connect it to the red wire??
Thanks

rattlesnakejake 06-09-2011 07:20 PM

ADVMonster Installation
 
Hi guys. I bought one of these from you a week or so ago and just wanted to post some pictures of my installation and pass along my $.02.

My pictures of the unit look a lot like yours do, with sparkly orange paint for scale. The plastic case feels solid and there looks like a good shot of silicone sealant in there.

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/jakehall/5817074694/" title="P1000292 by llahbocaj, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2662/5817074694_3f45aee6f1.jpg" width="500" height="281" alt="P1000292"></a>


<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/jakehall/5817080754/" title="P1000293 by llahbocaj, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3555/5817080754_0ae5522f7f.jpg" width="281" height="500" alt="P1000293"></a>



Installation is nothing to get excited about. Three wires: red (power), blue (signal), and black (neutral). I have a switched auxiliary fuse panel up front and this dropped right into place. I wired red and blue to a little 5A fused outlet and black to the ground bar. (There might be a situation where you would want to power the voltmeter from a different lead than the signal but I can't think of one at the moment.)

A little strip of 3M Dual Lock to hold it to the frame right under the handlebars...visible but out of sight at the same time and everything was done.

I metered it for the sake of knowing and it comes pretty darn close. No idea how it will hold up to the weather but with the pictures the unit in a glass of water I've got high hopes. I might suggest that you guys offer variable length leads for the folks that need something a little longer than 1'. I know you can extend it on your own but not having to do that would be worth a couple extra cents of wire. Looks like a well made product, thank you for the quick delivery.

<a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/jakehall/5816520095/" title="P1000299 by llahbocaj, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3466/5816520095_0037e3bb43.jpg" width="281" height="500" alt="P1000299"></a>

Fubars 06-09-2011 08:34 PM

If it works better than my Datel in direct sunlight, I'm in.

bomber60015 06-10-2011 07:45 AM

A suggestion
 
I know, everyone will have SOMETHING to complain about . . . . .

I'd love this thing if the readout wasn't red -- a red light in the clocks means that there's something wrong, somewhere --

I'm sure that I'd get over it toot sweet, and I know red is kinder to night vision, but still and all . . . . . ..

btw, if these things are half as good as your lights, they will flat out rock!

sanjoh 06-10-2011 10:44 AM

rattlesnakejake, thanks for the review

please send me your address for your free gift:deal

sandjoh@gmail.com

Sumi 06-10-2011 02:17 PM

Hi!

Will you ship it to EU/Hungary?

regards

rattlesnakejake 06-10-2011 02:57 PM

donation
 
In lieu of a free gift sandjoh made a generous donation to Baldy to help support ADV. Thank you for doing that.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014