ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   Australian Garmin Rhino (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712689)

hahnelw 08-02-2011 06:44 PM

Australian Garmin Rhino
 
Just spotted an Australian spec Garmin Rhino in the Johnny Appleseed site. This is a combination GPS and 5w UHF radio. It has previously been an import, which was not compliant for Australia.

http://www.ja-gps.com.au/Garmin/rino-650-gps-uhf-radio/

Cheers


WH

Doctor 08-02-2011 09:00 PM

that is excellent, it was never meant to happen ! good price to, thanx for posting :clap

hahnelw 08-02-2011 10:05 PM

A bit disappointed myself. Just bought a uniden 5w radio before I saw it!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Doctor (Post 16540189)
that is excellent, it was never meant to happen ! good price to, thanx for posting :clap


Hodgo 08-03-2011 03:14 AM

If anyone shells out the coin for one of these in Aust I would be very keen to speak with them.

Looks like the are the goods.

itsgunnahurt 08-03-2011 03:54 AM

Great idea, just a bit disappointing..
Only 22 Channels, where as the UHF CB regulations are now allowing up to 80 chans. We could be lucky and this is a US only spec and we get an AU spec one.

Having said that, I too would be interested to hear if anyone has actually bought one and how they go.

bend27 08-03-2011 05:35 AM

:lurk

veetwo _tls 09-21-2011 12:37 AM

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=82798


Physical & Performance:
Unit dimensions, WxHxD: 6.0 x 19.0 x 4.5 cm
Display size, WxH: 3.6 x 5.5 cm; 6.6cm diag
Display resolution, WxH: 160 x 240 pixels
Display type: transflective, 65-K colour TFT
Weight: 320 g with battery pack
Battery: removable, rechargeable lithium-ion battery pack
Battery life: 14 hours (up to 18 hours with optional AA battery pack)
Waterproof: yes (IPX7)
High-sensitivity receiver: yes
Interface: high-speed USB and NMEA 0183 compatible


Maps & Memory:
Basemap: yes
Preloaded maps: no
Ability to add maps: yes
Built-in memory: 1.7 GB
Accepts data cards: microSD™ card (not included)
Waypoints/favorites/locations: 2000
Routes: 200
Track log: 10,000 points, 200 saved tracks


Features & Benefits:
Automatic routing (turn by turn routing on roads): yes
Electronic compass: yes (tilt-compensated, 3-axis)
Barometric altimeter: yes
Camera: no
Picture viewer: yes
Unit-to-unit transfer and ANT+™ compatible: yes
Hunt/fish calendar: yes
Sun and moon information: yes
Area calculation: yes


Other:
Frequency band: UHF
Channels: 80
Squelch codes: 38 (CTCSS); 83 (DCS)
Transmit power: 0 - 5 watts
Range: Up to 2 miles over FRS; up to 20 miles over GMRS (US); up to 13 km over GMRS (Canada)
VOX (voice activation): yes - this will do the job: http://firefoxtechnologies.zoovy.com...2500&viewall=1
Location reporting (send and receive GPS positions): yes
Vibration alert: yes
NOAA weather radio: no


ACCESSORIES:

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=82798

Mounts:

Cables:

Batteries:

Lanyards, Straps, Holsters and Clips:

Other: (headset with boom mic)

On The Trail Maps:

Other: (Chirp)

abonko 09-25-2011 08:10 PM

Close, but no cigar.
 
I took a look at one yesterday. I was so excited by the potential of this device. Unfortunately, it was missing two key features I would need in my setup.
  1. No Bluetooth, so it won't connect to my phone or my current helmet headset like my Zumo does.
  2. No PTT button accessory, allowing it to be mounted on the handlebar for easy thumb access while riding. (Having to stop to talk every time would get annoying.)
I have no doubt it will be a great unit for some. But I'm picky in the setup I'm looking for. :)

veetwo _tls 09-25-2011 08:17 PM

yeh but it does have a 2.5 or 3.5 audio plug for a headset .

so i can still use my firefox vanquish throat mic :evil :D http://firefoxtechnologies.zoovy.com...hroat-Mic.html



.

Tee Dee Mmm 10-10-2011 06:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hahnelw (Post 16539015)
Just spotted an Australian spec Garmin Rhino in the Johnny Appleseed site. This is a combination GPS and 5w UHF radio. It has previously been an import, which was not compliant for Australia.

http://www.ja-gps.com.au/Garmin/rino-650-gps-uhf-radio/

Cheers


WH

The previous Rino 520 was brought to Austarlia by Garmin and is / was compliant (40 CH) for Australia as I had one and used it on my Cape York trip in 2008, 2 mates also had them on the trip and the ability to locate the other Rino users came in handy a couple of times.

The new unit now has a better and easier method of UHF chanel selection as this was cumbersome on the 520 and also the new unit has 80 chanels and this is why they took longer to arrive in Aust than first thought because the Govt changed the number of chanels allowed so Garmin held back to send the latest units.

Tee Dee Mmm 10-10-2011 06:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by abonko (Post 16935386)
I took a look at one yesterday. I was so excited by the potential of this device. Unfortunately, it was missing two key features I would need in my setup.
  1. No Bluetooth, so it won't connect to my phone or my current helmet headset like my Zumo does.
  2. No PTT button accessory, allowing it to be mounted on the handlebar for easy thumb access while riding. (Having to stop to talk every time would get annoying.)
I have no doubt it will be a great unit for some. But I'm picky in the setup I'm looking for. :)

Like the earlier 520 this should be able to be setup with an Autocomm style unit that also connects to your phone and you can hook up a PTT lead as well. Not sure if it is DMME but one of the intercom sellers sells a bluetooth setup that plugs into your UHF making it a Bluetooth unit I think>

Cheers Rick

veetwo _tls 10-10-2011 07:20 AM

correct it will run a throat mic / head set with a ptt as high lighted in my post 7

Goosefeather 10-29-2011 05:46 PM

Loading Maps on a Rino
 
Happy Snapper got a current Rino and came round the other day to show it off, and load some maps on my Windows PC as he's a Mac fan.

After a bit of trial and error, using Mapsource, we established that it can load Shonky Maps and Tracks4Australia. The only trick appears to be loading them so that they can be selected individually.

We're used to the GPSMap60 map selection method, where different map sets are readily selectable on the unit.

When we selected Tracks4Australia map tiles on the PC and loaded to the unit, all looked fine - could select/deselect the T4A maps. When we then loaded Shonky Maps and Tracks4Australia map tiles on the PC and loaded to the unit, there was only one map set to select/deselect and it appears the map set displayed was the highest priority in that set (can't remember which - think it was T4A).

After a bit of experimentation and looking at the onboard SD card contents, it appears that the default compiled image file on the unit is overwritten by the most recent transfer from the PC. We worked around this by:
- transferring T4A,
- renaming the standard image file (something.whateversuffixIforget - I forget its name!) to T4A.whateversuffixIforget
- transferring Shonky Maps
- renaming the new standard image file (something.whateversuffixIforget - I forget its name!) to ShonkyMaps.whateversuffixIforget


[edit - default map file is gmapsupp.img]


Happy can now select Shonky Maps or Tracks4Australia individually and pick the most appropriate map set for his location.

I hope this saves other Rino user's some frustration.

ozphotog 11-21-2011 04:35 PM

Johhny Appleseed has a buy one, get one free deal on at the moment. If anyone wants to go halves, I would be interested.

tmotten 11-25-2011 04:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Goosefeather (Post 17187355)
Happy Snapper got a current Rino and came round the other day to show it off, and load some maps on my Windows PC as he's a Mac fan.

After a bit of trial and error, using Mapsource, we established that it can load Shonky Maps and Tracks4Australia. The only trick appears to be loading them so that they can be selected individually.

We're used to the GPSMap60 map selection method, where different map sets are readily selectable on the unit.

When we selected Tracks4Australia map tiles on the PC and loaded to the unit, all looked fine - could select/deselect the T4A maps. When we then loaded Shonky Maps and Tracks4Australia map tiles on the PC and loaded to the unit, there was only one map set to select/deselect and it appears the map set displayed was the highest priority in that set (can't remember which - think it was T4A).

After a bit of experimentation and looking at the onboard SD card contents, it appears that the default compiled image file on the unit is overwritten by the most recent transfer from the PC. We worked around this by:
- transferring T4A,
- renaming the standard image file (something.whateversuffixIforget - I forget its name!) to T4A.whateversuffixIforget
- transferring Shonky Maps
- renaming the new standard image file (something.whateversuffixIforget - I forget its name!) to ShonkyMaps.whateversuffixIforget

Happy can now select Shonky Maps or Tracks4Australia individually and pick the most appropriate map set for his location.

I hope this saves other Rino user's some frustration.

Nice one. Just ran into this same problem. Cheers.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014