ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc) (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Installing a CPR air filter on my 990 (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=805370)

moto-treks 07-03-2012 10:38 AM

Installing a CPR air filter on my 990
 
The CPR Rottweiler air filter had been sitting around on my workbench for too long and it seemed like I would never have time to put it on. Then, yesterday, my wife announced she was going to visit her mom over the 4th - free time :clap

A quick call to the tuner insured he could get me in and I started the install last night :thumb

Here is the stock configuration

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...airbox-top.jpg

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...tockairbox.jpg


and what it's going to look like

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/advrider/990-to-be.jpg

After a few hours I had the stock air box removed and the fuel injectors reinstalled.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...Rottweiler.jpg

moto-treks 07-03-2012 12:14 PM

SAS removal
 
I had thought I would just leave the SAS plumbing installed for now but when removing the stock air box I found out the the pump is attached to it So.......

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/advrider/990SAS.jpg

It's gone now. For those of you removing the SAS, remove the rear cylinder plate first. Why? because the front cylinder plate is such a PIA to replace that if you try and do it first you will most likely decide it's not worth the effort :baldy I had to keep telling myself, the other plate is already removed - ya got to figure out how to get this one off :huh

moto-treks 07-03-2012 01:05 PM

Setting up the base plate
 
Next it was time to setup the baseplate. The crankcase breather check valve and Temp Sensor need to be installed onto the Rottweiler baseplate.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...0Baseplate.jpg

Once the baseplate is mounted on the bike I rerouted the crankcase breather cutting about 1.5 inches off before it would match up to the check value. Then I tied to connect the temp sensor wire.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...90Tempwire.jpg

But it's not long enough. I've checked everywhere and there is no way for me to get the extra inch or two needed to connect the connector to the Temp Sensor

EatinDirt 07-03-2012 02:03 PM

Your in way to deep now you can't stop and go back cuz I want those other filters....:1drink

moto-treks 07-03-2012 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EatinDirt (Post 19049316)
Your in way to deep now you can't stop and go back cuz I want those other filters....:1drink

Oh man don't I know it :eek1

I lengthened the wire for the Temp sensor about five inches and it fits great. Just hope adding the extra wire doesn't change the way the ECU reads the temperature.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...nectorGood.jpg

After I had the connector installed I check the clearance with the secondary throttle. It didn't touch but was a little too close for me so I rotated the Temp Sensor 180 degrees in the base plate and now there is plenty of space between the connector and the secondary throttle arm.

This is how I ended up installing the Temp Sensor in the base plate.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...pbaseplate.jpg

Baseplate all ready to go - just need to add the filter :clap

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...yforFilter.jpg

moto-treks 07-03-2012 08:49 PM

PIA SAS Plate
 
Here is the location of the front cylinders SAS plate. A real PIA to get at.

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...90PIAplate.jpg

moto-treks 07-03-2012 09:10 PM

And Installed
 
And here it is all oiled up and installed

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...rInstalled.jpg

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...weileRight.jpg

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...weilerLeft.jpg

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...eilerRight.jpg

And all buttoned up - lots of room in there but I will need to take the top cover off to clean the filter

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...rWithTanks.jpg

I didn't know if I needed to install a resistor in place of the SAS pump so for the first test I plugged the SAS pump in, hit the starter button and she fired right up :clap

Next was to plug in TuneECU and switch the SAS off. After that I removed the SAS pump and again, she fired right up with no FI errors :clap :clap

Finally, since I'm guessing I'll be getting more air :huh I loaded the map for a 2011 R Akrapovic slip-on, did the 15 minute idle reset and I was ready for a test ride.

All I can say is :thumb :clap :clap :clap:rilla :happay the bike ROCKS it has a lot more power over the whole RPM range.

Tomorrow I'm off for a custom tune :deal

cjracer 07-04-2012 06:55 AM

Wonderful Report. Thanks for posting. Very helpful. :freaky

bikyto 07-04-2012 09:45 AM

If I may, the breather tube could get kinked as it is hooked up onto the bottom plate and is too long. Rerouting or shortening is necessary in my experience.

Great pix
Cheers!

moto-treks 07-04-2012 09:46 AM

More benefits
 
In addition to the increase in HP you also get to reduce the weight of your moto by removing all of this

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...irboxParts.jpg

and replacing it with this

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...0NewAirbox.jpg

for a total loss of 5 lbs :thumb

moto-treks 07-04-2012 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bikyto (Post 19055450)
If I may, the breather tube could get kinked as it is hooked up onto the bottom plate and is too long. Rerouting or shortening is necessary in my experience.

Great pix
Cheers!

Good point - I had to cut mine 4 times before it was the right length

http://www.moto-treks.com/images/adv...990cuthose.jpg

bikyto 07-04-2012 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moto-treks (Post 19055616)
Good point - I had to cut mine 4 times before it was the right length

:thumbup

Helajames 07-04-2012 05:11 PM

I just got one for my 2010 990R, going to do the Sas removal at the same time, can you tell me where you found the KTM specific info on the tune ecu? Very interested in this too! Great info!

Jim

moto-treks 07-04-2012 05:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Helajames (Post 19057895)
I just got one for my 2010 990R, going to do the Sas removal at the same time, can you tell me where you found the KTM specific info on the tune ecu? Very interested in this too! Great info!

Jim

Here's the big thread on TuneECU for the 990. For the maps for the their TuenECU website

moto-treks 07-05-2012 11:24 PM

Tune done
 
Tune done and again WOW! I can't believe what a difference this filter makes. The 990 has all sorts of power from 3k to redline.

Some details.

My 990 is a 2010 Adv with a Remus Revolution TI 2 into 1 exhaust. I had been running the 2011 R map which helped the top end when compared to the standard ADV map. When I installed the CPR filter I knew I would be getting more air so I loaded the European 2011 R "Akropovic" map (KM601EU1180232Map.hex). These maps are known to put extra fuel into the system and on inspection in TuneECU, it did.

Nels, from 2 Wheel Dyno works, put the bike on the dyne and after a few runs said the fuel map was really very good for the setup. He decided to leave it as is and "smooth" out the ignition advance. After working on that he needed to add a bit more fuel based on ignition adjustments. Then he said, I got about 10 more HP with that change, take it for a test ride and let me know what you think.

Well, just putting the CPR on made a huge difference in power and the modifications Nels made to the map was another big boost :clap

I rode 280 miles to get to Nels and another 100 after so I had time to do a before/after seat-of-the-pants comparison and what a difference the new map makes. The 990 pulls so strong now it's simply amazing. Passing is effortless - just open the throttle.

Tomorrow I take the moto off-road so I'll see how that work - I'm betting I'll need a bit more throttle control :lol3

If you're installed the CPR on your 990, I would load the Akropovic map. I guessing that if you're not running a 2 into 1, then you will need to add fuel too. I'd also suggest you take the bike to a Dyno and get a custom Tune if for no other reason then to ensure that you are not hurting the motor.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014