ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   basecamp question (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=811843)

dogjaw 07-25-2012 09:53 PM

basecamp question
 
just bought a Nuvi 550, downloaded Basecamp... the view I'm showing is very basic, not even showing towns/roads where I know them to be. The menu is showing "global map" with no other options to choose from; what gives?

dlh62c 07-26-2012 01:41 AM

What your seeing is the global map that comes with Basecamp. Connect the Nuvi to your computer via a usb cable, then restart BC. BC will load the maps that are on the Nuvi. Then select the map you wish to use from the map menu and plan your trip using it. Make sure the detail is set to 'Highest'.

I do believe that the Nuvi 500 includes preloaded U.S. topographic maps plus City Navigator® NT data for the lower 48 states, Hawaii and Puerto Rico, but no Alaska or Canada detail.

daryl

davsato 01-20-2013 04:56 AM

on basecamp you have to have the unit connected to read detailed maps directly, as you cant copy maps onto the computer like you could with mapsource. newer garmins can only use basecamp and compared to mapsource, it sucks.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014