ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   City Navigator Europe NT 2013.20 (Download and trip planning.) (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=824482)

M1Tanker 09-07-2012 11:04 PM

City Navigator Europe NT 2013.20 (Download and trip planning.)
 
Well after months of not doing anything with my Zumo 660 I decided that I needed to check for map updates because I’m planning a trip next week to a small town outside Budapest, Hungary. I down loaded through brute force and ignorance City Navigator Europe NT 2013.20 - Map+P+3D, July 12 to my Zumo 660 and to my desktop computer (NOTE: I have Garmin Lifetime Updater.) I updated the Zumo 660 software on the Garmin website. I also updated the BaseCamp software as well. Additionally I installed BMW Motorrad Dealer Database/Update 7.00.

After doing all of the above I verified on the Zumo 660 through “Tools” then “Settings” then “Map” then “Map Info” that the following was installed:
- CN Europe NT 2013.20 3D
- BMW Motorrad
--Worldwide v.7.00
- CN Europe NT 2013.20
--Western Europe

I then went outside to put the destination address near Budapest where I will be traveling. The Zumo couldn’t find it. I panned across the map and zoomed to the town near Budapest where I will be going and there were no streets shown.

I came back into the house and reconnected the Zumo to the computer. I then went to Garmin MapInstall. It then asked me to select a portion of the European map that I wanted to install onto the device (Zumo). I first tried to grab all of the Maps from Central Germany, where I live, to my destination. MapInstall stated that I didn’t have enough space on the Zumo to download all the maps. I then decided to just download the maps near my destination. That seemed to work.

I then re-verified verified on the Zumo 660 through “Tools” then “Settings” then “Map” then “Map Info” that the following was installed.
- CN Europe NT 2013.20 3D
- BMW Motorrad
-- Worldwide v.7.00
- CN Europe NT 2013.20
-- WIENER NEUSTADT, OSTERREICH, BUDAPEST, MAGYARORSA
-- Western Europe

I then went back outside to put the destination address near Budapest where I will be traveling. The Zumo then found it.
Here are my questions:

- So even though my Zumo states that I have CN Europe 2013.20 3D I really don’t have all of Europe. Is that correct?

- Apparently I have almost no space remaining on my Zumo 660. So if I have another destination that I want to go to, not in the area that I currently have downloaded, then I must delete some maps. How do I do that?

- It appears that if I go on a long trip through different regions of Europe I’m going to have to bring a laptop. Is that correct?

Thanks.

Hill Climber 09-07-2012 11:44 PM

Internal memory maybe not large enough
 
I suspect your zumo doesn't have enough internal memory to load all of Europe into. I know that here in North America, a lot of gps units don't have enough memory now. Garmin has been adding a lot of data to their mapsets, so we're either forced to load only a portion of North American into the internal memory, or load all of North American onto an SD card. (Best to use a 4GB card) The SD card option is a little slower when operating your gps, but that's the tradeoff.

I'd try loading Europe onto an SD card and see what happens. You may have to erase, or replace the present CN Europe in the internal memory with an older version so that your zumo doesn't get confused by having the same map on an sd card as well as in it's internal memory too.
After loading to an sd card, go to your map info page and check off the mapsets you want displayed.

Hope this works for you.

Cheers from the other side of the pond. :1drink

M1Tanker 09-08-2012 05:33 AM

Hill Climber,

Thanks.

With regard to the micro-SD card, is there a size limit that the Zumo 660 can take?

For instance if I wanted a larger micro-SD card that 16GB, 32GB or 64GB for instance, is there an issue that the Zumo 660 won't read it?

What about the micro-SD cards that state Ultra, HC, or ExtremePro?

Thanks again.

DRTBYK 09-08-2012 07:26 AM

Your zumo 660 has plenty of internal storage for the CNEU maps - they have actually gotten small in size over the last two years due to better compression.

Firstly, remove the partial CNEU maps you just installed (gmapsupp.img):
-- WIENER NEUSTADT, OSTERREICH, BUDAPEST, MAGYARORSA
-- Western Europe


Then reboot your zumo and make sure your CNEU 2013.20 maps are ENABLED. The CNEU 2013.20 3D are only 3D data to supplement the street data but it needs to be there. Try finding your Budapest location again.

Cheers,

DRTBYK 09-08-2012 07:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1Tanker (Post 19547451)
Hill Climber,

Thanks.

With regard to the micro-SD card, is there a size limit that the Zumo 660 can take?

For instance if I wanted a larger micro-SD card that 16GB, 32GB or 64GB for instance, is there an issue that the Zumo 660 won't read it?

What about the micro-SD cards that state Ultra, HC, or ExtremePro?

Thanks again.

Garmin says 32GB - but some have tried 64GB and it worked but the µSD Card has to be formatted FAT32 and Windows PC's will not do that without special application. Stay below 32GB and no worries. You don't need the faster read/write cards that are designed for digital Cameras. The zumo can't use speeds faster than Class 2. You want a µSD Card between 8GB and 32GB labeled SDHC someplace. The SDHC tells you it is High Capacity spec.

Cheers,

Cheers,

M1Tanker 09-08-2012 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRTBYK (Post 19548012)
Your zumo 660 has plenty of internal storage for the CNEU maps - they have actually gotten small in size over the last two years due to better compression.

Firstly, remove the partial CNEU maps you just installed (gmapsupp.img):
-- WIENER NEUSTADT, OSTERREICH, BUDAPEST, MAGYARORSA
-- Western Europe


Then reboot your zumo and make sure your CNEU 2013.20 maps are ENABLED. The CNEU 2013.20 3D are only 3D data to supplement the street data but it needs to be there. Try finding your Budapest location again.

Cheers,

Dan, Thanks,

I deleted gmapsupp.img from the Zumo 660. I then disconnected the Zumo 660 from my computer. It powered up and then I powered it down and powered it up again outside. On the Zumo 660 I went through “Tools” then “Settings” then “Map” then “Map Info” stated that the following was installed:
- CN Europe NT 2013.20 3D
- BMW Motorrad
--Worldwide v.7.00
- CN Europe NT 2013.20
--Western Europe

I'm not sure how to ensure what maps are enabled.

I then went to "Where To?" then "Recently Found." The Zumo did remember the address near Budapest so I pressed on it. It took awhile to calculate the route but it did do it. However, when I panned on the Zumo to my destination there were no longer any roads, which isn't helpful.

Did I do something incorrect?

DRTBYK 09-08-2012 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1Tanker (Post 19549147)
Dan, Thanks,

I deleted gmapsupp.img from the Zumo 660. I then disconnected the Zumo 660 from my computer. It powered up and then I powered it down and powered it up again outside. On the Zumo 660 I went through “Tools” then “Settings” then “Map” then “Map Info” stated that the following was installed:
- CN Europe NT 2013.20 3D
- BMW Motorrad
--Worldwide v.7.00
- CN Europe NT 2013.20
--Western Europe

I'm not sure how to ensure what maps are enabled.

I then went to "Where To?" then "Recently Found." The Zumo did remember the address near Budapest so I pressed on it. It took awhile to calculate the route but it did do it. However, when I panned on the Zumo to my destination there were no longer any roads, which isn't helpful.

Did I do something incorrect?

I'm sorry. I'm a little slow today. I just noticed that your installed CNEU is for WESTERN EUROPE and I believe that Hungary is in Eastern Europe in Garmin's world.

Was your original CNEU for only Western EU? If it was FULL EU then you should try to reinstall all of CNEU using MapInstall.

Cheers,

M1Tanker 09-08-2012 11:02 PM

Dan,

I checked the CD that came with my Zumo 660 and it is titled "City Navigator Europe NT 2011." I then went on the Garmin website to verify what the coverage was. The following is the image that displays the coverage:

https://static.garmincdn.com/en/prod...00/g/cm-md.jpg

The image indicates that Hungary has the detailed coverage but that doesn't appear to be the case on my Zumo. I'm at a loss as to what to do. Does the mapping shown above exceed the drive space on the Zumo? If it does and the hard drive space on the Zumo 660 is 32GB then it isn't going to fit on a micro SD card either.

I'm confused. I need to get this figured out.

Hill Climber 09-09-2012 09:55 AM

Internal memory
 
I did a quick google search and found that your zumo has an internal memory of 4 GB, not 32. That should be lots of memory to hold all of Europe. You won't need to utilize an SD card.

(I went back to your original post and realized that you're usinig Base Camp, and not Mapsource. I don't use Base Camp as I believe it only allows you to download maps directly to your gps. Mapsource allows you to download to both the gps and your computer, which, in my opinion, allows you more independant flexiblilty to transfer mapsets, routes and waypoints to your gps.)

If you've deleted the image on your gps (gmapprom.img) then confirm the remaining space available on your gps by plugging in your gps to your computer, turn the gps on, the click on My Computer, then right click on your gps and display Properties. That should show what the total memory size is and the remaining memory left. If you have 2 GB or more remaining available, then you should have enough remaining to hold all of Europe.

I don't know what the mapset Western Europe is in your first post. Perhaps you downloaded all of Europe and Western Europe (different versions?.... 2011 and 2013.20?) It may be labelled as gmaprom2.img? If so, that may be why you don't have enough internal memory. I should've said in my original post to save the images on your computer before deleting it. This allows the ability to put the image back onto your gps rather than downloading from garmin again. If you have this gmaprom2.img, back it up, then delete it from the gps. Download all of Europe again, set your settings in your gps to show More Detail and see what happens.

If you still have problems, give garmin a call. They seem to be more than willing to help us frustrated users get through issues.

Hope this helps a bit.

DRTBYK 09-09-2012 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1Tanker (Post 19552793)
Dan,

I checked the CD that came with my Zumo 660 and it is titled "City Navigator Europe NT 2011." I then went on the Garmin website to verify what the coverage was. The following is the image that displays the coverage:

The image indicates that Hungary has the detailed coverage but that doesn't appear to be the case on my Zumo. I'm at a loss as to what to do. Does the mapping shown above exceed the drive space on the Zumo? If it does and the hard drive space on the Zumo 660 is 32GB then it isn't going to fit on a micro SD card either.

I'm confused. I need to get this figured out.

Your zumo only has about 3GB of user space available which is more than enough for the CNEU maps. If you have a µSD Card installed, Using MapInstall, select Custom and then select CNEU and MapInstall should divide CNEU up between internal and the µSD Card IF there isn't room for the complete map in internal storage.

I'm still perplexed as to how you only got CNEU Western Europe 2013.20 installed. This is actually a CN product. Anyway, do not delete the CNEU product that is on the zumo now. This can cause additional problems if not done correctly.

I don't recall from our previous exchanges, are you using Windows or Mac?

Cheers,

DRTBYK 09-09-2012 11:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hill Climber (Post 19554778)
I did a quick google search and found that your zumo has an internal memory of 4 GB, not 32. That should be lots of memory to hold all of Europe. You won't need to utilize an SD card.

(I went back to your original post and realized that you're usinig Base Camp, and not Mapsource. I don't use Base Camp as I believe it only allows you to download maps directly to your gps. Mapsource allows you to download to both the gps and your computer, which, in my opinion, allows you more independant flexiblilty to transfer mapsets, routes and waypoints to your gps.)

I think M1Tanker miss read the spec's which are 3.2GB of user storage. As for your thoughts on BaseCamp, you're a bit mistaken. BaseCamp completely supports maps loaded on the computer as well as reading the factory installed GPS map. When using MapInstall, maps are installed on the GPS and external (SD) storage in a much more flexible manner than MapSource can do. But, one needs to be using the latest version of MapInstall. And, quite frankly, the Mac version of MapInstall is a much better product than the Windows version currently.

Cheers,

M1Tanker 09-09-2012 11:21 AM

Dan,

Yes, I got my posts and your responses mixed up regarding 32GB.

I have a windows based computer.

I have updated my MapInstall.

Thanks again.

DRTBYK 09-09-2012 11:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1Tanker (Post 19555232)
Dan,

Yes, I got my posts and your responses mixed up regarding 32GB.

I have a windows based computer.

I have updated my MapInstall.

Thanks again.

Keep us posted as to getting the rest of CNEU installed on your zumo.

Cheers,

M1Tanker 09-09-2012 11:46 AM

Well I went back into MyGarmin and then ran the Garmin Map Updater v3.1.19 and then selected Central and Eastern Europe. The current estimated install time is 2 hours. I'll see what happens.

I have flailed around with Garmin Map Updater, Garmin MapInstall, and Garmin Lifetime Updater. If this works I'm relatively sure I can't repeat what I have done.

Is there any reason why this needs to be so painful?

DRTBYK 09-09-2012 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by M1Tanker (Post 19555353)
Well I went back into MyGarmin and then ran the Garmin Map Updater v3.1.19 and then selected Central and Eastern Europe. The current estimated install time is 2 hours. I'll see what happens.

I have flailed around with Garmin Map Updater, Garmin MapInstall, and Garmin Lifetime Updater. If this works I'm relatively sure I can't repeat what I have done.

Is there any reason why this needs to be so painful?

If you have purchased Lifetime Map Updates and you installed Lifetime Map Updater, you won't have to repeat this. I had no issues with last couple of LM updates - they were "automatic".

Cheers,


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014