ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Any Zumo 220 users here? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=825024)

gkgeiger 09-10-2012 06:24 AM

Any Zumo 220 users here?
 
I like the looks and price point on this unit, but I'm concerned about the attachment of the unit to the bracket. Do you think it would handle rough Adventure style riding. It appears to just snap to the plastic brkt. I have a Nuvi with a similar looking brkt. and I'm afraid it wouldn't stay attached. Thanks in advance,

stegs 09-10-2012 11:21 PM

Haven't actually ridden with the 220 yet.....it just arrived 3 days ago, but the fitting is more secure than the GPScity mount I use for my Nuvi 660. There is an additional clip that clamps down over the top of the unit and appears to hold it very securely.

I really have to get out and test it though.

lexluther11 09-15-2012 07:18 AM

I have one ride off/road all the time and it's never come loose. It has another latch on top that locks it in place.

http://mymotoadventures.smugmug.com/...IMGP1063-L.jpg

gkgeiger 09-15-2012 07:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lexluther11 (Post 19600072)
I have one ride off/road all the time and it's never come loose. It has another latch on top that locks it in place.

http://mymotoadventures.smugmug.com/...IMGP1063-L.jpg

Thanks, that's good news. One more question, has the mini usb given you any problem?

lexluther11 09-15-2012 08:46 AM

It's all good with no troubles at all. :D

mcnut 09-15-2012 12:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gkgeiger (Post 19600284)
Thanks, that's good news. One more question, has the mini usb given you any problem?

The Garmin's mini USB port is a known and documented problem on ADVRider when use in a harsh environment.
The mount pictured is a solid cradle, I combine mine with a RAM ball/arm system.

Bruce

lexluther11 09-15-2012 01:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcnut (Post 19601428)
The Garmin's mini USB port is a known and documented problem on ADVRider when use in a harsh environment.
The mount pictured is a solid cradle, I combine mine with a RAM ball/arm system.

Bruce

I have it mounted with the ball & arm system. I run mine with the built in battery and plug it in the lighter to charge if it gets low.

http://mymotoadventures.smugmug.com/...IMGP1065-L.jpg

revitup 09-27-2012 04:36 PM

Just got my 220 today and am just in the third hour of down loading my City Navigator. So how long does this process take based on an average computer set-up?

I went out for a small ride and noticed that alot of the small side roads were not shown.

Mudcat 09-28-2012 06:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by revitup (Post 19695293)
I went out for a small ride and noticed that alot of the small side roads were not shown.

Compared to my Zumo 450, the 220 is a big disappointment. It’s in for a warranty repair right now, just stopped working.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
In Settings you can set the details shown on its map. Too show all the roads you must use the highest setting

revitup 09-28-2012 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mudcat (Post 19698616)
Compared to my Zumo 450, the 220 is a big disappointment. Itís in for a warranty repair right now, just stopped working.
<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
In Settings you can set the details shown on its map. Too show all the roads you must use the highest setting

Thanks for the info I'll try that.

Just got off the phone with tech support. Seems like you cannot down load the latest free Maps with their City Navigator CD in place. With it the CD out, it took about two hours or so to down load.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014