ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   OK, It's Official- I HATE BASECAMP! (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=829878)

AdvRonski 09-27-2012 07:30 PM

OK, It's Official- I HATE BASECAMP!
 
I've tried to get used to it. I've tried to wean myself from Mapsource. I finally just settled on using BC as little as possible, just to tweak things in the Montana when needed.
Yesterday, BC said it had a software update to 4.0.2- and I was foolish enough to trust it.
It wiped out the dozen-or-so maps I had on Mapsource in a Digital Bloodbath!
It screwed me, and I didn't even get a kiss.
And it took me a while to figure out where all the data went in the left-side pane.
For some reason, they made the "adventures" area HUGE, like it's some king of BFD.
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?
Jeez

DRTBYK 09-30-2012 11:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdvRonski (Post 19696618)
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?
Jeez

The Windows version? No. . .

Mac-BaseCamp on the other hand has completely different Tool methods for Route and Track editing and it is quite easy to get the hang of if you watch the video tutorials once.

Cheers,

5 Hour Butt 10-10-2012 12:12 PM

Overcoming tech issues with Base Camp
 
Just to help out if you have an issue with Base Camp (BC) call Garmin Tech Support. Those folks are always so helpful. Super nice and I have had a few issues and they always got me through the solutions. Just thought I'd toss that out in case it is useful To get the phone number just go to the Garmin website. I did that and pasted the numbers in below.

Phone Numbers

US: 913-397-8200
US Toll Free: 1-800-800-1020
Canada: 1-866-429-9296

Bill Murray 10-13-2012 08:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AdvRonski (Post 19696618)
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?

This Wikispace provides some useful information to help you get started with BaseCamp. I found the transition from Mapsource to BaseCamp very frustrating (and I am computer savvy). Having made the transition, I cannot imagine going back to Mapsource.

Read the Wiki, study the help file, and if you still cannot understand a particular BaseCamp operation, post your question here. There are many knowledgeable BaseCamp users here who can help you.

Garmin has made it clear that BaseCamp represents the path of their future software development, and using BaseCamp will be necessary with Garmin's future GPS products if you want to realize all the features and capabilities they will offer you.

bemiiten 11-25-2012 10:01 AM

Until the Windows version of Basecamp can be used to build seamless routes, combining mapped roads with unmapped ones, it is useless to me.

tdvt 11-25-2012 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bemiiten (Post 20114081)
Until the Windows version of Basecamp can be used to build seamless routes, combining mapped roads with unmapped ones, it is useless to me.

Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?

Boon Booni 11-25-2012 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tdvt (Post 20114737)
Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?

I've done it with mapsource and my 478. AFAIK The trick is to do it with a unit that doesn't recalc the route when it's first opened. The 478 just opens the route and starts following it exactly as it was created in mapsource. Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.

The way I've done it in mapsource(seems to also work in basecamp) is to switch mapsets as I'm calcing the route. City navigator for the bit where there are routable roads and such, then switch to topo or roads and rec which forces the route to be direct routing, then back to a road switch back to CN which turns on follow roads again.

http://photos.smugmug.com/photos/i-d...-dGvRLT7-L.jpg

bemiiten 11-25-2012 02:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tdvt (Post 20114737)
Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?

Mapsource allows this by being able to switch between auto routing & direct routing, and combining them seamlessly into one route. I always recalculate my routes when I'm done to insure the route follows the roads perfectly and that I've done a proper job with my waypoints so the route is full proof. Doing this on a route that has direct routing elements in it will change the direct route portions back to established roads. The trick is to mark where your direct routes are and go back and repair them after a recalc.

bemiiten 11-25-2012 04:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boon Booni (Post 20114834)
Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.



A couple of our crew used to have Zumos and this was a constant issue. Worthless for following a predetermined route!

Emoto 11-25-2012 05:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bemiiten (Post 20115838)
A couple of our crew used to have Zumos and this was a constant issue. Worthless for following a predetermined route!

Shaping points, FTW.

tdvt 11-26-2012 04:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boon Booni (Post 20114834)
The trick is to do it with a unit that doesn't recalc the route when it's first opened. The 478 just opens the route and starts following it exactly as it was created in mapsource. Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.

Thanks for the replies. How would you know if a unit you're looking at does a recalc?

I have also been reading about the differences between tracks & routes, seems like this would figure in there somewhere.

DockingPilot 11-26-2012 05:42 AM

Can Mapsource be used to make a custom route then uploaded and executed in a Montana or is the Montana married to BC only ?

Boon Booni 11-26-2012 07:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tdvt (Post 20118538)
Thanks for the replies. How would you know if a unit you're looking at does a recalc?

I have also been reading about the differences between tracks & routes, seems like this would figure in there somewhere.

There are few units that don't do a recalc. I'm only familiar with the 276c, 376 and 478 that don't recalc. There may have been an old street pilot or something that doesn't recalc either. AFAIK most units recalc on starting a route.

I think the way around it in the new units like the Montana are to convert the route to a track in Basecamp. I'm not familiar enough with the Montana to tell you if following a track will give you turn prompts and mileage countdowns to next turn, or if you'll just have to keep an eye on the screen for turns in the displayed track line.

wbbnm 11-26-2012 07:36 AM

I routinely create mixed-mode maps in Mapsource and sometimes in Basecamp.

I do it simply be switching back and forth between City Navigator which autoroutes and Topo 100 which does not.

I then convert the route to a track and load the track for navigation. I don't have to worry about recalculating then.

Basecamp has a problem where if you go in and change a point in a route, it will recalculate the entire route based on what mapset is active. Mapsource will only recalculate the portion of the route on either side of the point you modified.

Bill Murray 11-26-2012 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boon Booni (Post 20119303)
I think the way around it in the new units like the Montana are to convert the route to a track in Basecamp. I'm not familiar enough with the Montana to tell you if following a track will give you turn prompts and mileage countdowns to next turn, or if you'll just have to keep an eye on the screen for turns in the displayed track line.

I use a Montana 650; I moved from a Zumo 550. With the Montana, my process is to prepare a route in BaseCamp and then convert the route to a track (in BaseCamp). I load both the route and the track into my Montana. Lately, my practice with the Montana has been to use the track, rather than the route, to navigate since the Montana will not recalculate the track. The track is displayed on the Montana's screen in the same way that a route being used is displayed (i.e., in "highlighted" magenta). When using the track, the Montana does not provide turn prompts or a mileage countdown. As mentined by Boon Booni, I simply keep an eye on the screen for upcoming turns, etc. So far, this has has worked extremely well and never caused me a problem. Besides, I always have the option to enable navigation using the route.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014