ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Shiny things (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   My new silver monster Apple (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=831907)

Sniper X 10-05-2012 11:51 AM

My new silver monster Apple
 
I have it on my bench today getting all the downloads and such. It is a MAC PRO 12 core, 3.06 processors, 64g ram, 2tb on board, 27in cineama display, and a 4tb firewire drive, pretty friggin fast so far. Downloading FCP X, Compressor, and motion.

http://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphoto...86846523_n.jpg

troidus 10-05-2012 11:54 AM

And for only a year of house payments!

j/k -- sorta.

Have fun with the new toy.

Jonnylotto 10-05-2012 11:55 AM

All that and you chintzed out on the display? :lol3

Sniper X 10-05-2012 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jonnylotto (Post 19755227)
All that and you chintzed out on the display? :lol3

yeah, hasta fit on a small edit desk....and it is too slow going with two displays after you get used to using one. I edit in half the time using the one display since I learned that way.

Sniper X 10-05-2012 11:58 AM

[QUOTE=troidus;19755218]And for only a year of house payments!

j/k -- sorta.

Have fun with the new toy.[/QUOTE

Good thing I don't have to pay for it myself. HEHEH! :rofl

Anorak 10-05-2012 12:00 PM

64G, 30 years ago I had an AppleII + with 64k of ram and that was amazing. That 64G probably cost less adjusted for inflation than 64k did 30 years ago.

JamesG 10-05-2012 03:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anorak (Post 19755277)
That 64G probably cost less adjusted for inflation than 64k did 30 years ago.

It does.

bobobob 10-05-2012 03:37 PM

Very nice. Are you going to use some of that memory for a ram drive?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAM_drive

Sniper X 10-05-2012 06:51 PM

I am going to do almost nothing but edit video on it.

Drifting Fate 10-05-2012 07:43 PM

My little MacBook Pro seems so insignificant.

Josephvman 10-06-2012 07:59 AM

I assume you need all that horsepower for your editing stuff, but I'm curious if an off-the-shelf iMac could do it, and if so what differences you'd have between them.

ImaPoser 10-06-2012 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anorak (Post 19755277)
64G, 30 years ago I had an AppleII + with 64k of ram and that was amazing. That 64G probably cost less adjusted for inflation than 64k did 30 years ago.

The box I'm using right now only has 333mb of ram. :lol3

CodeMonkee 10-06-2012 10:54 AM

I have an early '08 (8 core, 16 GB of RAM) and it is still faster than most desktops being sold today. The boot drive went bad so I bought an SSD, but haven't stuck it in. I run three displays off it - a 30" and two 24". I code, so this works fine for me.

I need the RAM less than I need the CPUs - I run multiple VMs to work in. OSX as the host, Linux and different versions of Windows depending on the project.

For what they are, MacPros are fairly competitive in price - try pricing a Wintel machine with 4 to 12 cores with up to 64 GB of RAM capacity and 5 drive bays, and able to drive 6 displays. Finally, find one that will run OSX.

House payments? Two. And I will earn it back in less than a month. Plus it is tax deductible.

CodeMonkee 10-06-2012 10:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Josephvman (Post 19760643)
I assume you need all that horsepower for your editing stuff, but I'm curious if an off-the-shelf iMac could do it, and if so what differences you'd have between them.

Mostly the differences are RAM and drive and video display expansion capacity.

Sniper X 10-08-2012 08:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Josephvman (Post 19760643)
I assume you need all that horsepower for your editing stuff, but I'm curious if an off-the-shelf iMac could do it, and if so what differences you'd have between them.

These days not a lot except for heavy rendering and such when needed in things like multiple layers and so on. Plus the faster the box, the faster the video format (codec) conversions and such as well. I work with Panasonic P2 in all the HD DVC PRO formats as well as AVEC Intra, and also will use both AVCCAM and at times even formats (file structures) from DSLR's of both Canon and Panasonic persuasion.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014