ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Garage (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Starter Motor (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=832406)

indr 10-07-2012 03:58 PM

Starter Motor
 
I have it removed from the bike.

http://i.imgur.com/jngZu.jpg

I want to connect it to a power source directly to see if it works.

There is only this one "connection" I can make to the motor:

http://i.imgur.com/za1c9.jpg

Where do I hook up the other connection?

ragtoplvr 10-07-2012 04:01 PM

To the body of the starter.

I would take off the oring and clamp the jumper cable on the mounting nose. And hold the starter tight, they like to jump off tables, and out of hands, and get destroyed when they hit the floor. You drop one, you crack the magnets

Rod

indr 10-07-2012 04:06 PM

There was a spark and it shorted out the power supply I was using (no damage).

ragtoplvr 10-07-2012 04:18 PM

How big a supply. Small bike starters can draw over 100 amps inrush, 30 running free. One for a liter bike can be 200, 300 or more amps inrush, 75 amps running free. Your battery charger is not going to cut it.

Rod

buickid 10-07-2012 04:21 PM

Well they do take a fair bit of current to turn, so I'd expect a spark caused by large inrush current. How big is the power supply? It might not have shorted, just overloaded. The case is negative, that lug is positive. Make sure you're clamping only to the outer part of the lug and its not touching the casing.

indr 10-07-2012 04:24 PM

I'm using a 350W power supply unit from a computer.

anonny 10-07-2012 08:09 PM

(edit) After a reread this sounded a bit abrupt but wasn't meant to be....... but I cant find better words at the moment.

You realize the potential of what you are playing with.... right?

Why do you need to do this off the bike anyways? It already has everything you need.

indr 10-07-2012 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anonny (Post 19770223)
You realize the potential of what you are playing with.... right?

No... :confused:

Quote:

Why do you need to do this off the bike anyways? It already has everything you need.
I have the whole bike stripped for a all around cleanup and engine rebuild. Just trying to see how stuff works.

buickid 10-07-2012 09:25 PM

I'm not sure the PSU is enough. Use some jumper cables from a car battery. Inrush current on a starter can be huge and the PSU wires are quite small. Also, note that the PSU's 350W is spread across the 12 and 5V rails. You can't get 350W from the 12V rails alone, maybe 200 or so tops. The label on the unit will tell you what it can do.

indr 10-07-2012 09:27 PM

Don't have access to a car battery. I'll try it hooked up to the bike's battery tomorrow.

buickid 10-07-2012 09:48 PM

Great :)


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014