ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc) (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Fuel pump wiring - I've got an extra - Why? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=832885)

jconly 10-09-2012 12:27 PM

Fuel pump wiring - I've got an extra - Why?
 
So, I noticed this a while back, but figured I'd ask up.

Looks like my fuel pump has a third terminal that has been taped back out of the way. The bike only has a two terminal connector.

Can anyone tell me what this pump is (can't be stock right?) and what's behind wire #3?


http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8178/8...42211d856e.jpg
IMG_1316 by justin.conly, on Flickr

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8176/8...41e7776c45.jpg
IMG_1314 by justin.conly, on Flickr

jconly 10-11-2012 12:41 PM

Bump, anyone?

jclark83 10-12-2012 06:44 AM

Maybe someone replaced a broken or chafed wire?

RozzyCat 10-12-2012 07:45 AM

Fuel pump connector
 
From the factory - you'll have a three-wire set up on the tank side hooking into two wires. On my 2010 S - Red connects to Black/Blue, Brown connects to Black and Blue doesn't connect to anything. Looks likes maybe previous owner changed to two-wire connector.

jconly 10-12-2012 11:58 AM

Awesome, thank you so much for confirming that.

Vicks 10-12-2012 12:10 PM

I had posted this earlier also in a couple of threads...

The adventure and super duke use the same fuel pumps. Only difference being that the super duke fuel pump has the low fuel sensor built into it and hence has a third wire in the fuel pump harness as well as the main harness side. The adv's have the low fuel sensor separate from the fuel pump unit hence make do with only two wires on the pump side but still have the three wire connector on the main harness side where one of the wires remain un used.

jconly 10-12-2012 12:37 PM

Ah that totally explains it.
Looking at the wiring diagram, every drawing of the pump showed that fuel level sensor and I was a little confused, assuming that's what the third wire was for. Oh the redundancy.

I wonder if they activate at different levels?

Vicks 10-12-2012 09:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jconly (Post 19803780)
Ah that totally explains it.
Looking at the wiring diagram, every drawing of the pump showed that fuel level sensor and I was a little confused, assuming that's what the third wire was for. Oh the redundancy.

I wonder if they activate at different levels?

:rofl


regarding levels, yes they do activate at different levels due to the different mounting location (between Adv and SD tanks). However, due to the volume and shape of tanks, there will be close to same amount of fuel left in both tanks (approx 4 litres ?) when the sensor activates.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014