ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Orange Crush (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   950 SM or Duke 620? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=848184)

RedFrogTango 12-12-2012 10:33 AM

950 SM or Duke 620?

A local BMW dealer has a couple of KTM's for sale that I am considering. I'm looking for a second bike to my K1300S to use mostly around town and weekend riding.

KTM 1) 2006 950 Supermoto with 16k miles and so-so cosmetics - $5000

KTM 2) 1997 Duke 620 with 5k miles and in very good condition - $3500

Both bikes supposedly run well and and are in good mechanical condition. I'm new to KTM and I'm still trying to get up to speed on the differecnces between the models. But as initial matter, I would welcome some input on whether either of these bikes are priced right, or whether there are issues with these models that I should be aware of. In other words, I want to do my homework before I check these bikes out in person.

Thanks, Mike

snowhawk jockey 12-12-2012 12:46 PM

PM me and we can discuss the details of your question.
I have a decade of experience with KTM bikes and can field most questions on them.

For town or travel?

Short answer, get the 950sm and $5000 is a real price. The 320# Duke is a hoot and 620 motor is great to squirt around town on, but the 5 speed single lacks smoothness for open roads and extended rides.

I am biased with a 950sm in the stable!
Some 950sm discussion:
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153375

This thread/post will get moved to oblivion, aka roadwarriors, soon enough.

Chris618 12-12-2012 01:16 PM

I owned an 04 625 smc and now have an 07 950sm. Both fun bikes, but the 950 is more powerful and more comfortable. Less vibration and 6th gear is better for longer rides. In tight twisties under 70mph, the Duke will be in its element. Both are a blast to ride.

wpbarlow 12-12-2012 01:21 PM