ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Garmin gpsmap 478 (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=849091)

Joetool 12-16-2012 03:36 PM

Garmin gpsmap 478
 
Quick question; I have a gps 60csx, but it's hard to see on the bike, and city navigator doesn't really work that well. I have a chance to buy a gpsmap 478 for 200.00. Is that a good deal? Are they still relevant? Anyone still using one of these. Can I load topo's on it...

Joe

mpatch 12-16-2012 06:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joetool (Post 20263726)
Quick question; I have a gps 60csx, but it's hard to see on the bike, and city navigator doesn't really work that well. I have a chance to buy a gpsmap 478 for 200.00. Is that a good deal? Are they still relevant? Anyone still using one of these. Can I load topo's on it...

Joe


thats a smoking deal you can load almost any maps onto it as long as you have a data card

JR356 12-16-2012 06:55 PM

Agree,that's a GREAT deal!
Get any data cards that come with it,they are very spendy!
Also get any and all mapping software,cords etc.

JR356

Mudcat 12-16-2012 08:50 PM

Guys love them :D
Below is a link to a recent thread in Regional/ west on the 276/376/478 series
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=847665<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>

Joetool 12-16-2012 09:46 PM

Well, it has all the cords plus some accessories and city navigator loaded. Anyone know how big of a map I can load? How about the free topo maps; Will they work? I think I'm going to jump on this...
I may know where to get another one, but it's twice as much. And NO, I don't have any stake in the second one...

mpatch 12-16-2012 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joetool (Post 20266127)
Well, it has all the cords plus some accessories and city navigator loaded. Anyone know how big of a map I can load? How about the free topo maps; Will they work? I think I'm going to jump on this...
I may know where to get another one, but it's twice as much. And NO, I don't have any stake in the second one...


you will need a Garmin data card $$$ to load any maps other than whats on the unit I had topo on my 276c and they are useless for riding IMHO. OSM routable is what I use now other than city nav

PFFOG 12-16-2012 10:17 PM

It is a sucky deal, send me the sellers info and I will give him hell for trying to take advantage of you:evil


OK, the 478 is the superman of the 276/376/478 series, it has ONBOARD the detailed street maps of all of N America. 276 owners pay $90 for, then have to spend another $120 for a data card that will only hold about 1/5 of the N America maps. Plus the screen is MUCH brighter at full illumination.

For the same $90 you can get lifetime updates and do NOT need a data card. But the new maps are too large for the entire NA set, but will hold lower 48. So unless you need the latest gas station, hotel or restaurant locations, just keep the maps on it. Lets face it aside from a few round-abouts most streets are in the same place they were 10 or 20 years ago.

Now, if loading anything but the NA detailed maps (city Navigator), you will need a data card, Topo, Europe, or other regions of the world.

If in the market, jump on it!

Joetool 12-16-2012 10:21 PM

Thanks so much everyone, Its a done deal, I should get it next week...

Xeraux 12-17-2012 12:27 PM

I'm still using mine and I still love it.

However, the entire US will not fit on the 478 without using a datacard, now.

PFFOG 12-17-2012 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xeraux (Post 20269527)
I'm still using mine and I still love it.

However, the entire US will not fit on the 478 without using a datacard, now.


Yes, if you update you are correct, if maps are original and up to apprx. 2010, they will.

Xeraux 12-17-2012 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PFFOG (Post 20269759)
Yes, if you update you are correct, if maps are original and up to apprx. 2010, they will.




The roads have changed a little since 2010.:rofl

Mudcat 12-17-2012 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xeraux (Post 20270934)
The roads have changed a little since 2010.:rofl

I always assumed map up dates were largely vender updates. :evil

2000RSV 12-17-2012 05:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Joetool (Post 20266127)
I may know where to get another one, but it's twice as much. And NO, I don't have any stake in the second one...

Even at $400 this is a screaming deal. You stole that at $200.

J

speedracertdi 12-17-2012 05:59 PM

There's a guy selling a 2 gig card in the vendors section. It works! I have one. You can load multiple maps and still have room left over.

Xeraux 12-17-2012 06:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by speedracertdi (Post 20271905)
There's a guy selling a 2 gig card in the vendors section. It works! I have one. You can load multiple maps and still have room left over.

Link?

Never mind. Found it.

Yeah... I have a sneaking suspicion that's a US$35.00 part he's sourcing, charging US$150.00, and letting you do the work.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014