ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Qvick Qvestion on Montana 600 w/ Topo's (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=849560)

LoneStar 12-18-2012 02:20 PM

Qvick Qvestion on Montana 600 w/ Topo's
 
Loving my new 600 :deal

I've uploaded N. A. & Mex NT 2013, as well as Arizona and New Mexico topos from GPS File Depot...

The only way I have been able to view the topos if I "disable" NT 2013 on the unit itself... Is this correct? or is there a way that the topo's can be displayed over the 2013 map?

Since these aren't Garmin made topo maps, I'm guessing this is the only way to view them :ear

bighopper 12-18-2012 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoneStar (Post 20278414)
Loving my new 600 :deal

I've uploaded N. A. & Mex NT 2013, as well as Arizona and New Mexico topos from GPS File Depot...

The only way I have been able to view the topos if I "disable" NT 2013 on the unit itself... Is this correct? or is there a way that the topo's can be displayed over the 2013 map?

Since these aren't Garmin made topo maps, I'm guessing this is the only way to view them :ear

You are correct you can only view the Topo when NT is disabled.....best to disable any other maps installed except World Map. The NT map takes precedence.
Try looking over this site for any info that you might have really great resource.

http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/

Emoto 12-18-2012 02:25 PM

I think that whenever a flavor of City Navigator is enabled, it takes priority and is shown. I think you have to disable it for the topos to be seen, but I await more experienced users than I to say for sure.

LoneStar 12-18-2012 02:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bighopper (Post 20278443)
You are correct you can only view the Topo when NT is disabled.....best to disable any other maps installed except World Map. The NT map takes precedence.
Try looking over this site for any info that you might have really great resource.

http://garminmontanagpsr.wikispaces.com/

Muchos gracias BigHopper! Thanks for the link as well - I have a headache from searching threads here :lol3

Emmbeedee 12-18-2012 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoneStar (Post 20278458)
Muchos gracias BigHopper! Thanks for the link as well - I have a headache from searching threads here :lol3

Check the "Wisdom and FAQ" thread in my sig - I describe how to switch maps quickly through Profiles and Shortcuts. This is the actual post which describes that.

LoneStar 12-18-2012 04:51 PM

Thanks again guys

EmmBeeDee that's a great idea. I read the Wisdom thread but since the 600 is new to me I think a fair amount went over my head :lol3 - plus I'm getting old :deal

Emmbeedee 12-18-2012 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LoneStar (Post 20279510)
Thanks again guys

EmmBeeDee that's a great idea. I read the Wisdom thread but since the 600 is new to me I think a fair amount went over my head :lol3 - plus I'm getting old :deal

Do it in stages - create a few profiles, name them in such a way that you'll know what each has inside, then make each profile into what you want it to be - then later you can create the Shortcuts. This way instead of fumbling around with map settings then trying to set everything back for a different use, you can just change Profile to get the settings you want.

I've had my Montana for about 18 months now so it's very familiar to me, but I can see how it would be intimidating to try to figure it out overnight. That's why I put that thread together. There's less than 20 posts, but I think each has useful information.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014