ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   Layin' down tracks (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   mapsource issue - track not loading to device (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=852493)

bushlawyer 01-01-2013 07:04 PM

mapsource issue - track not loading to device
 
hey guys

tried researching and have learnt alot more about my unit, but still having issues uploading some tracks to my etrex vista hcx.

ive filtered down my tracks to <500 points, there are only 12 tracks (my unit apparently can take up to 20) but after "successfully" sending to device, the tracks simply aren't there. I've been working on this most of this morning and sometimes could get some of the tracks to upload, but not all........

here is my gpx, if anyone has time to take a look and suggest any fixes?

http://www.filedropper.com/joined3

Thanks

Countdown 01-01-2013 09:26 PM

My guess is that your names are too long. Delete all the prefex crap that means nothing from each track. If you exceed name length with identical characters it will just replace the first one with the second one, etc. but you should get the last one. One has to go.

Be specific what you are doing,
Clear all saved tracks (20 now available)
click "download"
get pop up
check "Tracks"
click "send"
Get sucessful note
go to GPS look at track page and wee how many tracks are there

I have GPS class on my web site DualSportWest.com that may help you.

bushlawyer 01-01-2013 09:48 PM

countdown you bloody legend.

that was it, the track names. (that were auto generated, but perhaps by google when i created it.... Still I would have thought if mapsource had issues with name lengths it would let you know rather than just corrupting the tracks......

mate thanks very much you just saved my trip (which i leave for tomorrow).

Countdown 01-01-2013 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bushlawyer (Post 20375442)
countdown you bloody legend.

that was it, the track names. (that were auto generated, but perhaps by google when i created it.... Still I would have thought if mapsource had issues with name lengths it would let you know rather than just corrupting the tracks......

mate thanks very much you just saved my trip (which i leave for tomorrow).

MapSource didn't know, the GPS just cuts off looking after so many characters so it thinks you are just resending the same file since the name is the same as far as it knows.


Have a happy ride bloke!


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014