ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The perfect line and other riding myths (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   How fast do you run on gravel roads ? (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=857316)

Hawk62cj5 01-21-2013 01:55 PM

How fast do you run on gravel roads ?

Im a newb and ride alone so I have nothing to gauge myself on . I spend alot of my time riding /exploring state maintained gravel roads and just wonder how fast do most people run . Ive noticed to me the bike feels good between 30-45 mph , slower or faster the handling feels like it degrades to me. Is this normal ? Im in no hurry when I ride so I doubt I really change but I was curious.

EZ300 01-21-2013 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hawk62cj5 (Post 20542855)
Im a newb and ride alone so I have nothing to gauge myself on . I spend alot of my time riding /exploring state maintained gravel roads and just wonder how fast do most people run . Ive noticed to me the bike feels good between 30-45 mph , slower or faster the handling feels like it degrades to me. Is this normal ? Im in no hurry when I ride so I doubt I really change but I was curious.

Only ever run at what you are comfortable. Pushing your comfort zone can end badly. Push when it's safe and others can't be hurt if you go down.

RxZ 01-21-2013 02:04 PM

I run about 6 MPH. I can go faster, but only for about 10 minutes. :1drink

RxZ 01-21-2013 02:06 PM

Oh wait, are talking motorcycles? I have been offroad on mine once. I hope to not have to again. My bike is a Ninja 500 with its horribly bad shocks. NOT made for gravel. :nah

ADW 01-21-2013 02:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hawk62cj5 (Post 20542855)

I'd agree with you, for my tastes 30-45 is about right on a gravel road. I like to sightsee and that seems to be a happy speed to do it. Fast enough to get somewhere but slow enough to enjoy the ride and not worry about hitting a giant pothole or some other hazard.