ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Garage (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   distribution block (Canyon Chasers) (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=861189)

jesse v 02-06-2013 06:19 AM

distribution block (Canyon Chasers)
 
Hi all,

I've been reading up on this tutorial on CanyonChasers.net to learn how to install a distribution block for electric accessories. (It's worth noting I really don't know much about electronics, but I can solder, attach crimp connectors, change pickups on my guitars, etc.)

I was about to begin my installation, but then realized that my accessories (Tourmaster heated jacket, Stebel Nautilus horn, and [soon] heat grips) have 0-ring connectors designed for battery terminals that are too large for my radio shak distribution block. (The rings don't fit between the black walls.)

The Canyon Chasers tutorial doesn't address this issue. Should I look for a larger distribution block? Or should I cut the ends off my accessories and attach smaller prong connectors?

THanks!
Jesse

JimVonBaden 02-06-2013 06:47 AM

Cut the ends and add new ring connectors of the appropriate size.

Jim :brow

jesse v 02-06-2013 06:54 AM

Thanks Jim. I figured this was the case, but I'm a little intimidated by electronic gizmo-wizardry-black-magic.

jesse v 02-07-2013 02:58 PM

Welp... I hooked everything up today and there's no power coming from the dis. block. The relay makes a "click" sound when I turn the key on, so I assume that my soldering job into the running light is good. Tomorrow I'll check all the other connections.

Rocket Scientist 02-08-2013 11:06 AM

I picked up a 6 fuse distribution block along with an 8 terminal block (for grounds) from Auto Zone. Im cleaning up the wiring (wirenuts & alot of 3 way splices) & putting it behind the headlight on my DR. Ive got a battery pack back-up that Im verifing this weekend. My best guess is that the 12v lead from the stator (old headlight power) needs to go to the switched side of the relay (on) allowing the battery supplied constant 12v to go to my block. That way nothing is backfeeding into the stator feed when the bike is off (not running). Trying to verify all this over the coming weekend.

jesse v 02-22-2013 01:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jesse v (Post 20672807)
Welp... I hooked everything up today and there's no power coming from the dis. block. The relay makes a "click" sound when I turn the key on, so I assume that my soldering job into the running light is good. Tomorrow I'll check all the other connections.




A fellow forumite on the svportal.com pointed out my mistake... I had my jumper positioned incorrectly so that the block was not divided into positive and negative sides, so I blew the fuse every time I turned the key on. got it fixed now; works like a charm! Grip heaters, heated jacket liner, and my stebel horn are all connected to it. My PCIII was installed by the previous owner by being tapped into some other power source and grounded to the battery, so I'm just going to leave that as is.

seniorasi 03-02-2013 02:45 PM

Any chance you can upload some photos?

aussie_king_mick 03-02-2013 05:21 PM

I recommend that you have a look at these three website links:<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /><o:p></o:p>
http://www.cyclenutz.com/Fuzeblock-Fuse-Block-FZ-1_p_92.html<o:p></o:p>
http://www.twistedthrottle.com/powerhub-fuse-block-master-ground-block-and-wiring-harness-for-motorcycles-by-twisted-throttle<o:p></o:p>
http://www.cyclenutz.com/Fuse-Block-and-Relay-Installation_df_49.html<o:p></o:p>
<o:p></o:p>

jesse v 03-09-2013 04:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seniorasi (Post 20849882)
Any chance you can upload some photos?

yes sir:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...pse26cff3f.jpg

The relay tucks nicely behind the battery:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...ps0b45d513.jpg

Symtec Grip Heaters, also a la Canyon Chasers. Tip: Wrap the left side of your handlebar with silicon tape ("Rescue Tape") for best heat transfer, especially if you're using aluminum bars like me:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...ps553b7a75.jpg

jesse v 03-09-2013 04:24 PM

This is the WRONG way that I initially tried to do it:

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f1...ps5825b6a6.jpg

It's seems so obvious now, but this was my first venture into electrical work. I needed to cut the jumper in half, and put the 2 halves "diagonal" from one another.


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014