ADVrider

ADVrider (http://www.advrider.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Garage (http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Aftermarket Bulbs (http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=867417)

brandonmccann 03-02-2013 10:35 PM

Aftermarket Bulbs

So I've been pondering getting some different bulbs for my bike. I live right off a rural highway and I feel that my light is not sufficient enough for the road speed.

In my searches, I've found 2 options.

PIAA Xtreme White Plus H7 Halogen bulbs

PIAA Night Tech H7 Halogen Bulbs

DDM Tuning HID conversion kit.

Now, the HID kit is the cheapest option, and puts out the most light. But to my understanding, since it will be without a projector, the light will be illegal and blind oncoming traffic. Which leads me to the PIAA bulbs, but I've no experience with either so I've turned here!

Opinions?

victor441 03-03-2013 09:19 AM

Many suppliers make "plus" bulbs that are brighter (i.e. Sylvania, Phillips, etc.) and they are available for about $30/pair at Amazon. The good ones really are significantly brighter but that is at the expense of reduced life...worthwhile for me and have them on all my bikes. If your bike does not have headlight relays adding them can make a BIG improvement, many bikes without them drop 2 + volts between the battery and the bulb and that will cut brightness nearly in half. Adding relays is a fairly easy DIY project if you have the tools or you can get a high quality ready made kit at http://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Wi...ring_kits.html

Lee Dodge 03-03-2013 07:39 PM

PIAA is overpriced poor quality junk. Their main product is hype. Don't waste your money.

brandonmccann 03-03-2013 09:27 PM

would it be legal if I went with the HID bulbs? I was planning on 6000k

kantuckid 03-04-2013 05:57 AM

no:D

troidus 03-04-2013 06:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brandonmccann (Post 20859112)