ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-26-2007, 09:52 AM   #1
dlrides OP
1:1.618
 
dlrides's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Newton NC
Oddometer: 5,327
Garmin 2610 package reduced

I noticed that Edge GPS has their 2610's at $199. I ordered one of their packages offered here on ADVrider, and was very satisfied. No affiliation, just passing on the info.


http://www.edgegps.com/eCart/viewIte...?idProduct=263
__________________
"The BSC was strong in that one, had to get out !"
dlrides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,559
Hi,

WOW!
If I didn't aleady have one,plus the Nav II that came with my GS,I'd be all over this deal.

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 04:07 PM   #3
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,811
Fantastic price! I just shipped my dead 2610 back to Garmin where they will exchange it for a refurbished unit for $225.
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 05:52 PM   #4
Railbender
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: NW PA
Oddometer: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadget Boy
Fantastic price! I just shipped my dead 2610 back to Garmin where they will exchange it for a refurbished unit for $225.
I haven't sent my dead 2610 back yet. Justy ordered one of these so I am ahead a few $.
Railbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:01 PM   #5
zed88
n00bilicious
 
zed88's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Pingree grove il nw chicago
Oddometer: 1,297
How would one of these work for a dedicated car system? I'd like to install something like this in my girlfriends car, so she can get around without getting lost, and input address in the car.

It would probably only be used in one state at a time, so I figure I shouldn't need a big SD card.

How are the maps? Is v7 new enough to be useful in cities? It will be used primarily in WI, and IL. The map pack that comes with it has all the POI's and roads for the continental 48 states?

How's the user interface. It can be a little twitchy for the cost, but a newbie can figure it out eventually?

Overall for $200 bucks will it function as a decent car system?

Thanks!
Eric

PS:If its really that good, I may get one for myself. My understanding of the software licensing, is you get 2 unlocks and thats it. So we could both have one?

zed88 screwed with this post 07-02-2007 at 03:07 PM
zed88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 06:33 PM   #6
JTT
Beastly Adventurer
 
JTT's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Halifax, NS
Oddometer: 1,522
Quote:
Originally Posted by zed88
How would one of these work for a dedicated car system? I'd like to install something like this in my girlfriends car, so she can get around without getting lost, and input address in the car.

It would probably only be used in one state at a time, so I figure I shouldn't need a big SD card.

How are the maps? Is v7 new enough to be useful in cities? It will be used primarily in WI, and IL. The map pack that comes with it has all the POI's and roads for the continental 48 states?

How's the user interface. It can be a little twitchy for the cost, but a newbie can figure it out eventually?

Overall for $200 bucks will it function as a decent car system?

Thanks!
Eric

PS:If its really that good, I may get one for myself. My understanding of the software licensing, is you get 2 unlocks and thats it. So we could both have one?
I've been really happy with mine and have used it primarily in the car to this point. Interface is very good and simple to learn. Touch screen adds to the simplicity. It comes with V7 and a free upgrade to V8 with mail-in. Maps not only have all of the US, but Canada and Mexico to boot. Map coverage and accuracy is pretty good and as good as I expected for my area and the very rural areas I commonly travel.

Smokin' deal IMHO.
JTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 10:10 PM   #7
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by zed88
How would one of these work for a dedicated car system? I'd like to install something like this in my girlfriends car, so she can get around without getting lost, and input address in the car.

It would probably only be used in one state at a time, so I figure I shouldn't need a big SD card.

How are the maps? Is v7 new enough to be useful in cities? It will be used primarily in WI, and IL. The map pack that comes with it has all the POI's and roads for the continental 48 states?

How's the user interface. It can be a little twitchy for the cost, but a newbie can figure it out eventually?

Overall for $200 bucks will it function as a decent car system?

Thanks!
Eric

PS:If its really that good, I may get one for myself. My understanding of the software licensing, is you get 2 unlocks and thats it. So we could both have one?
Hi,

It uses a CF card,not SD.I loaded a great majority of the western US on a 512MB card,have the 2 GB card in case I want the whole US.

As of June,reportedly only one unlock allowed.If you are talking about buying two units you will each get software,so you will have enogh unlocks.
Would talk with Garmin about this if you are sharing a computer,don't know if it would allow two of the same software versions on one PC.

Version 7 will still be useful,I still use version 5 on one!

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 05:47 PM   #8
MNGeezer
n00b
 
MNGeezer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: St. Paul, MN
Oddometer: 6
Busted 2610 Case, got one?

I just got back from a trip to Alaska, my first serious adventure tour and my first ever trip with GPS. Somewhere in Saskatchewan the mount on my 2610 broke free from the Garmin bracket and the unit took a 75mph tumble to the asphalt. The unit survived and duct tape kept it mounted to the bike for the rest of the trip. Now that I’m back, duct tape is less convenient. ;-) I’m wondering if anyone has a unit that doesn’t work, but has an intact case, they’d like to get rid of. $225 for the “repair” seems pretty silly when the unit is all but obsolete. (It cost $88 on eBay, originally.)
MNGeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 03:45 AM   #9
Lunatik
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: BELLEVILLE, ONTARIO, CANADA
Oddometer: 361
I ACTUALLY made a LOGICAL CHOICE !! YIPPY

hi fellow AVD's.
I was all set to go buy my new 550 ZUMO...
After having had to replace a buddies Street Pilot lll Colormap that drowned on an East Coast trip last June (that's what I get for borrowing) I noticed the 2610 Price on EBAY as well from EdgeGPS (that's where I got the Street Pilot lll from).

Then I come here, and everyone is ALL OVER IT ...
Having rolled it around in my head for over two weeks now (what do I REALLY NEED, vs. What the ZUMO OFFERS) plus the COST differences (about $500.00) ...
I just ordered TWO 2610's and TWO motorcycle mounts. One for me, one for my girlfriend's DR 650.
Now I'm really smiling ... thanks.

Oh, anyone know about the LOCKING GARMIN mount on the EDGE site? I can still make a switch I'm sure ... Its $50.00 vs. the $35.00 for the normal one. Is it WORTH it? or should I just make due, and then order the Touratech locking mount later?

Ideas ? Pictures maybe please?
Lunatik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 04:24 PM   #10
IVDesertRat
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Oddometer: 11
How does the 2610 compare to the 76Cx? Maybe somebody that has used both of these units could comment. Thanks

My cousin has been wanting one and I just emailed him the deal anyway.
IVDesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 05:24 PM   #11
Xcuvator
Justa Venturer
 
Xcuvator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Skolls Or
Oddometer: 1,355
Edge

Is anyone having trouble getting on the Edge Website. I have been trying for 2 days. When I click on the link I get knocked off AOL.
I have tried other slightly different addresses from google and no can do.
You guys have me pumped to get one but..... @%*&)!^ whatever.
Get Feet Wet Nav. has a similar deal for 209 but I don"t know about the card. S

Oh yea I'm so nOOb I don't know what it means (nOOb).

Xcuvator screwed with this post 07-30-2007 at 05:34 PM
Xcuvator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 05:58 PM   #12
Railbender
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: NW PA
Oddometer: 1,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcuvator
Is anyone having trouble getting on the Edge Website. I have been trying for 2 days. When I click on the link I get knocked off AOL.
I have tried other slightly different addresses from google and no can do.
You guys have me pumped to get one but..... @%*&)!^ whatever.
Get Feet Wet Nav. has a similar deal for 209 but I don"t know about the card. S

Oh yea I'm so nOOb I don't know what it means (nOOb).
This just worked for me;

http://www.edgegps.com/eCart/default.html
Railbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 09:34 PM   #13
blitzkreig
Studly Adventurer
 
blitzkreig's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Oddometer: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcuvator
Is anyone having trouble getting on the Edge Website. I have been trying for 2 days. When I click on the link I get knocked off AOL.
I have tried other slightly different addresses from google and no can do.
You guys have me pumped to get one but..... @%*&)!^ whatever.
Get Feet Wet Nav. has a similar deal for 209 but I don"t know about the card. S

Oh yea I'm so nOOb I don't know what it means (nOOb).
Something on their site didn't play nice with my computer ... kept asking for my proxy ... so I just phoned them and ordered over the phone. Nice people to talk to.

Edge Navigation Services
10190 East Kettledrum Lane
Parker, CO 80138

Toll free: 877-GPS-NAV1 (877-477-6281)
Local: (303) 840-9656

Office/Phone Answering Hours: (Mountain Time)
Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 12:00pm
__________________
My theory is ... in the future everything will double as an iPod Dock.
blitzkreig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 10:58 PM   #14
Xcuvator
Justa Venturer
 
Xcuvator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Skolls Or
Oddometer: 1,355
Edge

Thanks a bunch Blitzkreig, I will give them a call tomorrow.
You are lucky to live in such a neat part of the country.
Xcuvator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2007, 11:55 PM   #15
ISDTBower
Gnarly Adventurer
 
ISDTBower's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Oddometer: 213
76Cx vs 2610

Big difference between the two. I have both.

2610
BIG, Heavy, needs external power, will route, cannot load tracks.
Bigger screen, Landscape, Can use same software as 76cX, Will route with the right software, Has a speaker to prompt route. Not sure what it would do with Topo or Roads&Rec, but I think they would work as normal. 2GB upgradable. I have to use a pencil eraser for touchscreen use. Big fingers/gloves.
I would consider this a 90/10 street bike unit.

76Cx
Smaller screen, portrait. Light for offroad handlebar use. Internal or external power. Can be hand held. Can hold all Garmin Topo. R&R, City Navigator, etc. Will navigate with City Navigator. Prompts are barely audible buzz...no speaker. Will also download and upload tracks! 2GB upgradable. I can use the small buttons with gloves on.
I consider this a 90/10 serious dual sport/ offroad unit. Similar is the 60Cx

Quest
My first unit...thinking it was small and fit my dual sport bike. It has an antenna that can be broken off, it will not upload tracks. It does have internal and external battery. I bought a 76C for the Dual Sport (KTM 450 EXC) and moved the Quest to the Jeep. The Quest routes nicely with the same speaker as the 2610. BUT with both of these you run out of memory for expansive maps. If you put on major miles during one ride you can easily go beyond the downloaded maps.

X memory
This has been the key to me upgrading. More map memory, so I don't have to go back to the desk top computer to keep changing the areas.
Most of the time I run the Quest/2610 with the speaker off, and just notice the GPS messaging.

To me, the 2610 is adventure bike/auto, and the 67CX is dual sport.

Hope this helps. These seem to be the big differences.
ISDTBower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014