ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2009, 09:05 PM   #1
v8dave OP
Wizard
 
v8dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Gold Country California
Oddometer: 165
GPSMAP 640 released--276C et al replacement.

For those who like their 276C/376/378/478 and have been patiently waiting for Garmin's replacement, it's here. Charter plotter GPSMAP 640 will be available first quarter 2009.

Zumo 660 display not big enough, want XM radio and Nexrad weather radar pix as you ride along? Check out the new Garmin GPSMAP 640. It isn't going to be cheap though.
__________________
Dave

If brute force doesn't work, you aren't using enough!

'87 BMW K100
Honda CT90
v8dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 10:17 PM   #2
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,584
Looks nice and pricey, but one glaring detail and a couple other minor ones that would be a deal breaker for me and probably many other adventure riders.

Comparing the 478 to the 620 & 640 version - https://buy.garmin.com/shop/compare....areProduct=402



No saved tracklog capability in Automotive mode? Probably means you can't route an old track either?

The routes cut down from 50 to 10.
Waypoints from 3,000 to 1,000

Atleast it uses an SD card.

They did similar things to the new Zumo 660 also.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R, 01 FZ1,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 06 F650GS, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5: Y2l43o9LVBERU
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 11:19 PM   #3
v8dave OP
Wizard
 
v8dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Gold Country California
Oddometer: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning

. . .

No saved tracklog capability in Automotive mode? Probably means you can't route an old track either?

The routes cut down from 50 to 10.
Waypoints from 3,000 to 1,000

At least it uses an SD card.

They did similar things to the new Zumo 660 also.
Yep, first thing I noticed was the cut in routes. Not good for a cross country multiple day trip planning. I suppose if you can save routes to the SD card you could plan several area groupings (segments) on each card.

Then I saw the no tracks we can hope Garmin will update the SW to correct this downgrade.

Only consolation is, as you note, the Zumo 660 isn't any better and it doesn't have Nexrad capability. A couple of years riding in Arizona and New Mexico avoiding the summer thunder storms made me a believer in wanting to see what weather lies ahead.

I was hoping to upgrade from my 276C to something with Nexrad capability. Except for eliminating the new Zumo 660, it looks like the decision is still not going to be an easy one. The display technology is different between the 276C and the GPSMAP 640 and Zumo 660, I wonder if the GPSMAP 640 is going to be as bright as the old 276C? The Zumo 550s I saw weren't as bright as a 276C. Oh well, maybe there will be some additional discounting on the 378/478 and that'll be the way I'll go?
__________________
Dave

If brute force doesn't work, you aren't using enough!

'87 BMW K100
Honda CT90

v8dave screwed with this post 01-08-2009 at 11:36 PM
v8dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:21 AM   #4
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,695
276C/376/378/478 replacement is exactly what I have been waiting for. New chip set, touch screen, internal antenna, and all the features of the old units.

But wait, they left out my most important feature "Saved Tracks" in land mode. What the hell are these guys thinking?

Wonder what you see with tracks loaded and in water mode but over land?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 02:24 AM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown
Wonder what you see with tracks loaded and in water mode but over land?
Yep - I wondered the same thing. You can bet though that the Marine routes are just point to point - so that would suck.

I like having my tracks available even when I'm autorouting. I just don't get it.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 08:51 AM   #6
Gerg
Cupcake
 
Gerg's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Location: Left Coast
Oddometer: 8,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Yep - I wondered the same thing. You can bet though that the Marine routes are just point to point - so that would suck.

I like having my tracks available even when I'm autorouting. I just don't get it.
I wouldn't think so. Marine tracks would have to be bread crum style otherwise you're on the rocks or a sandbar trying to get back to where you came from. I don't think Garmin would do that to Boaters.
__________________
Greg
OFFICIAL WARPED BEER MEISTER

BOOF 160, AMA, RA, MOA, HOG
Live life like you stole it!
Your $5 off SMUGMUG Coupon is
hESgLtqESqM1Q

Gerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 07:13 PM   #7
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave
Yep - I wondered the same thing. You can bet though that the Marine routes are just point to point - so that would suck.

I like having my tracks available even when I'm autorouting. I just don't get it.
Dave, I am just talking about the plain old "20 saved tracks" that they advertise. Very few dirt riders use track back, they just look at them on the map page. If the Marine map just shows water, docks, and other water service and is just blank on land, my guess it that they did not put in a filter to make sure any saved tracks don't go ashore and that they would just show over a blank map just like any hand held with only base map showing.

That is a problem when you can't see intersections to know exactly which way to turn. I just found this out when I took off on a 4-day trip in eastern Nevada and forgot I didn't have R&R loaded for most of it.

All that said I am not about to spend $1200 for something that may half ass work when a few lines of code would fix the problem.

Any good hackers out there that could reverse engineer their firmware?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 10:45 AM   #8
Gros Buck
Beef = Packed Vegetables
 
Gros Buck's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Oddometer: 847
Well,

Microsoft have taught Garmin how to make a bloated product nobody wants with features nobody wants and forgot to put features everybody wants, at a price nobody is willing to pay ...

640 and 660 = Vista i.e. crap !!!

Paul Jr
__________________
KTM690r 2011
Gros Buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:13 AM   #9
Beemermcr
Big, Dumb, Happy!
 
Beemermcr's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2002
Location: Sandy, UT
Oddometer: 293
LD Rider list comments say this unit only has Nexrad in Marine mode, Traffic in Auto mode - no good for weather on land. Ditto the comments on reduced functionality!
Paul
__________________
Paul Baird
Sandy, UT
2013 Husky/BMW/KTM Terra
2000 DRZ "Burro"
Beemermcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:20 AM   #10
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 12,556
Nice big screen, and the zumo/nuvi interface that I don't like.

New antenna is good, SD memory card is not so important now that the units come preloaded (both the 478 & 640) with CN.

I'm glad it's out as prices on 276/37x/478 will be coming down. 478 already now listed on Garmin's site at 799$.

If the 620/640 loses much of the customization that the 478 is capable of, it'll be a shame.


EDIT: Wow, just checked Amazon, the 478 is going for less than 600$ now. Before Xmas they were selling at 650-700 typically.
__________________
A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.

You can be Han Solo, and I can be another Han Solo...

Boon Booni screwed with this post 01-10-2009 at 11:32 AM
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:21 PM   #11
RL Lemke
Beastly Adventurer
 
RL Lemke's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas
Oddometer: 1,421
Is the new Garmin GPSMap 640 the answer?

Maybe the new ultimate motorcycle GPS is the new Garmin GPSMap 640. Garmin's site says it is: "Automotive/motorcycle-friendly: yes"

Great screen, waterproof, XMWX ready, ....

What's missing is a Touratech mount.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=148&pID=14898
__________________
RL Lemke
Dallas, Texas
RL Lemke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 12:27 PM   #12
Jeff@TheQuadShop
TAT survivor
 
Jeff@TheQuadShop's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Location: Crestwood, Kentucky
Oddometer: 4,464
It is not as good as the 276c, 376c and 478. There is already a big discussion on this. http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=421999
__________________
1998 RMX 250 singletrack bike
96 XR600 adventure bike
KY state Vet A offroad champion
TAT and TWVT survivor
Jeff@TheQuadShop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 02:05 PM   #13
Ozz
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Monterrey
Oddometer: 404
According to the specs, it will not save tracks while in "automotive" (land) mode. TALK ABOUT A STEP BACK!

Now, does this mean that it will not save tracks in its internal memory nor on an SD card...I don't know. Does anybody know?

What about uploading TRACKS (not routes)? Can it do that? Anyone?
Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 02:17 PM   #14
Steve W
Old Grouch
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Rocky Mountains of Alberta
Oddometer: 583
Until they hit the street it's anyone's guess, but based on the spec sheet, my 478 is still the better unit for my needs.
__________________
SW
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 02:13 AM   #15
GodSilla
I did that.
 
GodSilla's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Village Idiot's residence
Oddometer: 7,014
"Is the new Garmin GPSMap 640 the answer?"

What was the question?
GodSilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014