User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-18-2009, 04:23 PM   #1
wolvertone OP
Save a mile-Kill a metre!

Oddometer: 171
Louisiana to Colorado - a 9 day trip

Let me start off by saying I've been reading trip reports for a couple of years and I've gone on trips and haven't posted an RR. This will be my first. I've decided to share my personal experiences as well, as I enjoy reading the RR's that have the same content. If this makes you squeamish, then skip those parts.

1966 Chang Jiang 750 M1M
1977 Harley Ironhead
1979 BMW R100RT
1990 BMW K100LT (parting out)
1996 Beta Techno
1999 Kawasaki KLR 650
wolvertone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 04:30 PM   #2
wolvertone OP

Tuesday, June 16. Three days to departure...

In three days I'll be leaving for a 9 day trip I've been anticipating for 9 months. It was conceived and now coming to birth.

And I don't want to go.

This week I've crossed the line in a personal way and the thought of leaving my life in a mess only to come back to who knows what, is scary.

We will be traveling approx. 3500 miles, round trip. Maybe in that time I'll discover myself and what makes me the way I am. Maybe. When I come full circle and arrive home again, will it serve as a metaphor for my life in general? Making big mistakes in life and hurting those around me only to do it again seems to be my lot in life.

I don't want to go, and I don't want to stay. I'm hoping by going in a counter clockwise direction, things done back home will be undone. I know they won't.

Why do we take these journeys? What are we looking for? If we knew, would we find it? Is it out there?

I'm going. My riding buddy is expecting me to. I've made commitments. I will go.

Trip planner next post....

1966 Chang Jiang 750 M1M
1977 Harley Ironhead
1979 BMW R100RT
1996 Beta Techno
1999 Kawasaki KLR 650
Old 06-18-2009, 04:36 PM   #3
wolvertone OP

The trip.