ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2009, 12:06 PM   #1
bwallca OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 120
Position Marker Question

I was out exploring a bit off road yesterday and zoomed in and out a few times. After that my position marker seemed to have a mind of it's own, before it was always up but then it was sideways or down, very confusing. It was also off the screen at times. I do have 'track up' selected. This is on a GPSMAP76CSx. So what's up with that and if it does that again how do I get back to normal.
Thanks, Ben
bwallca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 01:53 PM   #2
Howard70
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: New Mexico
Oddometer: 107
Hello Ben:

It sounds like you might have "panned" away from the current position when you were zooming in and back out. I've had that happen with other Garmin GPS units (I don't have a 76). Usually a couple of hits on the "quit" or "back" buttons (depends which your unit has) solves the problem, and your map centers on the current position again.

Howard

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwallca
I was out exploring a bit off road yesterday and zoomed in and out a few times. After that my position marker seemed to have a mind of it's own, before it was always up but then it was sideways or down, very confusing. It was also off the screen at times. I do have 'track up' selected. This is on a GPSMAP76CSx. So what's up with that and if it does that again how do I get back to normal.
Thanks, Ben
Howard70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 01:57 PM   #3
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,623
Try hitting the Quit button next time. That usually fixes display problems.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:14 PM   #4
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 17,884
Could be compass heading too. My 60csx tends to "walk" a bit when it's still. If it detects motion in a certain direction, the bearing pointer shifts to that direction.

Use of the electronic compass is suggested if available.

But... just start moving and the heading should correct itself.
SnowMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 12:25 PM   #5
bwallca OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 120
Moving does not solve the problem. I'll try hitting the quit button next time.
Thanks for the suggestions.
Ben
bwallca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 03:17 PM   #6
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwallca
zoomed in and out a few times. After that my position marker seemed to have a mind of it's own, before it was always up but then it was sideways or down, very confusing. It was also off the screen at times. I do have 'track up' selected. , Ben
Ben two issues; Track Up also has a setting for "below" you zoom out far enough it it switches to North up.

Sounds more like you hit the rocker switch to "scroll" but you should have also noticed a white curser arrow and a new pop up with a heading, position, and distance.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 03:49 PM   #7
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,659
Yeah, that's what I was thinking too...

Ben, what value is set in the block labeled "below" under the "orientation" block under "map setup"?

Not sure this could explain all of your issues though
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 10:37 AM   #8
bwallca OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Oddometer: 120
The "below" value is set to 200km, I think that is OK.
Ben
bwallca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 10:40 AM   #9
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,659
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwallca
The "below" value is set to 200km, I think that is OK.
Ben
Mine is the same (120 miles). I've never experienced the problem you had (that I know of) though.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014