ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2009, 04:14 PM   #1
Beemerhead OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: New Haven, CT
Oddometer: 107
MAD Maps for Garmin on TomTom

MAD Maps sells scenic routes for Garmin devices sold on Garmin website: http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/us/scenicroutes
It appears that you need to have a compatible and registered Garmin device in order to purchase and download them.
I've got a TomTom Rider2 and was wondering if there is any way to convert those routes to .itn format for TomTom. Has anyone done that?
Beemerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 04:28 PM   #2
nharrisn
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Oddometer: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riderdoc
was wondering if there is any way to convert those routes to .itn format for TomTom. Has anyone done that?
Will this do it? http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&langpair=fr|en&u=http://benichougps.blogspot.com/
nharrisn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
EZGlider
Seeker
 
EZGlider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: California Gold Country
Oddometer: 150
.itn File problems...

Unfortunately, the Google to TomTom conversion (or any other for TomTom) only works for 13 movements,


or way points. So, if you have more than 13 turns, you will have to create multiple conversions and switch
maps/routes on the fly. Sucks, I know...
__________________
Persevero, tolero, prospicio.
EZGlider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 06:17 PM   #4
Beemerhead OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: New Haven, CT
Oddometer: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by EZGlider
Unfortunately, the Google to TomTom conversion (or any other for TomTom) only works for 13 movements,


or way points. So, if you have more than 13 turns, you will have to create multiple conversions and switch
maps/routes on the fly. Sucks, I know...
Really? I didn't realize this- I use this web tool all the time and never counted the number of waypoints on Google maps I put before converting.
http://www.houghi.org/tomtom/
Beemerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:18 PM   #5
EZGlider
Seeker
 
EZGlider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: California Gold Country
Oddometer: 150
That's the one I use, too.
__________________
Persevero, tolero, prospicio.
EZGlider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:25 PM   #6
Beemerhead OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: New Haven, CT
Oddometer: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by EZGlider
That's the one I use, too.
How many waypoints would Garmin support if converting?
Beemerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 06:16 PM   #7
Beemerhead OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: New Haven, CT
Oddometer: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by nharrisn
Will this do it? http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&langpair=fr|en&u=http://benichougps.blogspot.com/
Thanks, I'll have to try this. Now the problem is that I couldn't get any of those maps when I tried- you need to download them directly onto your Garmin device using Garmin's browser plugin- so it's a no go for me.
If anyone could spare one of their downloaded MAD maps for such experiment I'd appreciate it.
Beemerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014