ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS Tracks - Oz and Kiwi Land
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 09:02 PM   #1
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
How to plug a GPS without battery?

Hi there

I'm hoping that somewhere out there is a clever electrician that will be able to give me a cheap advice.

I've got a TTR600 without baterry so, how could I plug my GPS without spend a fortune?????

Thanx in advance

Adios
Nanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:24 PM   #2
slabbie
Adventurer
 
slabbie's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Fremantle Western Australia
Oddometer: 26
For short trips, go buy a small (10-14Amp hour) 12volt sealed gel battery, mount it safely to the bike and power the gps from that, then re-charge it when you get home. On longer runs, install a small solar panel on the bike, like those small pluging to the car gig plug and keep your battery charged.
If there's an alternator on the bike for lights, it might be possible to connect to that and charge the battery that way.
slabbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:35 PM   #3
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 6,417
I assume the bike has lights?

The lights may be running off an AC only winding off the stator.

If that is the case, I would get a bridge rectifier and a 12 regulator to first covert the AC into DC and then ensure that your voltage is stable.
A couple of capacitors wouldn't go astray either.
Esay and cheap. ($5, maybe 10)

If the lights run off DC then all you will need is a regulator.

Job done

If the GPS has its own battery then you won't need another one.
Just the above.
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:37 AM   #4
DMME
Old Fart, Older Bike
 
DMME's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Newcastle NSW, ('STRAYIA)
Oddometer: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilaction
I assume the bike has lights?

The lights may be running off an AC only winding off the stator.

If that is the case, I would get a bridge rectifier and a 12 regulator to first covert the AC into DC and then ensure that your voltage is stable.
A couple of capacitors wouldn't go astray either.
Esay and cheap. ($5, maybe 10)

If the lights run off DC then all you will need is a regulator.

Job done

If the GPS has its own battery then you won't need another one.
Just the above.
YEP, what ^ said but the capacitors ar a MUST, Vregs tend to oscillate without some. 10uF on input side 1000uf on output should cover Ya
DMME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:45 AM   #5
Nanin OP
Halfozze
 
Nanin's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe / Banora Point-NSW-Australia
Oddometer: 321
Thanx mates but all that sounds Japanese to me
Nanin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:29 AM   #6
neilaction
Slightly Less Adventurous
 
neilaction's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Perth, WA.
Oddometer: 6,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanin
Thanx mates but all that sounds Japanese to me
mmmm If you were a bit closer I'd say, drop round and we will knock it over in under an hour. Probably got everything on hand.

But you're not and you will need a little knowledge to build a small 12v rectifier/ regulator.

Do you have access to some basic tools like a soldering iron and a multimeter?
__________________
If it can't be fixed with a hammer, its probably electrical.
2009 Honda CBF1000, 1980 Suzuki GS1000ST (Aus spec), Dr6fiddy,
neilaction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 11:47 AM   #7
mt21
Adventurer
 
mt21's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 49
DC power ?

Hi, I need to be able to power my head-light,
which is a LED and only run's on DC power.

Does anyone know were i can take DC power from this bike TTR600 ????


Please help

Regards MT
mt21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 04:25 AM   #8
Rucksta
Chronic Noob
 
Rucksta's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Oddometer: 2,588
Take a trip to Jaycar and buy a suitable AC charger.
Open the box and bypass the transformer section with a couple of shunts so the AC supply feeds directly to rectifier section of the power supply.
Remove the transformer if you want to save a ffew more grams.
Cut the AC plug off and attach to alternator output.

For higher output like LED headlights you may need to look at beefier rectifier bridges. There is likely a Kit with high enough capacity diodes to handle the current draw.
__________________
My bike is slow but the earth is patient.
Rucksta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014