Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-10-2009, 06:46 PM   #1
65 Flathead OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 102
$35.00 Heated Jacket Liner , $10.00 more for Gloves(DIY)

NOTE: I have postd the Heated Glove build on page 4 of this thread.

(Original)
Ok, so I had my finger on the button last weekend, the “Confirm Order” button. I had decided on a Gerbings heated jacket liner and T5 gloves. I had to look at the competitors one more time, then read a few more reviews, and, well you know the story. 5 hundred bucks ain’t no chump change to me! Well, I studied it so much that I realized, hell, I can build all of that! So here goes…

I found this wire on an ADV Rider post. It’s .30 AWG with a high temp silicon coating. They call it “hook-up wire” (Hook a brother UP). I found it here http://www.mouser.com/Wire-Cable/Wir...=83000&FS=True It’s made by Belden, PN 83000-???.
??? represents color.
I ordered a 100 foot roll for 25 bucks, plus 6 something for shipping. Living here in Bum Stuck Central Louisiana, there’s not a lot of outlets for this type of thing. I went to Wally world and bought a nylon workout jacket. Really thin, and with a mesh liner, Perfect! The wire came in yesterday so with torrential downpours not making my scheduled ride out west look too appealing, I went to work.

I started everything in the right corner. I meant to start in the left corner, but I got dyslexic when I turned everything inside out.