ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Beasts
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 04:49 PM   #1
SuperCruise OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
XT1200Z Super Tenere Rostra Cruise Control Project

I have recently ramped up my efforts to install a Rostra electronic cruise control unit on my S10 and thought some of you may be interested in my progress.

So far I have acertained that, although fly-by-wire in its final implementation, the throttle assembly should be able to accommodate the attachment of the cruise control cable where the throttle cables terminate. I'll need to physically inspect the throttle assembly and its clearance with surrounding components, but the following diagram from the repair manual looks promising.



I've also poured over the wiring diagram and have managed to locate every required connection except for a tacho signal. As mentioned in another thread, I don't consider this a major issue as by using the NSS wire there are sufficient other ways to disable the cruise control namely:
  • cruise control power off
  • rear brake on
  • front brake on
  • clutch in
  • neutral gear
  • sidestand down
I've also had to include a relay for the brake signal as the LED brake lights on this bike will not provide the path to earth that the cruise control needs to see to operate correctly. The following is the current draft of the circuit diagram I am developing. Let me know if it looks as though I have messed anything up or have missed something major.



With regards to finding somewhere to mount the cruise control servo, unfortunately the S10 doesn't have the space in the left fairing area to mount it where it fit nicely in my Wee Strom so I'll have to look elsewhere. This weekend I will open the guts of the bike up and look for suitable mounting locations and cable run routes.
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 05:08 PM   #2
simmons1
Beastly Adventurer
 
simmons1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Out Riding
Oddometer: 1,200
__________________
Goldwing, Super Tenere, WR250R, ST1300, KLR, GS1000s, GT750, H2 750, H1 500
simmons1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 05:36 PM   #3
R3B
Lazy Motorcyclist
 
R3B's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Het Heuvelland aka: The Dutch Mountains
Oddometer: 1,279
Here you have a photo of the actual throttle bodies and their placement;

__________________
Every Adventure big or small
................*is* an Adventure all in all.
.........................So every day: Give in to the call

Riding tips: . -----www.LazyMotorbike.eu-----
R3B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 05:53 PM   #4
SuperCruise OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by R3B
Here you have a photo of the actual throttle bodies and their placement;

Thank you muchly. From your picture, it looks like plenty of space on the left there to run and attach the cruise control cable.
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:58 AM   #5
Gandalf17
n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Oddometer: 8
Gandalf17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:02 AM   #6
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,231
SuperCruise have you talked to your fellow aussies at www.mccruise.com? They do excellent plug and play electronic cruise for a range of bikes.. maybe they have something in the works for the S10.

__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 05:09 AM   #7
SuperCruise OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadget Boy
SuperCruise have you talked to your fellow aussies at www.mccruise.com? They do excellent plug and play electronic cruise for a range of bikes.. maybe they have something in the works for the S10.

Thanks but I've checked them out in the past and they lost me with their CC solutions approaching A$1000 and you still have to install them yourself or get someone to install them on top of that cost. I reckon my implementation will cost A$300 max if it works, just like with the V-Strom home-grown solution. If I am successful, maybe they'll contact me for some sort of business arrangement.
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style

SuperCruise screwed with this post 09-24-2010 at 05:15 AM
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 07:39 AM   #8
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,231
I'll be following your thread closely

__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 07:17 PM   #9
SuperCruise OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SuperCruise's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Oddometer: 329
Alrighty, today is surgery day for my S10's cruise control operation. First up is finding a place to locate the cruise control unit. I did find what seems to be a nice spot for it underneath the fuel tank as shown here:



Here's what it looks like when I jimmy the cruise control unit in there:





It's a fairly snug fit, but with the tank down and the air filter box back on there is adequate clearance for the fuel pump and its attachments to hang down where they need to without obstruction and the radiator hose is a good 1cm from it. The cruise control unit also sits in an upright direction, as it is supposed to, but angled nicely for its wiring loom and control cable to run up alongside the right hand side of the airbox for looping around to the left where the throttle cable is connected. It's hard to take a picture with the tank down, but here's one I took from the right hand side to show clearance when closed:



This only issue I can see with this location is that it takes some of the airspace around the alternator (first pic, bottom-left, silver thingy) but I still reckon it's got enough space left for cooling purposes. I'm going to have a look at whether under the seat is another location possibility but I don't think I'll be able to mount the cruise control unit near vertical as it is supposed to be mounted. In the meantime, can anyone see any major flaws with using the location I have just identified?
__________________
XT1200Z Super Ténéré 2010

Around Australia, Super Tenere Style
SuperCruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 12:07 AM   #10
Bargenator
Bargenator
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 168
Supercruise, I'm looking for the speedo signal wire from the ECU to fit a speedo healer, do you know which one it is, it would be much appreciated.

Cheers
__________________
YAMAHA XT1200Z
IT'S NOT THE BIKE YOU ARE RIDING, AS LONG AS YOU'RE RIDING A BIKE.
Bargenator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 10:39 PM   #11
Bargenator
Bargenator
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 168
Found it, stop looking.
__________________
YAMAHA XT1200Z
IT'S NOT THE BIKE YOU ARE RIDING, AS LONG AS YOU'RE RIDING A BIKE.
Bargenator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:51 AM   #12
llamapacker
Mr. Conservative
 
llamapacker's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Doyline, Louisiana
Oddometer: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bargenator View Post
Found it, stop looking.
I would be interested where/what it is? Blue?
__________________
14 KTM Adventure
13 HyperStrada (For Sale)
llamapacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 06:16 AM   #13
Bargenator
Bargenator
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Western Australia
Oddometer: 168
Your right, it is blue and it runs from the ABS to the ECU, if your fitting a speedo healer this is the signal wire you splice into, pick up power from any ignition activated power source, and run the ground wire, well, to ground.

You do not disrupt the ABS or the TC using this wire as it is up stream from the ABS module.
__________________
YAMAHA XT1200Z
IT'S NOT THE BIKE YOU ARE RIDING, AS LONG AS YOU'RE RIDING A BIKE.
Bargenator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 02:49 PM   #14
llamapacker
Mr. Conservative
 
llamapacker's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Doyline, Louisiana
Oddometer: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bargenator View Post
Your right, it is blue and it runs from the ABS to the ECU, if your fitting a speedo healer this is the signal wire you splice into, pick up power from any ignition activated power source, and run the ground wire, well, to ground.

You do not disrupt the ABS or the TC using this wire as it is up stream from the ABS module.
Good job, thanks.
__________________
14 KTM Adventure
13 HyperStrada (For Sale)
llamapacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014