User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-14-2011, 09:53 PM   #1
lostNfound OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 68
Niagara Falls-> Allegany-> Elk State Forest->Niagara on an SS

I've been lurking advrider for a while its time now to contribute my first ride report here.

A little bit about myself: I've been riding for 5 years. I've owned a ninja250, cbr125 and now own a CBR600RR. This past year I've caught the touring bug and I've been doing a lot of long day trips. One of them being Allegany/Elk State Forest. I took this trip back in the fall but decided I want to share my experiences with friends and family so I created a blog.

This happened to be my second trip to Pennsylvania, my last one being a week prior to this one. It’s October and relatively cold. To put a number to it, it was 4 degrees Celcius when I left my house at 8am in the morning. Luckily for me, it would warm up to 10 degrees in the afternoon. When you factor in the windchill when you’re moving, you’re lucky to get something feeling above 0. So why take this trip in such cold weather? Well, it was a Wednesday and I had Wednesdays off school and riding season was coming to an end soon so I had to make the best of what remained.

Took the bike out of the garage, started it up and I was on my way. I packed pretty light today since it was only going to be a day trip. A backpack with water, hoodie, and basic tools is what I brought with me. Since I pretty much live on the border at Niagara Falls, it only took me 5 minutes to get to US side. I pulled up to the booth, kickstand down, helmet off.

“Where are you heading to?”

“How long are you going to be in the states?”

“What are you bringing through?”

Standard questions were asked and no more than 5 minutes later, I was through. I already had a pre-determined route loaded into my Garmin Nuvi 550 GPS so I was at its mercy. To give you an idea of the route I took, I’ll give you guys the map.

Close-up: