ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 19 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 05:24 AM   #1
sonic578 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: SE Florida
Oddometer: 726
tranferring google maps route into garmin?

I'm turning to the experts here since my attempts to figure this out have fallen short (more than once). How can I transfer a ROUTE in Google Maps into my Garmin 2610, or any model for that matter?

Let's assume that autorouting in GM may not yield the same route as Garmin Mapsource (or Road Trip, which is what I use on a Mac), so it is more complicated than just using the same endpoints. Let's also assume that the GM route was created by a series of drag/edit steps.

I suppose bi-directional transfers are of interest also, but mostly it comes down to having a route in Google Maps and wanting to ride it.

Many thanks in advance!
__________________
Dave
'11 GS
sonic578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:04 AM   #2
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,489
Here is a short video on how to transfer Google Maps to a Garmin Gps. Linked because it auto plays.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_p1x-fL2zc

Also see: http://my.garmin.com/locate/google-sendtoGPSHelp.htm

The following tutorial is easy. Just save the file as a .gpx file. If you for some reason want in .gdb format open the converted file in MapSource and do a "save as" .gdb file.

  • Create a new Map in Google Maps. For this, click on My Maps:
  • Then click on “Create new map”. Put a suitable name to your map:
  • Now you can add placemarks, either by searching for them, or by right clicking and selecting “Add a placemark” anywhere in the map. The added placemarks for the map will show up on the left side:
  • After all the placemarks/waypointshave been added, get the link for your saved map. You can get the link from the top right corner:
  • Then go to http://www.takitwithme.com/ and insert the Google Map link into the textbox. Click “Load MyMap” and TakeItWithMe will load all the placemarks from your Google Map.
  • Click on the Download GPX button, and you should be able to save all the Google Placemarks as a .gpx file. This .gpx file can be converted into different GPS formats. In our case, we need to convert it to a .gpx format.
  • For Windows users, you can use the POI Loader directly to load the GPX file into your Garmin GPS. Or, you can save the file to your desktop and drag it into the right pane of MapSource.
  • For Linux users, the GPX file needs to be converted into GPI format, and manually loaded. For this, use gpsbabel.

TRZ Charlie screwed with this post 04-04-2011 at 03:18 PM
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:15 AM   #3
Advdave
Toolbox Adventurer
 
Advdave's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Anacortes, WA
Oddometer: 374
That will transfer an address, but can you transfer a ROUTE from Google Maps to the GPS? Trying what's on the video link, only the destination address is moved to the GPS.
__________________
Toolboxes for Adventure
www.advgear.net
Advdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:52 AM   #4
TRZ Charlie
That's MR. Asshole
 
TRZ Charlie's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Oddometer: 14,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advdave View Post
That will transfer an address, but can you transfer a ROUTE from Google Maps to the GPS? Trying what's on the video link, only the destination address is moved to the GPS.
Yes,it will do that. Try the tutorial. Or as CRAFTYCODER said use his website it works beautifully. I have 6 or 7 maps stored for sharing there.
TRZ Charlie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:15 AM   #5
Jamie Z
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jamie Z's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: almost Memphis
Oddometer: 7,668
This question gets brought up so often it should be a sticky.

http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/

If you post a link to your route, I can show you how it works.

Jamie
__________________
I'm the Tent Space Guy Sign up to host fellow travelers here.

Budget Travel the Jamie Z Way
Jamie Z is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:00 PM   #6
sonic578 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: SE Florida
Oddometer: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamie Z View Post
This question gets brought up so often it should be a sticky.

http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/

If you post a link to your route, I can show you how it works.

Jamie
It's a deal... link to route here

Is it ok that i 'borrowed' that route from here?
__________________
Dave
'11 GS
sonic578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 12:51 PM   #7
Charrito
Adventurer
 
Charrito's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
Here is a short video on how to transfer Google Maps to a Garmin Gps. Linked because it auto plays.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_p1x-fL2zc

Also see: http://my.garmin.com/locate/google-sendtoGPSHelp.htm

The following tutorial is easy. Just save the file as a .gpx file. If you for some reason want in .gdb format open the converted file in MapSource and do a "save as" .gdb file.

  • Create a new Map in Google Maps. For this, click on My Maps:
  • Then click on “Create new map”. Put a suitable name to your map:
  • Now you can add placemarks, either by searching for them, or by right clicking and selecting “Add a placemark” anywhere in the map. The added placemarks for the map will show up on the left side:
  • After all the placemarks/waypointshave been added, get the link for your saved map. You can get the link from the top right corner:
  • Then go to http://www.takitwithme.com/ and insert the Google Map link into the textbox. Click “Load MyMap” and TakeItWithMe will load all the placemarks from your Google Map.
  • Click on the Download GPX button, and you should be able to save all the Google Placemarks as a .gpx file. This .gpx file can be converted into different GPS formats. In our case, we need to convert it to a .gpx format.
  • For Windows users, you can use the POI Loader directly to load the GPX file into your Garmin GPS. Or, you can save the file to your desktop and drag it into the right pane of MapSource.
  • For Linux users, the GPX file needs to be converted into GPI format, and manually loaded. For this, use gpsbabel.
Charrito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:41 AM   #8
KaytM
Just a fella.
 
KaytM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Oddometer: 202
I don't know how to put a youtube window up here??
Here's the link though...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPvV_c1M8yc
__________________
2006.5 990 ADVENTURE.
KaytM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:20 AM   #9
craftycoder
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,210
If you use dualsportmaps.com to draw your map, then it will turn it into a GPX file for you. That makes doing the transfer easy enough I think. If you make updates in mapsource, you can upload the GPX file back into dualsportmaps. I designed the drawing tools to suit the way I like to draw maps on google though. It takes a little getting used to. For example, it you want to draw a track that follows a road, you draw a line from the start point to the end point, then you add all the points you think are needed and then tell it to snap the line to the road. I found that the constant snapping caused a lot of unnecessary sluggishness. Plus for long maps with a lot of edits google would just cut me off which was annoying as well.

Instruction video
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2011, 08:24 AM   #10
aschendel
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: MSP
Oddometer: 12
Thread revival time, hope that's ok.

I did Google Maps to KML (saved your linked map to my maps then gmaps gives a link to the KML), downloaded that then ran that file through GPS Visualizer to get to a GPX file, then opened that in Mapsource, seems to have perfect tracks. I did delete the end point to start with, although if the duplicated point causes trouble you should be able to make an end-point right next to your start point that was just a tiny bit different. Anyhow, once you get to GPX tracks you should be able to use GPS Babel or the WinGDB tool to move from tracks to routes, right?

Hope this helps,

Andy
Attached Images
 
aschendel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:18 PM   #11
BAMF
B.A.M.F. -acronym
 
BAMF's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: Denver Co
Oddometer: 51
i know this is an old post, but my problem is that google maps is way more updated than my mapsource program. So I can select back roads on Gmaps and then when I send them to mapsource those dirt roads are not there.
__________________
2011 Kawa Versys
1997 KLR 650
sure beats the shiz out of trying to start the old 82 XJ650 every morning with heat lamps and starter fluid
www.carbonmade.nealjordan.com
BAMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:16 AM   #12
willys
Beastly Adventurer
 
willys's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 2,904
I just found this site dualsportmaps.com and it's not too bad for an old fart stuck in the 50's to understand....I have managed to save a track across Canada to Dawson City as a first attempt.....
The only thing is, with the million or two track points to get it to follow the roads etc, will this overload my GPS nuvi 550? Will I need to make much smaller tracks and then save them in order 1 to 10 as and example for the GPS to handle it? My brain has just about handled all it can for now.....I smell smoke....but any and all help would be greatly appreciated. I also semi understand I still need to buy a Mapsource program though correct? That is to get that track into a GPS file or is it GPX...?

Thanks guys.
__________________
willys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 09:27 AM   #13
craftycoder
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by willys View Post
I just found this site dualsportmaps.com and it's not too bad for an old fart stuck in the 50's to understand....I have managed to save a track across Canada to Dawson City as a first attempt.....
The only thing is, with the million or two track points to get it to follow the roads etc, will this overload my GPS nuvi 550? Will I need to make much smaller tracks and then save them in order 1 to 10 as and example for the GPS to handle it? My brain has just about handled all it can for now.....I smell smoke....but any and all help would be greatly appreciated. I also semi understand I still need to buy a Mapsource program though correct? That is to get that track into a GPS file or is it GPX...?

Thanks guys.
MapSource was end of lifed I believe. The Garmin website only offers BaseCamp now, which I don't love, but I didn't love MapSource either which I why I made dualsportmaps.com in the first place.

If you are really wanting to use your Garmin, go to the modify tracks page, click on the track's little colored square in the list box on the left. A popup will open that allows you to change its color and make it a "route". Make it a route (by checking the Is Route box), and then export that GPX and open it in MapSource and "recalculate it" (I assume BaseCamp can do this as well). That should get you a little closer to what you are after. I found the Garmin devices just too annoying to use for offroad stuff ultimately and created my own Android navigation software (which shares its name with the website). It has no problems with long detailed tracks. If you are wanting to do any off road navigation your Garmin will let you down. In that case I'd definitely suggest you find something else (like mine which was designed specifically for off road use). The Garmin is good for road travel though.
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:13 PM   #14
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by craftycoder View Post
. I found the Garmin devices just too annoying to use for offroad stuff ultimately and created my own Android navigation software (which shares its name with the website). It has no problems with long detailed tracks. If you are wanting to do any off road navigation your Garmin will let you down. In that case I'd definitely suggest you find something else (like mine which was designed specifically for off road use). The Garmin is good for road travel though.
Just curious - what is your specific issue with Garmins? Limited number of track points?
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:41 PM   #15
craftycoder
Motobrain PDU
 
craftycoder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 2,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbirdsp View Post
Just curious - what is your specific issue with Garmins? Limited number of track points?
My experience is limited to the 60csx and Zumo 550, but I found that neither did a lot to make the like of a dual sport rider easier. The 60 had a small screen, was hard to see while moving, not easy to interact with, and was really designed to be used while on foot (where it shines). The Zumo was great for traveling on roads where routes work, but uploading a track of an off road trip rendered it nearly worthless. I started creating custom routable trail maps that made the Zumo work well but it was a lot of effort, I mean a LOT of effort (photo below).



So I finally gave in, created the dualsportmaps.com website so I could have track authoring tools that didn't suck, as MapSource did, for offroad (no satellite maps) and then went about creating an Android dual sport navigation system. Its all I use now and I've never been happier. Here is my system in action. I even created a remote control so you can interact without taking your hands off the bars.

YOUTUBE VIDEO LINK


craftycoder screwed with this post 01-22-2012 at 12:46 PM
craftycoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014