ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 08:49 PM   #1
Visigothic OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Visigothic's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 182
Wicked KTM 500 EXC .....................................Fur alles uber es.



2012 KTM 500 EXC gone will be the 530? Yep; new motor, look close at it, water pump, clutch cover etc. I'm guessing a single sump, notice how the bottom of the cases are level front to back unlike the xc-4 where the trans is higher than the power section. It still doesn't mean it holds much oil though. Just a hunchNew frame from the 350exc also. Still using PDS rear shock. This looks like a lighter weight machine than the current 530. I wonder if it has the Super reliable KTM EFI , looks like it might. This is a photo with the "Knighter" who now rides for the factory team. Only a photo no details on speeds or gearing. I thought this needed its own thread.

Visigothic screwed with this post 03-25-2012 at 10:55 PM Reason: requested
Visigothic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:12 PM   #2
Brtp4
Yea, its a friggin L
 
Brtp4's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Bend, OR
Oddometer: 1,959
Great post

BP
__________________
BP

Atomic Moto.com
Bend, OR
Brtp4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:09 AM   #3
jparacing
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Oddometer: 45
I'm wounderring about the bore and the stroke in the new engine ...
I hope KTM made it short stroke!
(About 100mm*64mm would be perfect.)
jparacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:03 PM   #4
nijkamp
n00b
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Oddometer: 5
Carbs

I think I see a carb.
nijkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:22 PM   #5
Laphroaig
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 38
Better look at the engine.
Might be EFI

__________________
Weegie - A slightly derogatory term applied to people from Glasgow by the occupants of the other, more insignificant area's of Scotland.
Laphroaig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 12:44 PM   #6
Visigothic OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Visigothic's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laphroaig View Post
Better look at the engine.
Might be EFI

I wonder if this is the adjustable WP shock it will come with? The head looks alot like a 690 LC4 design but not exactly.
Bvery NICEzz

However; looks like "THE EVIL EFI" is here to stay.
Visigothic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 07:52 PM   #7
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,176
After doing some research on valve work, i dug into checking my 1-hour service; checked the valves and they are right in spec. Changed the oil and oil filter. Upon removing the tank I discovered that I was unable to remove the gas cap. Instead of using large channel locks, I drained the tank of gas and tomorrow I'm taking the tank back to the dealership to have them remove it. It seems there is something seriously wrong with either the gas cap or the tank..... i suspect the gas cap....I mean, how can one really screw up a tank?

Anyhow, It'll be interesting to see what this dealership says. They are not the most technical and the service department is just plain lazy....sad....
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:32 PM   #8
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,176
Today i took the gas tank, with the stuck gas cap, back to the dealership. The service guy took the tank into the back service area. He or somebody was able to get it off. He came back out, put the cap on, and it got stuck again. So, he went back again into the back to have somebody else remove it. He later came back with a different cap from another bike.....seems some caps are really stiff ajd others aren't. At any rate, i now have a working (locking) gas cap.
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:39 PM   #9
DirtToTar
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Clackamas, Oregon
Oddometer: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO View Post
Today i took the gas tank, with the stuck gas cap, back to the dealership. I now have a working (locking) gas cap.
I'd say that's good customer service
I would have done the same but the drive was too far.
DirtToTar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 05:47 AM   #10
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanInCt View Post
Anybody have any good picks on hand guards??? The bar brackets seem to nee to be special with all the 'stuff' up there!

I went with a flat lands racing skid plate (eby ~99$), Bullet proof designs radiator guard and rear disc gaurd. They both seem very beefy!
Paul at HighwayDirtBikes is working on a Top Clamp and Hand Guard setup....

I have the Cycra guards on right now: they seem to work.
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:25 AM   #11
ABYSS
KTM
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Oddometer: 1,198
Paul's setup is good

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO View Post
Paul at HighwayDirtBikes is working on a Top Clamp and Hand Guard setup....

I have the Cycra guards on right now: they seem to work.

I have his complete set and they are fantastic I even have my horn hidden on the triple clamp too.
I will get a pic this afternoon. I am using his headlight switch setup and am in the process of integrating it.
I'll get you a pic this afternoon.

These thiings are very efficient design and extremely solid.
__________________
Every question in life has an answer of YES OR NO
Maybe = NO
Keep life simple and enjoy it!
ABYSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:56 AM   #12
DanInCt
Esch
 
DanInCt's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: CT, USA
Oddometer: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO View Post
Paul at HighwayDirtBikes is working on a Top Clamp and Hand Guard setup....

I have the Cycra guards on right now: they seem to work.

Do you know which bar clamps you used? Thinking of grabing the set off my 950 se (deep u shaped clamps) but i hate taking stuff off that i know will not fit.. Se has no taper
DanInCt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:46 AM   #13
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABYSS View Post
I have his complete set and they are fantastic I even have my horn hidden on the triple clamp too.
I will get a pic this afternoon. I am using his headlight switch setup and am in the process of integrating it.
I'll get you a pic this afternoon.

These thiings are very efficient design and extremely solid.
What bike do you have this complete setup on?
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:54 AM   #14
derrickbwg
Adventurer
 
derrickbwg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Oddometer: 72
I installed the cyrca probends yesterday and they fit very well on my 500exc. The only problem is that the weight of the bike keeps increasing with every ups delivery.
derrickbwg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 02:48 AM   #15
SteveO
Huh???
 
SteveO's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: Land of Disenchantment
Oddometer: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
KTM just released a notice. All the new 2012 KTM fuel injected singles will get an updated inline filter. The new filter is longer with twice the media area.......
You wouldn't happen to have a part number? My dealer is less than competent........ found my brand new bike was missing bolts......
__________________
.................................................. ....................................
NMOHVA.ORG - Help to keep your trails open!

Life is a mist in the wind, here today and gone tomorrow; know who you are and where you are going after you pass through death's door.
SteveO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014