User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-06-2011, 06:35 PM   #1
King_Panther13 OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 605
Considering buying a wrecked 2005 CBR600RR

On a completely different forum, I mentioned that I rode motorcycles...got a PM from someone basically saying "I used to ride, but after my last wreck I decided to quit. If you're interested in my bike that I wrecked, I'd maybe sell it to you once it's payed off."

He then sent me another PM "I am including some pics of my wrecked bike. As for the frame, I think the sub-frame where the passenger sits is bent out of shape. I'm not a mechanic but I have no problem letting people inspect it. The engine still runs and I start it a couple times a week."

Here are those pics:

He then told me that he wrecked it when riding with a friend. He accidentally clipped his friend's rear tire after they passed a vehicle. He says that he doesn't know much about forks, but he doesn't think that they're in bad shape, and doesn't remember them leaking oil.

Oh, and he has a title to it .

He never named a price, and I'm honestly uncertain as to how much I should offer...or if it's something I should tackle.

A bit about me: I don't really like sports bikes. I'm big on standards, UJMs, and light touring bikes like the Strom. I always feel extremely cramped when sitting on a bike with clipons, though I've never actually ridden one before. However, I love wrenching on things, so the damage to this bike doesn't seem very intimidating, especially after hearing that the forks are (most likely) good, and that the engine still runs.