ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2011, 09:19 AM   #1
efoltyn OP
n00b
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 5
Loading Garmin 24k topo to Nuvi 500

I have a Nuvi 500 that I've had for a couple of years now. My question is on loading maps from the Garmin 24k topo maps that come on a DVD. Can I copy the entire disc to a Micro SD chip or do I have to copy sections? I would prefer to work from the DVD mapset instead of buying the topo maps on Micro SD from Garmin (twice as many states).

When maps are loaded on the Micro SD, do they show up as an option to select or de-select maps (like the 100k topo and the City Navigator sets do)?

Thanks for everyone's time.
__________________
Ed Foltyn, KQ1R

2009 V-Strom 650
efoltyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 11:56 AM   #2
tbirdsp
REMF
 
tbirdsp's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2002
Location: Nebraska
Oddometer: 8,731
I have never loaded any extra maps to my Nuvi 500, but I see no reason why this won't work. Note that you can't simply "copy the entire disk", you will need to use Garmin Mapsource (or MapInstall?) to create the .img map file.
__________________
Mike S.
'09 Bonneville Black, '05 KLR650, '07 Yam Majesty
AMA MSTA
http://www.reddeliciousband.com
tbirdsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,965
absolutely. i have a 4gb mSD card in mine.
i have loaded through mapsource, roads & rec, topo & mexico bicimaps on mine. i just unselect the ones i'm not using as the basemap city nav 2011 overrides them. make sure you are loading them to the sd card and not the garmin/internal memory.

if you did not register @ my garmin then you can and get mapsource and the lastest maps on the unit (choose options list)
it's only good for 60 days of new updates but the reinstall is avail for 1 yr.

if you did register back when you bought it you can get mapsource for free here, if you don't have it & it's needed to moves maps onto the card:
https://www8.garmin.com/support/down...ils.jsp?id=835

you can also update your unit basemaps to the latest (& mapsource) by doing a 1 time nuvi update for $50 from my garmin.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com

eakins screwed with this post 06-26-2011 at 12:42 PM
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014