ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-16-2012, 11:27 PM   #1
AFCFORME OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Oddometer: 17
Garmin 60csx .vs 62s

Any real reason to spend the extra money on getting the 62s? Sorry, bit of a n00b here.
AFCFORME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:29 AM   #2
Andylaser
Heavy Metal
 
Andylaser's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Southampton UK
Oddometer: 998
62 is very accurate.

__________________
Sent from my binary data processing apparatus using magic and wires

OLD SKOOL HEAVY METAL
Andylaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 02:16 AM   #3
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
I never owned a 60csx, but I did replace my Delorme PN-40 with a 62s and couldn't be happier. I've had great luck using PowerEx recharageable batteries in it. But if you plan to hard wire it to the bikes power, go with the 78s.

Here's a couple of comparisons:
http://blog.hendricksen.eu/2010/08/2...60csx-and-62s/
http://www.gpscompared.net/garmin-gp...vs-gpsmap-62s/

http://gpstracklog.com/2010/08/garmi...2s-review.html
http://gpstracklog.com/2010/06/garmi...8s-review.html
http://www.asiteaboutnothing.net/g_60csx.html

daryl

dlh62c screwed with this post 01-17-2012 at 11:01 AM
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFCFORME View Post
Any real reason to spend the extra money on getting the 62s? Sorry, bit of a n00b here.
To sum it up, 62/78 hold 200 tracks of 2,000 points each vs 20 tracks of 500 ponts each for the 60/76. The 62 does not have 12V power input (deal breaker), the 60/76 & 78 all do.

If track storage is one of your needs, then the 78 at twice the $150 price for a 76Cx is what you need.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:34 AM   #5
Spiritwalker2222
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
To sum it up, 62/78 hold 200 tracks of 2,000 points each vs 20 tracks of 500 ponts each for the 60/76. The 62 does not have 12V power input (deal breaker), the 60/76 & 78 all do.

If track storage is one of your needs, then the 78 at twice the $150 price for a 76Cx is what you need.
The garmin 62/78 will hold 10,000 trackpoints per track. That alone is worth the extra money in my opinion, 500 points doesn't give you enough resolution for longer trails.
Spiritwalker2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:20 AM   #6
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker2222 View Post
The garmin 62/78 will hold 10,000 trackpoints per track. That alone is worth the extra money in my opinion, 500 points doesn't give you enough resolution for longer trails.
How long? For Dual Sport rides, I use one track per gas stop about 100-130 Mi. That is a total of 2,000-2,600 miles. I can always get to a computer before I finish that many miles.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:32 AM   #7
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
How long? For Dual Sport rides, I use one track per gas stop about 100-130 Mi. That is a total of 2,000-2,600 miles. I can always get to a computer before I finish that many miles.
yes for massive rides like the tat and such i can see the need, but otherwise if the price is right on a 60csx the 20 track/500 points is completely usable.
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:13 PM   #8
Spiritwalker2222
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
yes for massive rides like the tat and such i can see the need, but otherwise if the price is right on a 60csx the 20 track/500 points is completely usable.
I'm not even thinking massive rides. I'm thinking I want to head out to my local trails where there are about 1,000 km's of mostly tight single track and ATV trails. I want to be able to load up those tracks and then ride what I feel like that paticular day. Which is what I've done with 2 tracks, I found I needed 20,000 tracks to give me a decent resolution so I can find my way thru my trails. My friend has and Etrex with the 20 tracks at 500 points each limit. He can only view a fraction of the trails that we're going on. Either that or reduce the resolution so that it's completely useless.

If I was to do a specific route I wouldn't need so many track points.
Spiritwalker2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:00 AM   #9
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
The 62 does not have 12V power input (deal breaker), the 60/76 & 78 all do.
Yes, it does, but it's though the mini USB connection.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:22 AM   #10
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlh62c View Post
Yes, it does, but it's though the mini USB connection. daryl
Sorry but it does not, that is a 5V input not 12V input.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 11:30 AM   #11
eakins
Butler Maps
 
eakins's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Oddometer: 17,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Sorry but it does not, that is a 5V input not 12V input.
it has a external power adepter non the less.
the real issue is it's a less robust usb vrs a round 4 pin not the voltage.
http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...able-with-Fuse
__________________
Butler Maps - motorcycle maps for riders by riders -
Alaska
AZ map COBDR AZBDR IDBDR South East map
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=598717
Butler Maps website:
http://www.butlermaps.com
eakins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 12:47 PM   #12
dlh62c
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Oddometer: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
it has a external power adepter non the less.
the real issue is it's a less robust usb vrs a round 4 pin not the voltage.
http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...able-with-Fuse
That's it in a nutshell.

daryl
dlh62c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:16 PM   #13
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by eakins View Post
it has a external power adepter non the less.
the real issue is it's a less robust usb vrs a round 4 pin not the voltage.
http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...able-with-Fuse
The 62 does not come with any "power adapter". You can use any common device charger with a usb connector to power a 62. But then you are powering your $300 GPS with some $3 POS power supply that is probably not water proof and not very reliabile. There have been reports of people getting their external power supply wet and it shorted the 12V input to the output. This puts 12V into the 3V input of the GPS turing it into a piece of $300 toast!
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 10:43 AM   #14
AFCFORME OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Oddometer: 17
Thanks a lot guys!
AFCFORME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 03:41 PM   #15
AFCFORME OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Oddometer: 17
Got a hell of a deal on a slightly used 62s on craigslist so i went with that.
AFCFORME is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014