ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > The perfect line and other riding myths
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2012, 01:20 PM   #1
BeerIsGood

Oddometer: n/a
What Is The Advantage Of Large Displacement In The Dirt?

This is probably a noob question. And as far as off road riding goes, I guess I am a noob. I see a lot of riders on this forum wallowing around the dirt and mud with HUGE bikes (BMW 1200 GS, Yamaha Tenere, KTM 990) and I was just wondering:

1. What is the advantage of a bike this large in an off road situation?
2. Other than speed and power on tarmac, is there really any advantage?
Old 03-11-2012, 02:36 PM   #2
julesmt
Adventurer

Oddometer: 42
There`s no advantage in dirt riding a big displacement bike. A smaller / lighter bike wil always be easier to ride / faster / more fun in the dirt. The only advantage of the big bikes is that you can travel a lot of distance fast.

Of all the big adventure bikes the only one that can be ridden agressive is the big KTM, but only with a very good rider on top of it.
julesmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 03:37 PM   #3
BeerIsGood

Quote:
Originally Posted by julesmt View Post
The only advantage of the big bikes is that you can travel a lot of distance fast.
This has always confused me as I rarely see anyone riding faster than 70-75 and only on the Interstates where legal. I never see a 1200GS booking down the back roads at these speeds. To tell you the truth it seems that GS riders are the most law abiding and courteous riders on the road.
Old 03-11-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
2tallnwide
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeerIsGood View Post