User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-19-2012, 08:36 PM   #1
Chiriqui Charlie OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 355
Need advice on helmet type

I've been riding for 50 years, but the only type of helmet I have ever had is the half one, usually with zip out ear pads. This might be enough protection if I land on the top of my head, but would be worthless if I hit anyplace else! I want a full face protection, but don't know what type is best. I don't ride wild, just cruise around on pavement and dirt, some trails. I think I need a sun visor, and a face shield. But the helmets I see with a visor don't have shields, folks use them with goggles. And the ones with a shield don't have a visor. Can someone give me the pros and cons? Do I want a shield, or do they steam up? Are goggles better? I would think a shield would be better at keeping out rain and bugs. And what are the advantage of the ones with a flip-up chin bar? Any insights would be appreciated.
Chiriqui Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:47 PM   #2
Hikertrash
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,710
Check out the newer dual sport helmets. Many companies make them now all price ranges. They have a visor and shield. The better ones will allow goggles to be worn under the shield. A search for helmets on Revzilla.com or Motorcycle-Superstore.com under Adventure Touring should find them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
IBA #50489
Hikertrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:56 PM   #3
berlun
You're a nOOb!

Oddometer: 5
Check out the brand - Fly, model - Trekker. Costs about $140.00, I think it's everything you're looking for. Nice quality.

Regards.

berlun

2011 Kawasaki KLR 650
berlun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 06:51 PM   #4
outsidein
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiriqui Charlie View Post