ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-25-2012, 10:49 PM   #1
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,252
Google Maps to Garmin - It Shouldn't Be So Hard!

OK, I admit I must be stupid. I'm definitely frustrated. I've spent ridiculous amounts of money and embarrassing amounts of time and have yet to crack the nut and successfully (consistently) take a route I've created in Google Maps and import it into my Garmin Zumo 450.

Shame on Garmin for not posting this process. I've seen lots of tips requiring shareware but this doesn't seem acceptable. I've got BaseCamp, Topo, DeLorme and every other program that's on the market. The only thing I'm missing is the brain required to make good of it.

The last thing I read said to 'create a profile in Google Maps'. Heck, I'm so stupid I can't even do that. It's a wonder I can even spell GPS.

If someone's figured this out, post it here and I'll name my next adopted pet after you. Of course I'm considering taking the sledge hammer to all my Garmin products.

CAN YOU TELL I'M FREAKING OUT?

RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:05 PM   #2
dacrazyrn
ED RN Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Greeley, CO
Oddometer: 494
TRY HERE!!!
This works also http://www.dualsportmaps.com/
__________________
Tracy E / Photos4Aidan.com / dacrazyrn.dpcprints.com / Can you SPOT me?
“When you do things RIGHT, people won’t be sure you’ve done anything at all.” God in Godfellas-Futurama
Life is Risk Management
'09 BMW F800GS-Fate Honeyed GSabelle
dacrazyrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:32 PM   #3
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacrazyrn View Post
Neato, but not what I asked for.

Very simply, I want to draw a route in Google and use it on my Zumo. It's as simple as eating paste - something I must've done a lot of as a kid.

I'm totally feeling anti Garmin right now.

RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 12:54 AM   #4
advNZer?
Beastly Adventurer
 
advNZer?'s Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Oddometer: 2,695
Google is your friend


edit.....maybe not
__________________
aka BMWST?

advNZer? screwed with this post 05-26-2012 at 01:01 AM
advNZer? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:35 AM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
OK, I admit I must be stupid. I'm definitely frustrated.
Frustrated? Understandably. Stupid? Not any moreso than lots of other people trying to do the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RZRob View Post
Shame on Garmin for not posting this process. I've seen lots of tips requiring shareware but this doesn't seem acceptable.
Well, Garmin wants to sell you their stuff. And with their map data and the Basecamp, you can make it happen.

Your biggest problem with Google to a GPS (not just Garmin) is that Google determines its own routing. To make that happen on a GPS, or in Basecamp or Mapsource, it ususally uses lots of points to shape the route. Also, the map data that Google uses is not necessarily the same as the map data you have available in Basecamp, or on your GPS. So they don't always know how to deal with missing or incomplete data.

There are at least a couple threads in here that explain in detail how to do this. Including a couple in the last few weeks. Do a Google search of ADV and you can find them. Lots of good information and workarounds.
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 05:56 AM   #6
Jagermeister
Funky White Boy
 
Jagermeister's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Brentwood TN
Oddometer: 126
I've used TYRE for the last couple of years, and it works. It's not the 1-step process that Gamin should have created (still need their programs to transfer), but it works.

http://www.tyretotravel.com/download-tyre/

TYRE uses Google Maps (or Google Earth, if you have the app) to create routes. Save the routes in .gpx, then transfer them to ZUMO with Garmin Mapsucks or BaseCamp.
__________________


DR650 & XT-250

Always take the long route!
Jagermeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 08:06 AM   #7
RZRob OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
RZRob's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Oddometer: 1,252
Sincere Thanks

Hi folks,
Well I actually found something that was borderline witchcraft, but it worked. Stumbled onto this around 1AM using - Google - to search for someone that'd done the same thing. Of course this is where I originally started, but all of them involved downloading Shareware and weren't quite getting me to the finish line.

This clever guy's little script http://www.elsewhere.org/journal/gmaptogpx/ creates a NotePad file that I could get BaseCamp to accept.

Here's what I did:

1. Created my Google Maps route exactly as I wanted. THEN, I went to the bookmark that the folks in the URL above tell you to make earlier (it's a script generator).



2. It creates this script of details of your route(s) to which you Select All (Ctrl A) then Copy (Ctrl C) then open NotePad and paste into (Ctrl V). Save that files as WhateverYouWant.GPX (instead of .TXT). BaseCamp needs it to have the .GPX file extension.



3. Now open BaseCamp. This is a free application from Garmin (replaces outdated MapSource I believe). From the File menu, select Import, and select the .GPX file you just created.


4. Your Google Maps route(s) should be in a Garmin-palatable format whereby you need just select them all as I did (see highlighted blue in lower-left of screen grab below) and right click and send them to your USB connected Garmin device. It will take a few moments (probably 10 seconds) for the data to get sent to your Garmin. In the upper left corner of the above screen grab when you're doing this you'll see a faint green progress bar.


5. Next, unplug your Garmin and (turn it on if necessary) you'll get a message of "New Data Found on GPS. Do you want to deal with it now?" Select yes, or later just go to Tools (icon in lower-right of main screen on GPS)and select User Data and select Import Data, then Routes, then select all your newly created Routes and Viola!

I hope this helps. I'm not crazy about it, but it did work for me.



RZ Rob
RZRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:05 AM   #8
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,013
It really isn't Garmin's fault that you chose to use a zumo 450 which doesn't support Track navigation. You also aren't using the same maps that Google is using so you have no "road" to Route on hence the need to Direct Route from Marker (waypoint) to Marker. Did you try using the latest CNNA in BaseCamp instead of the Topo map you show you are using? The route you have mapped between Mt. Baldy road and Lytle Creek is available on the latest CNNA (Barrett-Stoddard to Big Tree Cucamonga).



Blame can be placed on Garmin for not fixing the KML/KMZ Import translator. When this is fixed you will be able to save your Google Map route to your My Places and then save that path to KML format on your computer. When BaseCamp gets the KML Import working you would simply Import the KML path as a TRACK into BaseCamp. There you can edit the track so that it will work on your zumo 450 as a Direct Route or convert it to a Route is you're using CNNA.

Today, since the KML Import isn't working, I use GPSBabel to convert the KML on my Mac to a GPX file. Then I import and do whatever I need to do in BaseCamp.

Hope that reduces your workflow a bit.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com

DRTBYK screwed with this post 05-26-2012 at 11:47 AM
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:39 AM   #9
guavadude
de-composer
 
guavadude's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Oddometer: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTBYK View Post
It really isn't Garmin's fault that you chose to use a zumo 450 which doesn't support Track navigation. You also aren't using the same maps that Google is using so you have no "road" to Route on hence the need to Direct Route from Marker (waypoint) to Marker. Did you try using the latest CNNA in BaseCamp instead of the Topo map you show you are using? The route you have mapped between Mt. Baldy road and Lytle Creek is available on the latest CNNA (Barrett-Stoddard to Big Tree Cucamonga).



Blame can be placed on Garmin for not fixing the KML/KMZ Import translator. When this is fixed you will be able to save your Google Map route to your My Places and then save that path to KML format on your computer. When BaseCamp gets the KML Import working you would simply Import the KML path as a TRACK into BaseCamp. There you can edit the track so that it will work on your zumo 450 as a Direct Route or convert it to a Route is you're using CNNA.

Today, since the KML Import isn't working, I use GPSBabel to convert the KML on my Mac to a GPX file. Then I import and do whatever I need to do in BaseCamp.

Hope that reduces your workflow a bit.

Cheers,
Dan,
What map are you using here? I really want this terrain view in Basecamp. Would also love to have it on my Montana but can't find a mapset that is terrain view and not topo with the contour lines.

thanks!
guavadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 10:38 AM   #10
Spiritwalker2222
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Oddometer: 112
I haven't read the responses, but you can go from google maps to a track in basecamp.

Create the route in google maps, but make sure your logged in to your account. Create an account if you don't have one.

Then save it my maps(bottom left).

Go to my places and select the map you just saved.

Select the KML option, and save to you desktop or wherever.

Open in google earth and then save track as a KMZ file.

You can now import that KMZ file into basecamp as a track.



***edit, just read Dan's response. It will be nice once the KML importer works in basecamp. Save a few steps, not that I make routes or tracks from google maps.
Spiritwalker2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:59 AM   #11
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker2222 View Post
I haven't read the responses, but you can go from google maps to a track in basecamp.

Create the route in google maps, but make sure your logged in to your account. Create an account if you don't have one.

Then save it my maps(bottom left).

Go to my places and select the map you just saved.

Select the KML option, and save to you desktop or wherever.

Open in google earth and then save track as a KMZ file.

You can now import that KMZ file into basecamp as a track.



***edit, just read Dan's response. It will be nice once the KML importer works in basecamp. Save a few steps, not that I make routes or tracks from google maps.
Thanks for adding the Google Earth workflow. As you noted, KMZ Import does work. It's just the KML Import that has problems.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 08:55 PM   #12
CaseyB
Adventually
 
CaseyB's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: The Garden State
Oddometer: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker2222 View Post
I haven't read the responses, but you can go from google maps to a track in basecamp.

Create the route in google maps, but make sure your logged in to your account. Create an account if you don't have one.

Then save it my maps(bottom left).

Go to my places and select the map you just saved.

Select the KML option, and save to you desktop or wherever.

Open in google earth and then save track as a KMZ file.

You can now import that KMZ file into basecamp as a track.

Thank you, this worked perfectly for me. Frustration level decreasing
CaseyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:55 AM   #13
hobieorris
Adventurer
 
hobieorris's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Oddometer: 16
Simpler solution

I created a Firefox plugin called "Route Rat" that saves your Google Maps route to your Garmin in 1 click. Go to your Firefox Add-on Manager (Tools -> Add-ons) and search for it.

Home page is here: http://clients.teksavvy.com/~hobie/routerat
__________________
Hobie Orris
White Tiger 800
hobieorris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 01:33 PM   #14
Travman
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Travman's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Marietta, GA
Oddometer: 319
I've been using Mapquest with a Garmin 765t for years. Just plot out the route as normal, connect your Garmin to the PC, and select send to GPS as a route. Yes a plug in is needed and you'll be prompted if its not installed. On the Garmin, go to you Data, and select the route and import it. The route you created will now be in you custom routes. If you use enough waypoints, it will be exactly what was created on Mapquest.

Now to be honest, Google maps is much more user friendly than Mapquest. So I normally quicly plot out the route on Google then duplicate on Mapquest for the import.

BTW - been using the Nuvi 765t for the last 4 years on 3 different bikes without issue. It even becomes fully waterproof by slipping a ziplock sandwitch bag over it. . However, it is having some Bluetooth issues lately so as good as it has been, looking for a replacement.
__________________
"Not all who wander are lost"

2014 BMW R1200 GSA
2011 BMW R1200RT - gone
2008 Suzuki V-Strom 1000 - gone

Travman screwed with this post 05-25-2013 at 02:12 PM
Travman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 03:21 PM   #15
Mr_McBride
'The Cartographer'
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Acworth, GA
Oddometer: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travman View Post
I've been using Mapquest with a Garmin 765t for years. Just plot out the route as normal, connect your Garmin to the PC, and select send to GPS as a route. Yes a plug in is needed and you'll be prompted if its not installed. On the Garmin, go to you Data, and select the route and import it. The route you created will now be in you custom routes. If you use enough waypoints, it will be exactly what was created on Mapquest.

Now to be honest, Google maps is much more user friendly than Mapquest. So I normally quicly plot out the route on Google then duplicate on Mapquest for the import.

BTW - been using the Nuvi 765t for the last 4 years on 3 different bikes without issue. It even becomes fully waterproof by slipping a ziplock sandwitch bag over it. . However, it is having some Bluetooth issues lately so as good as it has been, looking for a replacement.
I, too, used MapQuest for a long time. However, I got really ticked off with the 'new' Mapquest as they didn't port any of my maps over. I lost a crap load of routes from their site ( I have copies of the gpx files, though ). I've opened a couple of issues with them, but they have never gotten back to me ( months ). I gave up and I'm using BaseCamp now. I'm not completely happy with BC, but I have learned enough so far to get by.
__________________
-rodney

2012 G-Strom
Mr_McBride is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014