ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2012, 10:05 PM   #1
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 88
Anyone here use GPX2img

I have a question, when I load a new gpx2img map into my garmin 376 from mapsource, it deletes the previous map set.

I use gpx2img to connect 15 to 20 tracks into a single track and this works great, however I also want my detailed county roads maps which I get from either city nav or from "roads and Rec".

Is it possible to load both.

thanks
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:15 PM   #2
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 88
And also since this program GPX2img seems to have no support from its deveoper. Is there any other programs similar, which can convert gpx files to a loadable image into a garmin gps?
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:01 PM   #3
DennyIndy
Old F@rt
 
DennyIndy's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 349
JaVaWa GPS-tools | IMGfromGPX

Try this one, it makes a version of the map that can be installed on your computer, that way you can use mapinstall to install it along with the other supplemental maps you need all at the same time.


Problem is if your gps only supports one gmapsupp file it will always overwrite the existing one.

That is a limitation of the gps, not the program.

What model gps are you using?

if it has a memory card you can put the maps from this utility in the gps memory and the other supplemental maps on the card.

O well just some thoughts, it is a nice utility and it works quite well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac View Post
Fret about bigger issues, like whether a neighbor's dog is pooping in your yard.
Cheers, Denny
DennyIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:44 PM   #4
dnrobertson
Big Bike, Slow Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Frankston, Australia
Oddometer: 781
I'm sure somebody who knows what they are talking about will be along soon, but until then

I don't know whether you GPS supports multiple .img files or not. They way to find out would be to hook it up to a computer and go exploring. Rename the gmapsupp.img file to another.img filename and then load some different maps (which will recreate the gmapsupp.img). Now turn on the GPS and see if all the maps show up. If not, then you can probably only use one gmapsupp.img file.

If you can only use one map, perhaps you can load the other .img into Mapsource and then select all the maps and send it to the GPS (effectively merging the multiple maps together into one gmapsupp.img).

Here's some instructions from the web http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorial...mapsettoolkit/

Or wait until somebody who knows what they are doing comes along.
__________________
David

2005 KTM 640A
2008 Wee-Strom
dnrobertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:58 AM   #5
Hill Climber
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ winter
Oddometer: 292
gpx2img and other maps

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrsue View Post
I have a question, when I load a new gpx2img map into my garmin 376 from mapsource, it deletes the previous map set.

I use gpx2img to connect 15 to 20 tracks into a single track and this works great, however I also want my detailed county roads maps which I get from either city nav or from "roads and Rec".

Is it possible to load both.

thanks
It sounds like you're only loading the gpx2img map to your gps only, using mapsource. You have to send all the maps you want at one time. What I mean is when you've opened mapsource and your gps is connected to your computer, use the drop down menu and open the GPX2IMG MAP, highlight the entire map of the track you want load with Map Tool. It should now be displayed in the left column. Use the drop down menu again, pick the next map you want i.e. city navigator or roads and rec, highlight the areas you want and they too should be shown in the left column in mapsource. Hit the Send to Device button and all the maps in the left column will transfer to your gps. Once the magic is performed, disconnect your gps. Turn it on, Tap Tools, Settings, Map, Map Info, and check off the maps you want displayed, including the transparent map of gpx2img. Back out of the menu and View Map. You should have the gpx2img map overlaying the city nav or roads and rec map.

You should be able to send the gpx2img map data to an sd card from your computer using mapsource. The image on the sd card will be in a folder named "garmin" and the image will be named "gmapsupp"
Put the sd card in the gps card slot, and follow the above directions fo display the gpx2imp map as well as the city nav or other map you want. This should work if you haven't erased the original map you have on the internal memory of your gps.
Hope this helps....
__________________
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure

Hill Climber screwed with this post 08-17-2012 at 01:04 AM
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 06:38 PM   #6
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hill Climber View Post
It sounds like you're only loading the gpx2img map to your gps only, using mapsource. You have to send all the maps you want at one time. What I mean is when you've opened mapsource and your gps is connected to your computer, use the drop down menu and open the GPX2IMG MAP, highlight the entire map of the track you want load with Map Tool. It should now be displayed in the left column. Use the drop down menu again, pick the next map you want i.e. city navigator or roads and rec, highlight the areas you want and they too should be shown in the left column in mapsource. Hit the Send to Device button and all the maps in the left column will transfer to your gps. Once the magic is performed, disconnect your gps. Turn it on, Tap Tools, Settings, Map, Map Info, and check off the maps you want displayed, including the transparent map of gpx2img. Back out of the menu and View Map. You should have the gpx2img map overlaying the city nav or roads and rec map.

You should be able to send the gpx2img map data to an sd card from your computer using mapsource. The image on the sd card will be in a folder named "garmin" and the image will be named "gmapsupp"
Put the sd card in the gps card slot, and follow the above directions fo display the gpx2imp map as well as the city nav or other map you want. This should work if you haven't erased the original map you have on the internal memory of your gps.
Hope this helps....
Thanks , This was what I was NOT doing. All I needed was to highlight the gpximg map with the map tool along with any other county maps. (roads and rec)

Still using this little program (gpx2img) it works great with my 376's with their 15 track limit. I can easily load up 40 or more tracks using the img file, and then load an additional 15 standard trks.
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 08:41 AM   #7
Ridin'nFishin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 448
Big Dog just told me about this (GPX2IMG) the other day and I like it.
I do have a problem thou. I have a nuvi 500 and loaded a pic image on it, very easy. Map shows up but when I zoom in it disappears. I have only been able to get it to show down to 1.2miles with least detail and 8miles with more detail.

I have tried different settings with no difference.

Got any ideas? Thanks
__________________
Riding a Motorcycle is like flying like a Eagle without ever leaving the ground.
Ridin'nFishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 02:36 PM   #8
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin'nFishin View Post
Big Dog just told me about this (GPX2IMG) the other day and I like it.
I do have a problem thou. I have a nuvi 500 and loaded a pic image on it, very easy. Map shows up but when I zoom in it disappears. I have only been able to get it to show down to 1.2miles with least detail and 8miles with more detail.

I have tried different settings with no difference.

Got any ideas? Thanks
It should just be a "transparent" map overlay that is available at any zoom level.

I honestly don't have any ideas as I've only tried this on my 478/376/276 and it works fine. I can turn it on/off in the map information screen, but if its on, its always visible at any zoom level.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 04:30 PM   #9
Ridin'nFishin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueLghtning View Post
It should just be a "transparent" map overlay that is available at any zoom level.

I honestly don't have any ideas as I've only tried this on my 478/376/276 and it works fine. I can turn it on/off in the map information screen, but if its on, its always visible at any zoom level.

That is what I thought???

It's there, then I zoom in and it's gone.
__________________
Riding a Motorcycle is like flying like a Eagle without ever leaving the ground.
Ridin'nFishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:23 PM   #10
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,886
Awesome

I just downloaded this thing and it's awesome.
Me and my buddy are planning on going to Baja again soon and I have jillions of track logs down there.
My 276C only holds 15 saved tracks.
So now I can make a map image with all those track logs on it and not use any track log memory.
I'm going to make big use out of this.

And in the Forest South of me I have lots of tracks in there---and I can keep all those loaded in my gps all the time.
Awesome.

I rode with Dr. Rock and LDF on their last Mobius ride and he already had this all figured out and had 3,000 miles of tracks on a map overlay on his gps screen---it made navigation a no brainer. Did I say awesome ??? !!!!!

BigDog
__________________
2008 Yamaha WR250R---by far my main bike.
2006 KTM 450EXC
2014 KTM690 Enduro--we'll see how good it is after 70,000 miles.
2013 Husky 650 TR650 Terra

BigDogAdventures screwed with this post 03-30-2013 at 04:07 AM
BigDogAdventures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:28 PM   #11
Taoshum
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: NM
Oddometer: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogAdventures.com View Post
I just downloaded this thing and it's awesome.
Me and my buddy are planning on going to Baja again soon and I have jillions of track logs down there.
My 276C only holds 15 saved tracks.
So now I can make a map image with all those track logs on it and not use any track log memory.
I'm going to make big use out of this.

And in the Forest South of me I have lots of tracks in there---and I can keep all those loaded in my gps all the time.
Awesome.

I rode with Dr. Rock and LDF on their last Mobius ride and he already had this all figured out and had 3,000 miles of tracks on a map overlay on his gps screen---it made navigation a no brainer. Did I say awesome ??? !!!!!

The only thing that worries me down the road--------I'm going to eventually have so many map overlays in the pull down menu it might get crowded and be a very long list------------I wouldn't know how to delete them out of there without uninstalling the program and re-installing ???? Anybody else no how ???

BigDog

Which software are you using?
Taoshum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:38 PM   #12
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taoshum View Post
Which software are you using?
I use garmin mapsource,

Just got back from that Baja trip-------------that map image was awesome-----all those tracks in my gps without using any track log memory. It worked out perfect-----I had over 100 track logs on that map image.

I'll be using this on every long ride I go on----------even the short ones too I guess.
Mark
__________________
2008 Yamaha WR250R---by far my main bike.
2006 KTM 450EXC
2014 KTM690 Enduro--we'll see how good it is after 70,000 miles.
2013 Husky 650 TR650 Terra
BigDogAdventures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:01 AM   #13
Taoshum
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: NM
Oddometer: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogAdventures.com View Post
I use garmin mapsource,

Just got back from that Baja trip-------------that map image was awesome-----all those tracks in my gps without using any track log memory. It worked out perfect-----I had over 100 track logs on that map image.

I'll be using this on every long ride I go on----------even the short ones too I guess.
Mark

Sorry, my question about software was about the software to make the transfer from gpx to img? I use Mapsource for planning as well but then need something make the img file.

thanks.
Taoshum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:12 AM   #14
BlueLghtning
Riding is my passion
 
BlueLghtning's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Newnan, GA
Oddometer: 4,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taoshum View Post
Sorry, my question about software was about the software to make the transfer from gpx to img? I use Mapsource for planning as well but then need something make the img file.

thanks.
I think you misunderstood him. The way I read it was that BigDog used one of the suggested programs in here (either the GPXtoImage or IMGfromGPX) to create a new map image overlay of all his tracks of Baja and then probably using MapSource loaded that map img onto his GPS which is just an overlay map that shows all the tracks. He didn't specify which one he tried, but I would imagine it was one of them suggested in here.

I had remembered reading about this awhile back about people making "layers" as map images with tracks to load on their GPS, but this program or one of them listed in here seems like it does the trick. I haven't played around with it yet, but am planning on it.
__________________
BlueLghtning - Follow me on my SPOT Messenger
Mine: 09 DL650, 08 WR250R,
Hers: 07 Ninja 650R, 13 CRF250L,
Smugmug Pics - Save $5 <-- Click Here
BlueLghtning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:50 AM   #15
BigDogAdventures
Fart Letter
 
BigDogAdventures's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Mt. Vernon, Illinois
Oddometer: 4,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taoshum View Post
Sorry, my question about software was about the software to make the transfer from gpx to img? I use Mapsource for planning as well but then need something make the img file.

thanks.
How this works.

With mapsource ------I put all the tracks in Mapsource that I wanted to make the map image with.
I saved it as a .gpx file---------------GPX2img only works with .gpx files---------not .gdb

Then close mapsource-------GPX2img will not work with mapsource open.

Then I opened my GPX2img program--------and loaded that .gpx file I saved into it.

Then hit convert.

Now open mapsource------in the map pull down menu with all your other maps will be listed another map called
"GPX2img Map"

Now you can load that map image into your gps-----------along with other maps you have in mapsource if you like.

You need to load them all at once------not individually.

BigDog
__________________
2008 Yamaha WR250R---by far my main bike.
2006 KTM 450EXC
2014 KTM690 Enduro--we'll see how good it is after 70,000 miles.
2013 Husky 650 TR650 Terra
BigDogAdventures is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014