ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
thomasona OP
older than he looks
 
thomasona's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Oddometer: 200
Replacement Fuse for Garmin

So I'm on day 3 of an 8-day trip with my dad and the fuse on my hardwired Garmin blew. It's a teeny little 1 amp fuse. I tried Autozone, Radio Shack, and Wal Mart to no avail.

I'm in Independence, VA tonight, heading toward Asheville, NC tomorrow then Deal's Gap after that. Any ideas?
thomasona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
Droptarotter
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Cloverdale
Oddometer: 1,200
Napa or................god forbid..........tin foil!!

Good luck
__________________
HP2 Sport, R1200S, R100S, KTM 640 Adventure, KTM 520 EXC/Motard, Yamaha RZ350, Hodaka 125 Wombat
Droptarotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 09:36 PM   #3
boxermoose
Now fully goosed
 
boxermoose's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Gulf Coast TX
Oddometer: 2,844
Radio shack - Fry's - Best Buy

Instead of auto store try an /Electronics place
__________________
Sometimes you get the ABAT....and sometimes the ABAT gets you
boxermoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:42 PM   #4
SgtDuster
Beastly Adventurer
 
SgtDuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Oddometer: 3,153
If you can't find the correct fuse type, replace the fuse holder (same amp value though).

You should be able to find a blade or mini-blade fuse holder and a 1 amp fuse in almost every Autozone-like stores, no?
__________________
2010 Buell Ulysses
1984 Suzuki GR650 "Tempter"
SgtDuster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
SnowMule
[angry moth noises]
 
SnowMule's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: I LIVE IN A GIANT BUCKET
Oddometer: 18,335
Did you find the reason the fuse blew to begin with?

Even if you find a replacement, without finding the reason it blew means you're going to be replacing the new one very "short"ly.
__________________
Spewer of the poignant non sequitur
SnowMule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 06:24 PM   #6
montanaman
Traveler
 
montanaman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: CA,AZ,MT..USA
Oddometer: 171
What bike are you running it on?

My 800 GS has blown the fuse on my Zumo 660 more than once. I think I replaced it with a 5 amp or some bigger number fuse and it seems to be ok.
__________________
Quit dreaming, get on and start living.
montanaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 06:56 AM   #7
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,624
The first fuse is free, the second fuse costs some troubleshooting.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 09:08 AM   #8
SgtDuster
Beastly Adventurer
 
SgtDuster's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Oddometer: 3,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Error View Post
The first fuse is free, the second fuse costs some troubleshooting.
This.

You can blow a fuse (no pun...), shit happens.

It's when you blow fuse after fuse that you need to investigate what's going on.
__________________
2010 Buell Ulysses
1984 Suzuki GR650 "Tempter"
SgtDuster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 12:55 PM   #9
NCK
Studly Adventurer
 
NCK's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Taxation Without Representation (DC)
Oddometer: 480
Have the same question. Would love a clear answer.
NCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 07:58 AM   #10
RidingDonkeys
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 8,393
I find myself Googling the same thing right now.

My wife's Garmin power supply went up in smoke...literally....on a trip this summer. The fuse didn't blow, but the wires literally smoked out. It even melted the connecter in the cradle.

I had a friend send me a new power supply, and I hooked it up to my Triumph. It blew a fuse four days later. Pulled the still good fuse from her melted power supply, and it ran for four months until today. Last month I found myself scouring for spare fuses just in case, and never found anyone who carried them.

I've traced every wire and not found a problem. I think it really is just a problem of tiny fuses constantly finding water/mud, etc. But I'm hesitant to throw a larger fuse in there because I can't afford to do damage to the unit itself.
__________________
Sit Stay Ride: The Story of America's Sidecar Dogs
More info at www.sidecardogs.com

Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:56 PM   #11
chollo9
Screwed the Pooch
 
chollo9's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Silk Hope, NC
Oddometer: 1,396
FYI, one amp fuses are commonly used in electric fence chargers. Tractor Supply or similar would have them.
__________________
"It's not that I don't like people...I just find I am happier when they're not around"
chollo9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 12:04 AM   #12
SteelB12
Beastly Adventurer
 
SteelB12's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Prince William County, VA
Oddometer: 2,522
I replaced my Garmin fuse with one from Radio Shack. Was the one you visited just out of stock or did they search their catalog and state that RS does not carry that size.

Mine is not hardwired, I use a cigarette lighter for power so perhaps the fuse is a different size. It was tiny, though.

Too bad you are at the other end of the state, I would offer you the spares that I have
__________________
2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200S
2009 KLR650
SteelB12 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 06:59 AM   #13
RidingDonkeys
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 8,393
My local Radio Shack doesn't carry anything smaller than a 3amp. I threw that in there to get me going yesterday. I'm really starting to chalk the fuse thing up to failed design rather than a legitimate problem. I'll check out TSC later this week.
__________________
Sit Stay Ride: The Story of America's Sidecar Dogs
More info at www.sidecardogs.com

Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:22 AM   #14
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,624
ATO or mini-ATO style?

If you're using the regular size blade fuse, McMaster sells 1A fuses. $3.50/5
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:57 AM   #15
RidingDonkeys
Purveyor of Awesome
 
RidingDonkeys's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Oddometer: 8,393
Garmins use minis.

Sent from the voices in my head and transcribed by their drinking buddy.
__________________
Sit Stay Ride: The Story of America's Sidecar Dogs
More info at www.sidecardogs.com

Clinging to sanity, one motorcycle at a time.
RidingDonkeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014