ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-27-2012, 07:30 PM   #1
AdvRonski OP
They call me......Ronski
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Wishing I was back in Grand Junction, now in MN
Oddometer: 670
OK, It's Official- I HATE BASECAMP!

I've tried to get used to it. I've tried to wean myself from Mapsource. I finally just settled on using BC as little as possible, just to tweak things in the Montana when needed.
Yesterday, BC said it had a software update to 4.0.2- and I was foolish enough to trust it.
It wiped out the dozen-or-so maps I had on Mapsource in a Digital Bloodbath!
It screwed me, and I didn't even get a kiss.
And it took me a while to figure out where all the data went in the left-side pane.
For some reason, they made the "adventures" area HUGE, like it's some king of BFD.
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?
Jeez
__________________
Ronski
Enduro Racer & Big Bike Adventurer
AdvRonski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:01 AM   #2
DRTBYK
Long Haul Adventurer
 
DRTBYK's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: North Central Washington (state)
Oddometer: 5,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvRonski View Post
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?
Jeez
The Windows version? No. . .

Mac-BaseCamp on the other hand has completely different Tool methods for Route and Track editing and it is quite easy to get the hang of if you watch the video tutorials once.

Cheers,
__________________
Cheers,

Dan
All Things GPS
Reviews at www.GlobeRiders.com
DRTBYK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
5 Hour Butt
Adventurer
 
5 Hour Butt's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Earth,West of Chicago
Oddometer: 88
Overcoming tech issues with Base Camp

Just to help out if you have an issue with Base Camp (BC) call Garmin Tech Support. Those folks are always so helpful. Super nice and I have had a few issues and they always got me through the solutions. Just thought I'd toss that out in case it is useful To get the phone number just go to the Garmin website. I did that and pasted the numbers in below.

Phone Numbers

US: 913-397-8200
US Toll Free: 1-800-800-1020
Canada: 1-866-429-9296
__________________
Now thinking about changing my joking UserID to 100 Hour Butt since I've lost 150 pounds and no more pain in the butt any more. . .
5 Hour Butt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:40 AM   #4
Bill Murray
Adventurer
 
Bill Murray's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2006
Location: Wilmington, NC
Oddometer: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvRonski View Post
Could they possibly make it any less intuitive?
This Wikispace provides some useful information to help you get started with BaseCamp. I found the transition from Mapsource to BaseCamp very frustrating (and I am computer savvy). Having made the transition, I cannot imagine going back to Mapsource.

Read the Wiki, study the help file, and if you still cannot understand a particular BaseCamp operation, post your question here. There are many knowledgeable BaseCamp users here who can help you.

Garmin has made it clear that BaseCamp represents the path of their future software development, and using BaseCamp will be necessary with Garmin's future GPS products if you want to realize all the features and capabilities they will offer you.
__________________
Bill Murray
2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
Me on Google+
Bill Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:01 AM   #5
bemiiten
League of Adventures
 
bemiiten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hamilton NJ.
Oddometer: 4,812
Until the Windows version of Basecamp can be used to build seamless routes, combining mapped roads with unmapped ones, it is useless to me.
bemiiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:30 PM   #6
tdvt
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: NEK Vermont
Oddometer: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bemiiten View Post
Until the Windows version of Basecamp can be used to build seamless routes, combining mapped roads with unmapped ones, it is useless to me.
Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?
tdvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:49 PM   #7
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 12,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdvt View Post
Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?
I've done it with mapsource and my 478. AFAIK The trick is to do it with a unit that doesn't recalc the route when it's first opened. The 478 just opens the route and starts following it exactly as it was created in mapsource. Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.

The way I've done it in mapsource(seems to also work in basecamp) is to switch mapsets as I'm calcing the route. City navigator for the bit where there are routable roads and such, then switch to topo or roads and rec which forces the route to be direct routing, then back to a road switch back to CN which turns on follow roads again.

__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?

Boon Booni screwed with this post 11-25-2012 at 12:56 PM
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
bemiiten
League of Adventures
 
bemiiten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hamilton NJ.
Oddometer: 4,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.


A couple of our crew used to have Zumos and this was a constant issue. Worthless for following a predetermined route!
bemiiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:33 AM   #9
tdvt
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: NEK Vermont
Oddometer: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boon Booni View Post
The trick is to do it with a unit that doesn't recalc the route when it's first opened. The 478 just opens the route and starts following it exactly as it was created in mapsource. Many garmin units see the route as a series of via/shaping points and then calc the route on the unit via those points.
Thanks for the replies. How would you know if a unit you're looking at does a recalc?

I have also been reading about the differences between tracks & routes, seems like this would figure in there somewhere.
tdvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 02:15 PM   #10
bemiiten
League of Adventures
 
bemiiten's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Hamilton NJ.
Oddometer: 4,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdvt View Post
Just starting to explore the GPS world & combining trails (some unmapped) with roads with be a prime use if I were to use one.

What DOES offer that capability?
Mapsource allows this by being able to switch between auto routing & direct routing, and combining them seamlessly into one route. I always recalculate my routes when I'm done to insure the route follows the roads perfectly and that I've done a proper job with my waypoints so the route is full proof. Doing this on a route that has direct routing elements in it will change the direct route portions back to established roads. The trick is to mark where your direct routes are and go back and repair them after a recalc.
bemiiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:36 AM   #11
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,802
I routinely create mixed-mode maps in Mapsource and sometimes in Basecamp.

I do it simply be switching back and forth between City Navigator which autoroutes and Topo 100 which does not.

I then convert the route to a track and load the track for navigation. I don't have to worry about recalculating then.

Basecamp has a problem where if you go in and change a point in a route, it will recalculate the entire route based on what mapset is active. Mapsource will only recalculate the portion of the route on either side of the point you modified.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:56 AM   #12
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,674
I look at a map,I get on my bike and I go. Sometimes I carry a map.

Its about the ride.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 07:15 AM   #13
tdvt
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: NEK Vermont
Oddometer: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foot dragger View Post
I look at a map,I get on my bike and I go. Sometimes I carry a map.

Its about the ride.
I hear you BUT.... I'm as interested as recording where I end up, maybe even more than planning where I go ahead of time.

There is all kinds of stuff around here not on a map & sometimes you wonder if you could find it again.
tdvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:19 AM   #14
Boon Booni
Red Clay Halo
 
Boon Booni's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Richmond, Va
Oddometer: 12,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foot dragger View Post
I look at a map,I get on my bike and I go. Sometimes I carry a map.

Its about the ride.
I understand what you are saying.

Here's what I like about the GPS. If I want to get to a specific destination, but also want to take some way out 2 laners, and mix it in with some gravel/dirt I can do it with the GPS and still get to my specific destination without constantly stopping to check the map. I'll know my distance to destination so I can better plan my day.

I've tried 350-400 mile days using only maps. When needing to get to a specific destination while also trying to ride as much gravel and far out 2 lane roads that I can, it sucks IMHO. Either had to make a roll chart, or stop at every other intersection to figure out where I am and where I'm going. Since most of the way out 2 laners and dirt roads don't show up on those fold up gas station maps, I was constantly pulling the Gazeteer out of the top box and figuring out where I was.

That said I still carry maps, and still wander off my pre planned routes.

Plus, there are plenty of times I just GO and simply leave the GPS running without any route planned. It's nice to be able to see where I've been if I ever want to re-run those roads that I stumbled upon.

YMMV...
__________________
Where the fuck...
Where the fuck is the bike?
You gotta be shitting me.
Where the fuck is the road?
Boon Booni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:15 AM   #15
DockingPilot
Hooked Up and Hard Over
 
DockingPilot's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Andover, N.J.
Oddometer: 9,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRZ Charlie View Post
The short answer is you can build it in MS and it'll be fine.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Frank Reinbold

"Every bike I ever had, was the best bike I ever had, when I had it"
DockingPilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014