ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 05:45 PM   #1
indr OP
.
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: mom's ovaries & dad's balls
Oddometer: 1,197
Flasher Relay

This is me just messing around trying to learn things for a future wiring harness redoo.

I have a computer power supply unit hooked up and turned on. I connect a turn signal directly to it (+12V and GND), and it turns on.

I add the flasher relay (2 pronged) off my motorcycle to the circuit and it still turns on but doesn't flash.

Shouldn't adding the flasher relay to the circuit make it flash? Am I missing something here?

The prongs on the relay are labeled B and L (I'm assuming for battery and light).

I connected B to ground. L is connected to the blinker. The other wire from the blinker is connected to +12V. It turns on but doesn't flash.

indr screwed with this post 10-07-2012 at 07:09 PM
indr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
sailah
Lampin' it
 
sailah's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Turning expensive metal into scrap
Oddometer: 5,289
If the blinkers are led and the flasher unit is not designed they wont flash because the led doesnt draw enough amp to trigger the flasher
__________________
We're not out here to rough it. We're here to smooth it . Things are rough enough in town.

Nessmuk
sailah is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:54 PM   #3
indr OP
.
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: mom's ovaries & dad's balls
Oddometer: 1,197
There's only one blinker connected. And it's standard incandescent.

Here's a diagram:

+12V --- Relay --- Blinker --- GND

Could it be because I don't have all four connected?
indr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:28 PM   #4
buickid
Lets ride!
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Oahu, HI
Oddometer: 310
If its a regular flasher relay, it needs the correct load to blink as designed, one bulb probably isn't enough. Thats why you'll see people with blinkers blinking really fast or not at all - one of the bulbs is cut.
__________________
2005 Yamaha Zuma YW50, 2009 Kawasaki Super Sherpa KL250
buickid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:34 AM   #5
Grinnin
Forever N00b
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Maine
Oddometer: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by buickid View Post
If its a regular flasher relay, it needs the correct load to blink as designed, one bulb probably isn't enough. Thats why you'll see people with blinkers blinking really fast or not at all - one of the bulbs is cut.
What he said.

A "regular" flasher has a contact that bends when it heats up. When it turns on, it needs enough current flowing through it to heat it enough to cause it to bend. After it bends and turns off the lights, it cools and springs back to turn the lights on again. If the rest of the circuit (the signals themselves) don't use enough current to cause the flasher spring to heat up, then it remains on all the time.
__________________
Motorcycles are magical.

Grinnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014